Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Publisher/Year: Simon & Schuster October 13th 2009
Genre: YA Paranormal (Fallen Angels)
Series: Yes
Other Books From Author: Crescendo (Book 2), Silence (Book 3)
Source: Bought with my own cash monehh
Rating★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @becfitzpatrick |

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE
Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.
But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

With all the buzzing about this book, I’ve tried to contain myself but I can’t help but harbour high expectations. It is impossible not to get excited about reading a book that most bloggers rate 5/5. Unfortunately, many chapters of the book are, in fact, ordinary for me. It isn’t captivating nor witty, and I can feel the disappointment rising as I flip through the pages detachedly.

Admittedly, this is my first try at fallen angels so the idea is new and interesting for me initially. In fact, I was so awed I began feeling my own back to see if there were scars from torn wings– Kidding :P Yet it is confusing. Yes, the mystery and darkness are there, constantly luring me back to the story, but they seem to lead to nowhere. Even the narrator herself is puzzled by the whir of events lumping together.

Of course, our dearest narrator. Nora is a thoroughly frustrating heroine who makes insane jumps in logic — whether they turn out to be true or not. With blaring evidences right in her face telling her otherwise, she acts willfully obtuse and chose to go blithely along into obvious danger. Her messed thoughts boggled me and I had to stop to make an incredulous face, “Huh?” Every other normal human being would have had enough sense, and she just made an impulsive, unrealistic character.

But I have to gush about Patch! He is only reason I followed this book faithfully till the end,  a very well-crafted character. He is not an entirely likeable or trustworthy male lead, but one who gives you the dangerous and alluring in spades and will make any teenage girl swoon and blush along with Nora. He is the epitome of sexy and mysterious without overdoing it and he is always dark in a mysteriously appealing way throughout the book! Patch Cipriano is just… WOW. My mind just have to keep wondering about all the secrets hid behind his back (literally!)

Well, it’s an overall entertaining piece, but regrettably, I find that it didn’t live up to the hype :(

11 thoughts on “Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. I totally agree with you on Nora! I found her very frustrating though Patch was a well-crafted character >) /wink
    Look forward to your next review!

  2. Yay! So glad to have found you, and my fellow commenter, both don’t like Nora either! Soo annoying. She made it really hard for me to get through the book. Like you Alicia, I dont see what the hype was about. Definitely like Patch though. ;)

  3. Nice review. I haven’t read this, but I have seen a few others who felt the way you did. I love your blog and want to thank you for following my blog. Are you on twitter? Are you planning on adding Network blog or feedburner follow options? Let me know.

    • Thank you for dropping by! Indeed, this book left most people rather displeased with Nora :/

      Well, you can follow my blog via email– There’s a “Follow Me” option in the sidebar, just key in your email and activate the confirmation in your inbox :)

  4. Pingback: Monday Book Match-Up: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick « Reading 'En Vogue'

  5. If you haven’t read Crescendo yet (which I kinda doubt, since this is a 2012 May review :D), you’ll probably like Patch and hate Nora. Non-spoiler-ish hint: she does become more annoying and Patch-obsessed. He’s chill, though. I definitely like him more.

    • The truth is… No, I haven’t read Crescendo /knocks head/

      I love Patch, he’s an incredibly fantaboulously hot character whom I sincerely WISH could appear in real life!! All those crazy fangirl notions haha. I’m already not liking Nora much, and I guess that’s the main reason I haven’t continued with the series. Sigh, have you read Finale?

  6. Nope, I haven’t read Finale yet. Considering how boring and repetitive Silence was, I’m still debating whether or not to read it. Besdies, I kinda know what happens because a friend of mine read it. The only reason I stuck with those books was the fallen angels/Nephilim storyline.

Leave a Comment

