Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Publisher/Year: Doubleday September 13th 2011
Genre: YA Fantasy and YA Beautiful Circus
Series: I wish! D:
Other Books From Author: None
Source: Bought with my own cash money
Rating★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @erinmorgenstern |

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

I was simply… awe-struck, till the very end. I hoped I never had to put it down.

As readers, how many books have we come across, till the point when we read the first lines and can totally guess the plot? These days, we know how everything is going to end: predictable, sappy and cheezy– the bad guy is going to die and the lovers are going to live happily ever after. The end. But I can safely say, no, definitely not this one.

In The Night Circus, you really have no idea of where this plot will end up, not even an inkling! Just when I scoffed at the “unimportant” threads of the plot line, they begin to make their way, slowly, into the main train of thoughts: The mysterious appearance of contortionist, Tsukiko; The growing up of a young boy, Bailey; The birth of a special pair of twins, Poppet and Widget. Now, what used to be a simple thread of Marco and Celia ends up in a huge, complicated rope, and all I could do was to stare at the book, wide-eyed and shocked!

Only when I shut the book, dazed and breathless then I realise– it all made sense.

And how can I forget the fantastic Circus? Right from the beginning, Morgenstern paints us a picture of a black and white circus, housing various tents, each named after the striking event within it. At the start of each section, Morgenstern allows you to take on the persona of a character and walk through her well-crafted circus, seeing things as any curious visitor would. Oh and the writing! It must be one of the most lyrical and beautiful word plays I’ve yet to see. It flows so smoothly with such vivid images I could literally smell the aroma of caramel and hear the melodic chime of the clock. It was amazing.

As you become so drawn into the circus almost becoming part of it yourself, there’ll some words of wisdom in the book that’ll strike you deep in the heart and leaving you with some food for thought. Even after that final page is turned though, lines and phrases still linger in my memory, constanly ekeing their way into my thoughts and colouring my internal discussion with myself.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. Awesome review. I am ashamed to say this has been in my TBR pile since it was published. I want to read it, but it keeps getting shuffled around..your review has me rethinking that!

  2. THE NIGHT CIRCUS~ How I love this book… Or rather, how I long to visit the circus! How I long to wear one of the red sashes declaring my love for the Circus~

    Yeah, this is a book which will leave be thinking about it for AGES <3 I didn't really like Marco, but… Celia is quite something, ain't she? ;D

    • High five! You’ve just summarized my review in 2 succinct sentences :) As gullible as I tend to be, the description was so real and tangible I believed in the Circus’ existence for a moment! With… Just that little romantic flaw, sigh

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Night Circus | Sheila Hurst

  4. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Summer Next Top Story

  5. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

