Review: Evermore by Alyson Noel

Evermore by Alyson Noel
Publisher/Year: St. Martin’s Press February 3rd 2009
Genre: YA Paranormal
Series: Yes, a very very long series :/
Other Books From Author: Blue Moon (Book 2), Shadowland (Book 3), Dark Flame (Book 4), Night Star (Book 5), Everlasting (Book 6), Radiance, Shimmer, Fated
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @AlysonNoel |

After a horrible accident claims the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom can see people’s auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone’s entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school-but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste.Damen is gorgeous, exotic, and wealthy. He’s the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head-wielding a magic so intense, it’s as though he can peer into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she’s left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea who he really is-or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she’s falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.

I was strongly recommended this book by a friend but sadly, I didn’t enjoy it (sorry Sel!). It lacked the life and energy that any good book has, to constantly engage me with the story. Once or twice, I was so drawn from the book that it felt like reading an academic paper. Even the climax was not exciting enough to make me forget the fact that I’m only sleeping 5 hours a day. Sigh.

Evermore starts out weak, with the description of Ever’s friend Haven reminiscent of the infamous My Immortal, describing everything from her Doc Martin’s to her golden contacts in her “gothic” gear, it continues to talk about Hillary Duff and Marilyn Manson, which turns me off almost immediately. All we are given is a simple, one-sided character with no brains for herself, which makes her a superficial and (pardon me,) useless character.

Speaking of stereotyping, all the characters are nothing but cardboard stereotypes. Haven? Goth. Miles? Flamboyant gay. Damen? Sexy, unattainable boy.

Damen himself is described as smoldering, hot, and palpable, which besides being a laughable description in itself, gives us no idea how he actually looks. Other than that, he’s perfect– he has no desires, no character flaws, no reasons for readers to like him.  Him and Ever together make an all the more unrealistic romance. They have no spark, nothing in common. The only thing that bonds them together is the far-fetched talk of being soul mates.

Regrettably, there are too many books of this genre that the storyline becomes stale and predictable. Many times, I had to flip back to the cover page to check I was really reading Evermore, and not Twilight. It seemed to me the author was riding the coattails of Twilight till the point where the striking parallels between story plots were discomforting. In fact, if you’ve enjoyed Twilight, you’ll either love it or hate it, or be totally bored by it. The story droned on so slowly I could have skipped a few chapters and still understood what was going on.

I will not condemn this book, since it is only the first of its series, but it will be highly unlikely that I can push myself to go on. Recommended for those who want a good laugh, or a very, very, light read that requires little-to-no thinking. Will the next book be worth the try?

12 thoughts on “Review: Evermore by Alyson Noel

    • Nahhh, don’t let my opinions sway you too much! Since you have the entire series, I’m guessing that you like books of this genre? Then you should really give it a go, who knows, you might like it! To each her own ;) Do let me know if you put up a review for Evermore, you can be sure I’ll be checking regularly!

  1. Bummer but at least your friend enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and good luck with your science project!

  2. Aww… It’s okay, I didn’t really enjoy this either :/ At first it seemed okay, but when it continued towards the climax and ending I… Fell asleep /guilty :3

    Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t enjoy the book. Sleep more kay Tweedledum >)

    • The buildup was so slow and predictable that it ruined any element surprise I was looking forward to :( And the ending was like mehhhhhh… Not what I’d expect from a book so popular! >.<

      Did you just mix up our names again, poor girl? You're the Tweedledum(b) one! :D Heheh

  3. I actually made it through about four of these I think. Despite that, I think you’ve made a pretty good assessment of the book and it continues that way throughout. I have a tendency to want to complete what I’ve started regardless of how painful it is getting. But I finally did give up. Thanks for following me! I’ve got you on my google reader now. :)

Leave a Comment

