Book Blogger Hop: May 19

Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Jennifer over at Crazy for Books, where book bloggers answer a weekly question and “hop” around different blogs to share their thoughts!

This week’s question is…

How many books do you own? This can include books in your to-be-read (TBR) pile(s) and books you have already read that are on your keeper shelf.

That’s a good question. Am I supposed to feel pleased at the fact that they can be tabulated? >.< Actually, that depends on which genres of books you’ll consider, because really, I have LOADS of picture books dating back from kindergarten :p I actually went to count them, and it brought back lovely childhood memories. The books generally go along the lines of “Jane likes dogs”, “Peter likes dogs” and “They like dogs”, which sounds very silly now, yet one doesn’t simply forget her once-favourite bedtime stories. Um, I used to fantasize Jane and Peter as a romantic couple. Yes, at the age of 5. And yes, it felt really sweet. Gawd, what happened to me? xD

Oops, sorry, I tend to sidetrack when I get sentimental!!! Okay, on to serious stuff. I don’t exactly have a keeper shelf because my mom doesn’t approve of me spending too much of her money on books therefore I do a lot of borrowing from the national libraries instead (which is the perfect place on earth!). In all honesty, series make up the most of my books at home, so here are a few:

  • Harry Potter series
  • Twilight saga
  • Hunger Games series
  • The Chronicles of Narnia series

You may do the calculation at your own free time :) That being said, I have a considerable number of classics piling up and collecting dust in a inconspicuous section of my bookshelf, heheh. Other books can be found as reviews on my blog so take your time to cruise around!

As for to-be-read… That’s tricky. Some books have been on my TBR for so long it gets overly convenient to just sweep them out of my mind. *shoots furtive glances at my shelves* Let’s keep it at 30, to make me feel better, thank you.

/Note to self: Better read more this week or your book debt is just going to grow grow grow!/

How many books are piling up your shelves?

14 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: May 19

  1. That looks a bit like my shelves–Harry Potter, Twilight, Narnia and the Hunger Games take up more than their fair share of space!

    I like the term “book debt”. It piles on the reading pressure, but I like the idea that reading good books is a debt we owe to ourselves and to the world. :-) Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad to know there are other Goong fans out there.

    • There’s a reason why they were so popular, they’re all part and parcel of our childhood!

      Book debt makes me feel guilty because I don’t like owing others stuff and leaving my books there to collect dust has become the worst crime!!! But I agree that good books make the world go round. Thank you for dropping by too, I’d be glad to fan girl over Gong any day ;)

  2. I think WordPress ate my first comment…anyhow, I’m returning your visit, and I like your favorite series list. :-) Goong is a really cute show–I’m looking forward to watching more.

    • It’s okay, I’ve got your comment. This happened to a previous commenter… Is there really a lot of technical problems going on on WordPress? :/

  3. It’s probably a good thing that your mom doesn’t let you spend too much money on books! Things can get really crowded really quickly! I have about… 150ish books on my bookshelf. And compared to some people I’ve seen, that’s actually fairly modest! I’m a huge book hoarder though. I love owning books and collecting books. My bookshelf might collapse one day!

    • Hahaha, if not for my mom, I would have turned into a chronic bookaholic! The feeling of having a many solid, physical books at your reach just feels so… comfortable :) Get a bigger bookcase! I bet you’ll need it

  4. Thanks for the comment mariposaspring. This is new series that just came out I believe. I just happen to find the book in my library when I went in. <- when you left me a comment earlier this year.

    I understand the this question and if you want just come back and check out the post yourself. Thats up to you.

    Thanks for the comment on review your left.

  5. I have no idea how many books I own. I love them and have an addiction to one click on Amazon. Love the question. Narnia chronicles are my son’s favorite. Nice blog.

    • It’s just so easy to lose yourself on online purchase sites! >) I loved the Narnia chronicles as a child too, it was the first book-mad-into-movie I read, thank you Kim!

Leave a Comment

