Review: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
Publisher/Year: HarperTeen February 28th 2012
Genre: YA Dystopian
Series: YES, read my review of Book 1!
Other Books From Author: Delirium (Book 1), Before I Fall, Liesl & Po
Source: Gifted
Rating★★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @OliverBooks |

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

OMG. First. I need to breathe.

Pandemonium picks up right where Delirium thrown us off, into yet another emotional rollercoaster. Dazed, weak and frail, Lena struggles through the Wilds, crawling with her last ounce of strength and fighting against her last memory. It didn’t seem real, and Lauren doesn’t expect readers to forget that loss. The Lena now is war-torn and beaten to within an inch of her soul, yet she is expected to pull herself together and continue to live with no past and no future, only the present.

Written in time jumps between “then” and “now”, Lauren rocks us back and forth between Lena’s experiences, interweaving them into uncomfortable parallels and forebodings. The first half of the book alternates between Lena’s slow recovery in the Wilds and her subsequent undercover mission in New York City, where she poses as a devoted member of Deliria-Free-America (DFA). Beyond listening and observing, Lena’s not sure what she’s supposed to do, until the day she’s told to follow Julian Fineman, the DFA founder’s son. And then… all hell breaks loose. Immediately, I knew Lauren has trapped me once again.

And there’s another boy. Julian Fineman.

Fineman by name, Fineman by nature, Julian’s gentlemanly and sweet deposition will make your heart melt to the core. On top of that, Lauren adds a sizzling layer of forbidden attraction, since Lena and Julian are supposed to be natural enemies. Through an absurd situation (which I shall not spoil for you, haha), Lena and Julian are forced to get to know each other in a deliciously torturous manner, and the fact that Lena is more experienced in the ways of deliria than Julian heightens the atmosphere to a smoldering level! Don’t get me wrong, I still love Alex, but Julian makes up for that empty space in my heart in ways Alex can’t ;)

If you’ve read my review of Delirium, you’d understand how achingly beautiful Lauren’s style is. Emotional and gorgeously compelling, the words float up from the page and surround you until you feel like you’ve actually become a physical part of the book. But while her writing remains beautiful, Oliver really picked up the pace for Pandemonium, resulting in a heart-pounding whirlwind of action and suspense. If Delirium was a little bit slow for you, it’ll be a great relief to know that its sequel won’t stop until you’ve got enough! The chapters that take place during Lena’s recovery are naturally a bit quiet, but once she begins her mission in New York, it was really hard to resist the urge to speed read because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED.

True to its form, Pandemonium wrecked a HUGE havoc in my heart! Someone, please explain to me. Why is Requiem only out in 2013?

15 thoughts on “Review: Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Excellent review, Alicia! I L O V E D both Delirium and Pandemonium :) Lauren Oliver sure knows how to write. I still have Before I Fall and Hannah to read before Requiem comes out in 2013, so I have some more of Lauren’s writing to look forward too(even if Lena isn’t in it).

  2. The switches in between time seems pretty confusing… :/ but I like the cliffhanger! XD Ahhh why must awesome cliffhanging books always come out so late? .___. Like Everneath #2

    • Actually, the switch in time frames adds on to the suspense because you get double the climax at the same time! :D IKR… The authors always leave us drooling for their next book >.<

Leave a Comment

