Review: Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
Publisher/Year: Penguin February 7th 2012
Genre: YA Historical Fantasy and Witches
Series: Yes… a Chronicle!
Other Books From Author: No
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @jessica_shea |

Everybody knows Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they’re witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship—or an early grave.

Before her mother died, Cate promised to protect her sisters. But with only six months left to choose between marriage and the Sisterhood, she might not be able to keep her word… especially after she finds her mother’s diary, uncovering a secret that could spell her family’s destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra.
If what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren’t safe. Not from the Brotherhood, the Sisterhood—not even from each other.

Witches and prophecies of an era when the Salem witches are real and the Puritans rule New England… Doesn’t this sound exciting? In a society where women are meant to be meek and submissive creatures, falling for the gardener is preposterous, especially when your rich and attractive childhood friend has expressed his intentions to make you his wife! And to make matters worse, Cate’s mother forewarns a century-old prophecy that promises a resurgence of power for the Daughters of Persephone… Or a Second Terror.

First off, hands down to our heroine, Catherine Anna Cahill! In the three years since her mother’s death, protecting her 2 sisters from the prying eyes of their neighbours and the Brotherhood has been her top priority. She will never hesitate to kill, or use mind-magic — the darkest magic known to witchery — if it means keeping her sisters safe. Her bravery and love for her sisters truly touches me. But now, her 17th birthday is approaching and with it, a choice of her future. HERE’S THE CRUX! Will Cate sacrifice as the Sisterhood’s pawn to protect her sisters? Or will she finally follow what her heart desires?

Speaking of which… I think that the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra is perfectly suitable! Finn Belastra works in his family bookstore but he took the job of the Cahill’s gardener for some extra cash. As Cate hovers about in fear that he’ll ruin her beloved garden, the two stumble unsuspectingly into love! Finn loves her for her who she really is, and not the proper lady (or cabbagehead) she pretends to be, you can literally feel the tension and heat even as the two stand across each other! On the other hand, we have another suitor ;) Paul has been Cate’s neighbour since they were children. She remembers the green-eyed boy during their most playful moments and is shocked by the charming man who returns from New London. He comes from a good family and will pick the stars for her if she please, but her heart doesn’t flutter around him like it does with Finn. Jessica writes her romance with fantastical developments and I promise you’ll feel your head go tipsy alongside Cate!

One thing that disturbs me is the “overpopulation” of witches. Initially, we were told that most witches were wiped out by the Brotherhood, with only few lucky survivors. Yet as the story progresses, witches turn to appear at every corner! I can’t help but raise an eyebrow at this. The “twists” backfire and certain parts appear fake when Cate realizes that almost everyone she knows, is capable of witchery. Though this is not a major problem, I hope to see what will come of Cate’s decision!

All in all, it was an interesting and exciting read. Ladies and gentlemen, sit back, relax, and keep your hands on the armrest in case you’ll need to grip them tight! Presenting… Born Wicked!

13 thoughts on “Review: Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

    • I won’t claim credit for the trailer, it’s retrieved from YouTube, but this is once of the best trailer I’ve ever seen! At least you’ll get to see them now, I won’t leave a library if I had a choice! :)

  1. I’m glad that you enjoyed this book so much! I ended up liking it,but not loving it. But I totally agree with the whole witches thing- I feel like there’s only supposed to be a few witches but SO many people turn out to be one! It’s a bit crazy. Anyways, great review! =)

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    • Thank you Aneeqah! Hmm… That’s the problem with the first books of a sequel, they tend to be setting a background rather than give us that overwhelming wave of emotions. I’m looking forward to the next book! Yeah, guess that was a convenient solution for our author…

  2. I just finished it last night too!! Got me a bit creeped out though… That there were so many witches o.o but omg I’m looking forward to Cate’s decision!!! Ugh I wonder when it would come out! Omg you know my heart totally broke when Finn ran up to her before she left for the sisterhood? >< haha but overall I'll only give it 3.5 stars? Pretty nice but not as overall intriguing or heart throbbing.

    • The huge number of witches was a bit far-fetched :/ Me too!!! Wonder what will turn out of it, shhhhhh don’t spoil it for others ;) But when Cate describe how well dressed he was for the occasion, I felt so sad for him T_T In that case, an extra 0.5 stars for the poofy dresses and Old English!

  3. Once I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any approach you may take away me from that service? Thanks!

  4. Born Wicked was a little slow-paced for me, but I liked the combination of witches and prophecies and a mariage decision! Great review :)

  5. I should be reading this soon. The cover did not attract me at first, but after observing it for some time, it gets more and more intriguing!

    • Haha! I remember one time I placed this book upside down unconsciously and when I take a look at it, I got very freaked out!! Do read it soon, I’ll be stopping by for your review!

  6. Pingback: A Fortnight of Fright: Halloween Reads! | The Book Addict's Guide

Leave a Comment

