Review: Intangible by J. Meyers

Intangible by J. Meyers
Publisher/Year: self-published January 31st 2012
Genre: YA Paranormal
Series: Yes
Other Books From Author: None as yet
Rating: ★★★

I received this for review from the author, but that in no way swayed my opinion of the book, promise!

Amazon | Goodreads | @jmeyersbooks |

Twins Sera and Luke Raine have a well-kept secret—she heals with a touch of her hand, he sees the future. All their lives they’ve helped those in need on the sly. They’ve always thought of their abilities as being a gift.Then Luke has a vision that Sera is killed. That gift they’ve always cherished begins to feel an awful lot like a curse. Because the thing about Luke’s ability? He’s always right. And he can’t do anything about it.

If anything, Luke and Sera are the cutest siblings I’ve seen, full of understanding, trust and love for each other! When one is feeling down, the other is sure to know and they stick through thick and thin despite circumstances. I enjoyed their witty banters and poking fun that ease up many awkward moments. The strong chemistry between them is something difficult to find and even more so when we’re talking about family and not love interests.

Ahhh… Love interests. There’s not much romance here as any hint of affection is too superficial to be taken seriously. With a looming prophecy as background, Sera gets her little taste of romance, only that her feelings are misplaced in the one whose intention is to betray her to the Shadows, Marc. Brief moments when Jonas feels a sense of familiarity around Sera got me perked up and curious… If I were Luke, I’ll be foreseeing a love triangle in the sequel ^-^

While J creates a whole new world with appealing characters, this does not continue for the entire book. Intangible develops very slowly, with the first 200 pages constantly repeating how special Luke and Sera are by cutting back and forth between scenes of vampires and ghosts determined to hunt them down. The characters remain one-sided for most parts of the book and we can easily attritube their personalities: determined and protective Fey, mysterious and scheming Marc, and the dark yet protective Jonas. They fall flat at times when I expect highly charged tension electrifying the air or heaty debates to be battling in their minds!

Understandably, J wants to set the scene steady for the rest of her series but it will be great if our characters get a boost on the Action Department… Or else there’s no saying I won’t want a fast-forward button with this book. Although Intangible ended off on a high note, the promised thrills didn’t satisfy me. Nevertheless, it has great potential and you may fall in love with this book much more than I did so give it a go!

14 thoughts on “Review: Intangible by J. Meyers

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve had my eye on this book for a while but it’s hard to justify buying a copy and I have so many other books to read! I think I’ll try to make time for it this summer. :)

    • You’re welcome, Ashley! Sighhhh sometimes reality does come in the way of reading… I have a huge pile of TBR too :/ Hope you’ll get to read Intangible soon, it’ll be a very enjoyable read :)

  2. Great review! I’m currently reading this book and am glad to hear you liked it (: I’m really liking it so far! Downloaded Intuition too, and am excited to read that too.

  3. Great review! I finished this one in 2 short days because I couldn’t wait to see what happened. Love your blog, we seem to read a lot of the same books! (I’m your newest follower)

    • Same here, I was very absorbed by the plot development especially in the last pages! Hope J will release her next book soon :) Haha, high five! We have the same taste in books! Thanks for the follow!

  4. Great review! I enjoyed this book as well, but I do agree that it was a bit slow at parts. I am looking forward to the rest of the story though!

Leave a Comment

