Sunday Post: June 17

Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba over at Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Let us know what books you’ve bought, borrowed or received for review!

Um, I know I know, I should be revising for my exams but I can’t help it… There was a 25% storewide discount in Popular Bookstore! /indignant/  My mom had to warn me n times beforehand or I might have bought the entire YA section without knowing! :P

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

FINALLY :) Ever since the fantastic reviews of The Girl in the Clockwork Collar, I’ve been dying to get my hands on this series! In fact, I was floating over the moon when I found this /faints/

Divergent & Insurgent by Veronica Roth

No words can ever express how much I’ve pined for this series, NONE. Absolutely LOVELOVELOVE!!! Oh Veronica, will you marry me? ♥

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

Being a fan of Greek mythology, this book topped my list for the month! But a handful of negative reviews are worrying… Have to read it for myself soon!

Fracture by Megan Miranda

Miranda? /thinks Harry Potter/ OH OOPS. Um, I chanced upon this in the library and found it interesting ^-^ Any thoughts?

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

I’ve wanted this for a LONG LONG time, and when a friend gushed over it last week, I confirmed my high probability to love this book!

What books did YOU receive this week?


WAIT!!! Before we move off, let’s put our hands together to recognize and celebrate this very important person in our lives… To all fathers out there, today is YOUR DAY!

Dear Dad, thank you so much for being there for me, scolding me (uh), encouraging me, and always wanting the best for me. You have a very special place in my heart that no one can fill. Dad, you are the one I have always looked up to and always will!

Happy Father’s Day, have a blast!

Isn’t it nice how Father’s Day complements Mother’s Day? :)

62 thoughts on “Sunday Post: June 17

  1. Great haul, Alicia! The Goddess Test’s actually a good read – don’t mind the negative reviews. Although there is one part in the book that did get me confused… Anyway, here’s my haul – looks like we both bought Unearthly!

    • Thanks Lyra, I’m very comforted by your vouch for The Goddess Test! Haha, great minds think alike! ;) Curious about how our opinions of Unearthly will be…

    • Haha, I hope I’ll get to love them as much as you did, reviews to be up in no time! ;) Have a great week ahead with your lovely picks, and thank you for organizing the Sunday Post!

  2. Awesome haul! I am completely jealous of your Divergent and Insurgent copies, I’ve read the first one but I don’t own it…I also have Fracture and I still need to read it. I hope you enjoy them and thanks for stopping by.
    Michelle

    • You won’t want to know how envious I was when I saw Divergent and Insurgent on other’s mailbox! xD Hope to see how you feel about Fracture, I picked that up purely out of curiosity!

  3. AWESOME books! Divergent is absolutely amazing – one of my favorite reads this year! I have a copy of Insurgent begging to be read, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    I hope you enjoy The Goddess Test! I liked it a lot but didn’t Z0MG LOVE it. I gave it 4 of 5 stars though. It’s certainly worth a read :)

    Enjoy all your awesome books!

    Here’s my Stacking the Shelves

    • DIVERGENT!!!! <3 It's one of the best dystopian I've ever read, Tris and Four forever!!!! Be sure to read Insurgent soon dear!

      I'll have to face The Goddess Test with a clear mind, wonder which side it will put me on… But I sure wish to be on the I-liked-it! side :)

  4. I’m one of those that didn’t love The Goddess Test, but it had less to do with the author and more to do with me and my sort of unflappable opinions about what the gods and goddesses should look like. I did like it, but it wasn’t the best thing ever. But I, too, really want to read Unearthly; I have it but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.

    Awesome books this week! Happy reading, and good luck on your exams!

    My StS

    • Despite being a lover of Greek mythology, I’m very ashamed to say that I don’t have very deep knowledge of the gods and goddesses, should build up on these extra information before I read the book! Unearthly sounds very promising ;)

      • My biggest problem is that I am such a huge fan of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, and to me, those ARE the gods. So to see them in Carter’s rendition took me some getting used to, because they really don’t behave like you’d think they would (or should). Again, totally personal, and actually, you may end up liking the book more because you don’t have preconceived notions on how they should act. I did like Henry, though, even though he wasn’t “my” Hades.

      • Yeah, same for me on dramas! Once I stick an actor to a character’s face, I can NEVER stand another actor acting the same character! :P Henry sounds cool, we can share our thoughts when I finish the book!

    • YAY!!!! I think I’m loving Unearthly even before I started reading, the story sounds fabulous!! Oh dear me, Divergent and Insurgent are a MUST-READ!!! <3

    • Duhhh, who won’t love getting lots of awesome books at a lower price! Heeehee, now I feel out here, almost everyone have read these great books, gotta catch up soon! ;) Enjoy your week with books too~

  5. All six are awesome!!! I LOVE UNEARTHLY LALALALALALAAAAA. Read everything on the list except insurgent, on my bookshelf waiting now xDD WOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO. /highing/

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s so hard to resist the temptation to buy books sometimes.

    I’m now following your blog as well.

    Happy reading!

  7. I looove this haul! All of these are on my “to read” list on goodreads. ;)

    So happy to be following your blog. Thanks so much for the follow back!

    Cheers,
    Jenna Lynne @ betweenthebind.blogspot.com

  8. Ah! Divergent!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that book! And I REALLY need to read Insurgent!!
    I read Fracture recently – that was a really good book too, hope you enjoy it ;)
    Oooh, you have the Goddess Test! I really like the sound of that book, must get round to reading it sometime.

    Catherine :) x
    The Book Parade

    • OMG YES LOVE THEM!!!! I MUST READ INSURGENT NOW GAAAAH :D Great to know Fracture will be a nice read, The Goddess Test should be up on your shopping list ;)

  9. You got a pretty good haul yourself this week! I have’t read the Goodess books yet, but I keep seeing them and hearing how good they are that I need ot get on that! And yay for Divergent and insurgent! =)

    Thanks for stoppin by my blog. Hope you are having a good week!

    • Haha, I kept seeing the Goddess books pop up all over as well so I was very curious to read it for myself! AW YEAH, DIVERGENT AND INSURGENT FOREVER!! <3 Have a good week too!

  10. 25% off. I would have bought all the YA too! Haha. You picked some great ones! Loved Divergent, haven’t read Insurgent yet but I’m sure it’s just as good. Oh my gosh Fracture is Amazing! LOVED IT! And of course you know how I feel about the Unearthly series ;)

    • GAAAH IKR!!! It was so tempting to just sweep all the titles off the shelf!! ;) YAY DIVERGENT <3 So glad to hear that Fracture is amazing, going to read it next!

  11. Omg so gay!!! Why on earth are you proposing to veronica?! =.= haha I see some auntiness in a certain person at popular >) enjoy reading! ^^

Leave a Comment

