Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher/Year: Hachette January 2nd 2012
Genre: YA Contemporary, CUTENESS OVERLOAD
Series: No
Other Books From Author: The Comeback SeasonYou Are Here, The Storm Makers
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @JenESmith |

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?
Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. She’s stuck at JFK, late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s in seat 18C. Hadley’s in 18A.Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

Hadley Sullivan is having what could be the worst day of her life when she misses her flight to her father’s second wedding, but 4 short minutes bring the gorgeous Oliver into her life. While Hadley is forced to attend a wedding she wants nothing to do with, Oliver is similarly on his way back home to London for something equally terrible… not that she knows it yet. (BIG HINT!) Could he be the ray of sunshine she needs to get through the doom and gloom of London?

Though I have never met a sweet British boy who steals my heart at 40,000 feet, the lovely thing about The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is the tug of familiarity at your heartstrings — getting into a conversation with the passenger next to you whose name you’ll never know, learning all about his family history when you don’t plan on seeing him again after the flight. We’ve all been there, done that, but how many of us noticed the sweet little bubble of love at first sight?

That’s where Hadley and Oliver won me over!

People who meet in airports are seventy-two percent more likely too fall for each other than people who meet anywhere else.

Hadley always thought that you forget about the friends you make on planes as soon as you go your separate ways, so why can’t she get this certain one out of her mind? I’ll tell you why. A boy that carries your luggage around busy airports, plays mind games with you to distract you from scary takeoffs and tells you all about how he believes in the romanticism of weddings when you clearly don’t? Let’s not mention how he’s a smart psychology major whose witty lines and subtle flirts will make your heart flutter (or zoom?) along with the plane! Oliver has an easy charm that isn’t a practised lure – he’ll capture your heart the second he steps into your line of sight and will soon have you dreaming about weddings. With him!

Yet it’s not only about falling in love. No, because Hadley’s carrying a lot of hurt and anger towards her father and Charlotte, his new wife-to-be. She resents how he walked straight out of her life – not just to another house or state, but an entirely separate continent, without so much as a backward glance. Now that he has a whole new life away from her, Hadley must learn to face the pain of her parent’s divorce… And remarriage. By drawing each little scene carefully, Jennifer created the perfect depiction of the domino effect: how one small change can affect and alter your whole life.

In full drama, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight brims with giggles and blushes and tears. Reading this feels like falling in love for the first time all over again. Maybe one day, I’m going to miss my flight by 4 minutes and believe in miracles to happen, because they do!

56 thoughts on “Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Great review! I keep hearing about this book but this is actually the first review I’ve read of it. I’d really love to get my hands on a copy so I can read it for myself! Maybe soon.. :)

      • Hmm I just checked Amazon:

        Hardcover: $10.98
        Kindle: $9.99

        Doesn’t it feel like such a rip off when they’re almost the same price?? I mean c’mon, an eBook can be cheaper than that!

      • Hahaha! Amazon got a problem with the ebook, we should sign a petition for reasonable ebook price! xD Why not just get a hardcover then, it’s better for the eyes that way :)

  2. I loved this book, too. It felt so totally realistic, like this was a real guy and a real girl meeting in an airport, not some perfect fictional version of them. The characters were totally charming.

    • You’ve just summarized how I felt about this book! Even though it was set over a mere 24hour period, I could really feel the love budding between them, and it’s not because they were flawless or anything, it’s because they accepted their flaws :)

  3. Hadley and Oliver sound wonderful. I will be honest, excluding Harry and the sparkly vamps, I have only been reading YA in for about 6 months..but all of those have been paranormal or dystopian ..I hadn’t ventured into contemporary romance..because at my age I didn’t think I could connect with the young protagonist. Yesterday I read What A Boy Wants and loved it…I was so surprised how much I enjoy reading about first love, and remembering that feeling..LOL I might give this one a try…after all the story is timeless..two strangers meet! Awesome review cupcake!

    • Harry and the sparkly vamps were my very first YA books too haha xD Honestly speaking, I can’t really connect to the contemporary romances, in fact all the romances, because I haven’t exactly had my first love. First crush, maybe :P Oh, I’m sure you’ll love this!

  4. I’ve seen quite a few reviews absolutely raving about this one! The description definitely sounds interesting, so between that and the raving I might just have to check it out. ;) I’m glad that you enjoyed it too! Great review, and the videos were cute. :)

    • Well, I have no doubts that you did!! The couple was so sweet yet melancholic at the same time, who’s not to like? You must check it out Linny! :) Haha, I bet the videos are the cutest I’ve seen xD

  5. Great review! Hadley & Oliver are one of my favorite couples in contemporary YA. Their conversations and banter were so realistic, and so funny. This book made me want to go sit at the airport all day until an Oliver came along to sweep me off my feet =)

    • They are my FAVOURITE couple as well, it was so cute watching them joke and laugh and talk about really serious topics… Hey! I’ll get my sleeping bag and wait with you!

  6. LOL DISCLAIMATION: the book is not entirely about that romance up there!^ xDDD and the trailers are soooo cute <3 oh and you know you've never been in love before Wu you =.= @the second last line

    • EH HEM? It’s called Statistical Probability of LOVE at first sight for a reason!!! :D Mmhmm, they’re as cute as I am riiiiiight? I know you’ll agree muahaha! I HAVE!! T^T The mirror is my first and only love lalala~~~ /in advanced state of shock and awe/ WHEEEEE!!

  7. Great review! I love how you said reading this book feels like “falling in love all over again”. A friend let me borrow this one but it’s been sitting on my shelf for a couple weeks now. I really need to start it.

  8. Ah yes…the old follow for a follow trick. I’ve been blogging for a year and I just found out that trick like a month or two ago. Could you imagine the number count I could’ve had by now if I had known that from the getgo? Anywhoo, thanks for the follow and yes, it feels amazing to know that a reviewer loved my work. By the way. I’m not familar with wordpress, but I think I’m following you by email.

    Thanks again!

    Queen B

  9. I totally agree about everything you said in this review! This book was so cute, and I totally fell for Oliver. I loved the whole concept that all of this only happened because Hanley was late for her flight. It just goes to show that miracles can totally happen! <3

    Lovely review, Alicia!!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    • The works of fate and time always create such touching stories! None of this could have happened if Hadley didn’t miss her flight.. And that would have been a horrible mistake! ;)

  10. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Book a World

  11. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: February 6 | Summer Next Top Story

  12. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Summer Next Top Story

  13. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: February 6 | Noverly Things

  14. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

