Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

Finally! The worst is over and my exams are done!!! :D *throws textbooks out of the window*

And now… To kick start the month of July while catching up on all the reading I missed, I’ve decided to take part in my very first read-a-thon… Once Upon a Read-a-Thon!

This Read-a-thon is hosted by Angela at Reading Angel, Candace at Candace’s Book Blog and Lori at Pure Imagination. It runs from 12:01 am on July 9th to 11:59 pm on July 11th. As you can see, it starts tomorrow so start stuffing books under your pillow!

What is a Read-a-Thon?

Think mar-a-thon. A Read-a-Thon is where you set a goal for yourself to read more books that is beyond your average number of books you read. There is no minimum, it’s all up to you, and you can read any book that suits your fancy! Push yourself to get some of those books read that have been sitting on your shelves for awhile. There will be mini challenges and giveaways along the way so stay tuned for updates!

What is Alicia’s reading goal?

Sadly, Alicia is your typical student who doesn’t get much time away from the death glares of teachers armed with wands, ready to give a “Avada Kedavra” anytime, anywhere.

-okay, that was a little too melodramatic-

But you get my point :) I won’t be setting far-fetched expectations and cheating my books of their feelings in the process. That spells crime in Alicia Dictionary ;D

The Selection (of books)

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

What books do YOU plan to read?

23 thoughts on “Once Upon a Read-a-Thon

  1. Please do not tell me you have never read Divergent. Please tell me this is the second time reading it.

    JUST KIDDING. I respect you.

    Please, please enjoy it for me. It’s pretty much my favorite book of all time. Unearthly was greaaat! I haven’t read tGitSC, but I have to! Great list, Alicia. Good luck!

  2. Ooh your list of books sound awesome :D
    Have you read hourglass? It’s a GREAT book and perhaps you could add that to the list! /winkwink/

    Anyways, I’m so happy you’re back again! Looking forward to more reviews :)

    • We should gang up and hold the teachers at gunpoint so that they will give us time to read about /coughs/ hot YA boys!!! :D I want to read Hourglass dearie, YOU KNOW I WANT TO xD

      • Hurhur~ I soooo agree! ;D Hm, how does next Monday sound? You’ll bring the gun and I’ll bring the sack to put bodies in /winkwink/ xD

        AHH, you MUST read hourglass soon! I CANNOT wait for the next book, really /sobs/ shan’t ruin it for you by saying anything :D go read it ASAP!!!

      • Oooooh goodie! :D The lead male is just yummy xD I find the idea behind it reaaaaaally cool, and her writing is good too :3

        Okie dokie, I’m writing now ;D I’ll email you my stuff once I’m done with it! Hehe xD

  3. You’re so lucky you get to do a Read-a-thon Alicia ;( I’ve still got exams this week and I have to study for them. Especially my maths paper on Tuesday which is stinkin’ algebra :(
    But your list of books look great, anyway. :)

    • There’ll still be many more read-a-thons in the future to sign up!! ^-^ ALGEBRA :O The horror. Of. My. Life. I remember cracking my brains over it last week… >.< Good luck for your papers!

  4. Here are my top five MUST read books (those that have waited two whole weeks):
    1. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
    2. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
    3. Dragon Spear by Jessica Day George
    4. Hush,Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
    5. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

    I know I am very slow… Teehee :P

    • I thought you’ve been reading The Lost Symbol since last month cupcake! xD OMG PANDEMONIUM NOW WHERE DID I LEAVE MY COPY? Go raid the world and read it NOWWWWWW!!!!! :D

  5. Thanks for reminding me I have Divergent sitting on my shelf waiting for me. I have to get to that one. I’ve been caught up in reviewing ARCs and I need to make progress on my TBR list. It’s getting huge!

    Happy reading!

    • Well, ARCs do take priority… But I always feel guilty when the thick pile of TBR looks at me pitifully… Hope you’ll get down to reading Divergent, IT’S AWESOME :)

  6. This sounds like so much fun! I would totally participate if I wasn’t working every day this week =( Anywho, happy reading!!! =) You picked some great books! I <3 Unearthly, Divergent is wicked awesome and I actually just picked up a copy of Girl in the Steel Corset last week (I'll be looking forward to your review.)

    • I’ll be studying for the week too but who can resist reading all those yummlicious titles? ;D Thank you!! The hype around these books are getting me really excited to start reading!

  7. I’m doing this challenge too! AHH! Divergent is literally the BEST! Enjoy it! And, Unearthly was great too! I’m planning on reading The Fault In Our Stars, Hourglass, and I don’t know the other books. Good Luck! Happy reading!

    • Let’s read, read and read for the challenge yay! I’m sure it will be, going to start on Unearthly today, right this instant! Have fun reading, I’d love to know how you feel of Hourglass and The Fault in Our Stars, they are awesome books! :)

      • Woah! Hope you love it just as much as I did! I bet I’ll love them because everyone has said amazing things about both books! And, I’m super siked to start The Fault in Our Stars because it’ll be my first John Green book!

Leave a Comment

