Once Upon a Read-a-Thon: Day 1

/cues grand drumroll/And off we go!

Today has been a busying buzzying day! Ranting aside, here are the mini challenges. They are hosted by Loretta from Between The Pages and Bailey from IB Book Blogging respectively :)

Mini Challenge 1

Answer 4 questions about the books below and tap on your memory skills!

1. In A WANT SO WICKED, what was Elise’s sister’s name?

2. In THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, who did Hazel & Augusts go to meet in Amsterda

3. In PUSHING THE LIMITS, what was the name of Echo’s step-mother?

4. In TWILIGHT, Bella fell in love with whom?

I’m hoping I got the names right! There’s a giveaway from a choice of 6 books so stop by Loretta’s blog some time.

Mini Challenge 2

1. What is your favorite cover that has been revealed this summer and why? Post a link or picture of the cover if you want.

There are so many covers released this summer it’s just so hard to choose! After thinking long and hard

Sure, this isn’t an exceptionally beautiful cover, but you can never deny how much I’m pining for Requiem! The ending of Pandemonium made me delirious and I’ll be scrambling to get Requiem once it’s out, bet on that! It’s interesting how the “look” of the series changes from evergreen to tropical flowers to the fiery rosebuds in Requiem ;) Now that we see the full face of the model, it’s obvious that Lauren has much much more in store for us! Requiem will be hitting stores March 5th, 2013, you know what to do.

2. Do you rely on the cover to help you choose whether you want to read a book or not?

As much as I’d love to say I’m a fair and impartial person who doesn’t judge a book by its cover… I’m not. The cover means A LOT to me.

I feel that most covers encompass the main ideas of the book and if they catch my eye, score 1 right away! If not… It’s going to take heaps of hard work and persuasion to get me to love the book. Besides, the cover sets the general mood, is it paranormal? Fantasy? Or dystopian? One look at the cover and you’ll know. The cover carries a mental image in my mind, so the moment I think “Twilight!”, an apple pops into my mind. How effectively an author uses his/her cover will then determine how memorable it will be for me :)

In Bailey’s giveaway, you get to choose from a wide range of books from her ARC pile~

Thank you Loretta and Bailey for organizing these mini challenges!

Today’s Summary

  • Finished Fracture by Megan Miranda (52 pages)
  • Read Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (108 pages)
  • Completed 2 out of 2 mini challenges
  • Total pages read: 160 pages

Okay, I’ll admit, I’m fairly slow in my progress today but hey! I was struggling with French conjugasions and awesome half angels at the same time, give me some credit ^-^

There won’t be any reviews while I’m running my Read-a-Thon, but these books are fantastic you can be sure the reviews will be up in no time! For now… Good night and ciao!

/pulls out torch and starts reading under the blanket/ 

How was YOUR progress today?

23 thoughts on “Once Upon a Read-a-Thon: Day 1

  1. You’re doing great! I’m at 100 pages and already needed a break. It’s rainy and hot and I keep telling myself I do NOT want to nap!!! 10 am is a bit early for that.

    • If the book is giving you a headache maybe some rest would be good! Haha, I tend to nap whenever I feel sleepy, and that means almost 24 hours a day… :P

      • hahah.. My hubby calls me an olympic sleeper. I was good and switched books but what was getting me was the rain! Nap and rain just go together like cookies and ice cream!

  2. I’ve heard a lot about that series, but haven’t picked it up yet! Maybe I should get on that? lol thanks for the follow, I’m subscribing to your blog too :D

  3. I’ve just finished Delirium but I’m wary of picking up Pandemonium now… I’m afraid there’s going to be a huge cliffhanger at the ending. I like the covers, but I liked the original cover for Delirium more – the one with the light blue cover and the girl’s face which you could see behind the title’s font. I was disappointed when that cover was changed.

    • YES THERE IS!!! The cliffhanger in Pandmonium just about killed me. About, I liked the previous cover a tad bit better too, but the cover has it’s merits so… /shrugs/ Just going to love the books <3

  4. Pingback: Once Upon a Read a Thon Updates | My Seryniti

  5. I have Delirium, however, I have yet to pick it up, unfortunately it’s near the bottom of my TBR pile.

    It sounds like you’re doing great, good luck with the rest of the read-a-thon!

    • HIGH FIVE!!! I MUST MUST MUST be readining it right now!!! Oh Alex… <3

      … Ahem. Lol French and angels xD Sounds romantic in a way when that wasn't the case! Haha, good luck with your reading too!

  6. WOW!!! You’re doing great! I need to finish my second book today and start my third one! I’ve just been too distracted!!! And, how did you like Unearthly????

    • I haven’t got much time to finish my books too, GAAAH hope I won’t fail too badly! >.<

      OMG I LOVELOVELOVE UNEARTHLY!!!!! It's so suspenseful and I can't stop reading if not for algebra eeeesh!

      • I’m only 1/3 through my goals oh no this is bad… Heheh, it’s going to be a tough choice between the two, for now, CHRISTIAN <3 He just has that swoon-worthy feel in him! /grins sheepishly/

  7. Hello! Haha I still think you should read more books for this! XD oh anyway can you recommend my cousin any books? I would think he refers adventure/action and probably dystopian too (so sadistic =o=). Haha more specifically he enjoyed the Hunger Games A LOT. So yea xD thanks! And happy reading!(;

    • GAAAH IKR I should but school + musical haven’t been cooperative /inserts angry emoji/ HMPH. Your cousin? Shi Hong? Hmm… DIVERGENT WILL BE AWESOME!!! Under The Never Sky? These are the only ones that spin out of my mind in the spur of the moment, ask Sel!! She’ll be blabbering off for the day xD Actually, you can suggest Battle Royale to him, many argue that’s where the idea of Hunger Games came from, and that it’s 10 times better than HG but who knows? ;)

Leave a Comment

