Review: The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter
Publisher/Year: Harlequin Teen April 19th 2011
Genre: YA Fantasy with Greek Mythology!
Series: *nods*
Other Books From Author: Goddess Interrupted (Book 2)
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @aimee_carter

EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

NOW IT’S KATE’S TURN.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom–and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld–and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy–until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she suceeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

IF SHE FAILS…

/shudder/ Didn’t that last line give you the creeps? Though I’m not Professor Greek Mythology, I loved the full fledged drama between the Olympians!! In fact, I flipped over the cover with so much gusto that it earned me some raised eyebrows… And a goodbye kiss to “Rave Reviews Club”, because after all the expectations and excitement, the only word that escaped my lips was: meh.

Don’t get me wrong! The Goddess Test has its fair share of romance, back-stabbing and twists to the Greek myths, but it failed to deliver the roller coaster ride I was paying for. In most parts, Kate is a decent character, yet it’s difficult for her to grow on me. Her life is plain, simple and dependent on her mother to the point where she lacks depth and surprise. She acts out of duty rather than motivations, even in the end when she loves Henry, because she truly does? Or because she’s supposedly Persephone?

Henry is very… what’s the word I’m looking for… Bland? Dull?… I went from thinking,“Ok, maybe he’s just hardcore old school. Total gentleman.” to “AHHH! Henry, you’re supposed to be the King of the Underworld; ACT LIKE IT!” In his defense, Henry is cold yet sweet, but I don’t feel attached to him. As for the relationship, there are some nice ups and downs and tension-powered moments, but not enough development for me to be fully invested. Somehow, their emotions rarely gripped me enough to let their personalities ring true.

With the name of The Goddess Test, it’s not hard expect the seven tests to be a challenges that push one to undiscovered limits since it’s immortality we’re talking about. Kate, however, is completely oblivious when she is undergoing a test, and spends her days being pampered. When I start to realize that she won’t be faced with obstacles to overcome, and only asked to simply “be herself”, the anti-climatic conclusion killed all eagerness in me.

Truthfully speaking, I see a ton of potential in The Goddess Test but the story didn’t carry out the way I expected :( Although this wasn’t the epic tale, it seems like a good set-up for things to come so here I have my eyes peeled for more action and suspense in Goddess Interrupted!

45 thoughts on “Review: The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

  1. THANK YOU. I’ve seen SO many reviews raving over this book, and its sequel (which I did enjoy more than the first, but was still only a 3-star book for me), and I just do not understand them. I liked The Goddess Test but there were so many times where I was completely frustrated with everyone in the book that it really took me out of the story. I wanted Kate to have to do something spectacular to earn her immortality, and was really disappointed when she didn’t. (Here is my review, if you’re interested. You’re a lot nicer about the book than I was. :-P)

    Btw, I love your new header! It’s super cute. :)

    • You’ve just summarized my thoughts! I felt very detached from the book, somehow the characters’ emotions aren’t strong enough to move me to understand them and it felt extremely frustrating!! >.< Kate felt too… Normal, to deserve to be Queen of Underworld :/ Haha, thank you! I spent quite a lot of time thinking about my header and it's nice to see it as a sortof "dream come true" xD

    • Same here, I had it quite high up my TBR but it turned out quite a disappointment :/ The characters can’t seem to ring true to me, but you might want to give it a go because there still are many out there who loved this!

  2. Aww… I was hoping to buy this book. :( guess i’ll just have to check it out in the library first!
    I love your blog’s new banner! It’s pretty :D
    Btw, i won’t be posting on my blog for the nest few weeks because my mum locked me out from the URL because of exams. ;(
    All the best~

    • I borrowed mine from the library, and I returned it with a heavy heart :( Haha, thank you Emily! I love making changes here and there, they make my blog feel more alive ^-^

      Sigh… I know how it feels, my computer was locked for the few weeks I had my exams too! >.< Good luck, and I'm eager to see you back on the blogosphere!

  3. lol…i downloaded the pdf from online and didn’t even bother finishing it. You’re right, it’s incredibly anticlimatic. ugh. i was so disappointed. the book had such a promising storyline, and it’s just waaasted away. ): great review though! (:

    • Hmm, at least there was a major twist at the end that drove up my rating by half a star! But I can’t help feeling regret for the author because her plot really had great potential… Then again, there’s still room for development in the sequels :)

  4. Hey Aliiiiiicia :D

    Yeah, I agree with your comments… Nice to see someone telling the truth once in a while. Ooh the header is cute :D I must have made it in my dreams hmmm >)

    ANYWAY WHOEVER MADE IT WAS PRO :O

    Oookie now get on with Poison Study. Because >)

    • Dude, 你是被骗大的吗?! xD Well, I made the header, what does that say about me hmm? >) OKOK FINE, we should go to Kino some day and buy the series in one sweep! :D

      • EMILY!!!! How could you?!?! Guess I’ll have to hold the stocks manager at gunpoint and threaten him to load up the shelves with Poison Study… >)

      • Kekeke… Or you could always check Bookweb if there’s stock at Taka. :) i really liked Poison Study, though the next few weren’t that good :( happy reading! And Valek is HOTTTT *hyperventilates*

      • You bet I would! ;) But my wallet is um… Not up to task as of this moment T_T HAHAHA, Cookie has been spazzing all over Valek for the past… Century, I should seriously read it!! :P

      • Uh huh. Yea! Oh man… I need to go to Kino one day too! My whole list of books to buy is building up! But my wallet isn’t up to the challenge either ;_;

    • I wasn’t very familiar with Greek myths so there was still a shroud of mystery around who the Council members are but I really would love to have more twists as well…

    • How could anyone NOT be a fan of Greek mythology? :O The retelling wasn’t that bad in this book but if you’re looking for suspense, this won’t be my best recommendation :/

  5. New follower! :)

    I have very much been looking at this book for a while to read and I wanted to buy it. Although everything I’ve heard surrounding it hasn’t been brilliant as your review suggests, I wanted to read it for myself since it sounded so good.

    However, I think I’ll put reading on hold for the moment and use my money to buy something more worthwhile.

    Great review! :)

    • This book has its gaping flaws, which made me roll my eyes quite a bit while reading it… Well, but I won’t write off this book just yet, many have loved this series and you just might be one of them!!

      • Ahhh, that’s a shame, but I think I have to give it a chance. I probably won’t be I want to read it all the same! :)

    • Thank you Reese! Hmm… You can give it a try because it does have a very unique concept and since many others loved this series, you might like it much more than I did! :)

  6. Great review! I’ve seen so many people raving about this book but I had the feeling it was one of those books that doesn’t live up to the hype. And who names a character who’s supposed to be lord of the underworld Henry? Not very intimidating. haha

    New follower :]

    • I didn’t understand many of the rave reviews either, maybe because of my high expectations from all the hype :/ That’s the problem with hyped books, some of them don’t survive the ordeal… Haha, Henry, totally intimidating >)

  7. Wow, super awesome review!! I found my way here through BookBlogs, haha!
    I’ve yet to read a single book in this Greek mythology-filled series, and it’s killing me! I really like how honest you were with this, though! Hmmm, seems like it has an amount of bad sides, but it still seems like a decent read! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!!! <3

    New follower ^_^

    Vivian @ Vivaciously, Vivian

    • Thank you Vivian! Every book is a different experience for each reader, and I’d like my readers to know how I truly feel for a book :) The Goddess Test isn’t an awful book, neither is it super awesome… It sits more on the land of mediocre for me, but you might enjoy it more than I did! :D

  8. Hello WY!! Probably because I haven’t read in a long time… :( but for some reason I really loved this book oops. Like the plot idea is really really good, and there is a lot of twists and stuff (plus the romance was real good). The only problem I had with this was that Kate was too typical as a female protagonist – loves her mum, self-sacrificial, perfect…

    • OH YEAH, THE TWIST AT THE END!! I liked that one, it drove up my rating by half a star ;) I know a lot of people who loved this book too, go get the second book! I heard Kate got much better in Goddess Interrupted >)

  9. I’ve been really hesitant to read this one. On one hand I love greek myths, on the other…I’ve heard it’s pretty iffy but that it does have it’s moments. I think I might just give in one day and read it!

    • I LOVE GREEK MYTHS TOO!! The Goddess Test took on an interesting perspective on *certain* myths /cough HadesandPersephone cough/ yet… It didn’t match up to what I was expecting of it :( If you should read it, I’ll be sure to check out your thoughts on it!

  10. I was actually looking for this at the library last week, but only the second book was there. Maybe that turned out for the best because now I’m not so sure that this sounds like my type of book. Great review!

    Thanks for stopping by our blog and following! Following you back via e-mail. :)

    • If you trust my judgement, I would say that it’ll be better if you proceed on this book with caution, though many of my friends might say otherwise! After my review, quite a few of them came to me to tell me how much they loved the book so… To each her own I guess :) Thanks for the follow-back!

    • Hight five, buddy! I was giving Henry the -.-” face almost throughout the book… His character was dead after Persephone left him and there was basically no sparks in him :( I’m having high hopes for the sequel too!

  11. Aw man, I’m a little bit bummed! I’ve had this one on my TBR list for a while, and I had super high expectations for it. I’ll definitely still give it a read, but now I’m not quite as excited about it. :/ But I’m grateful for the review because it would have been worse to have gone into it full fledged and then be let down, ya know? haha

    • Uh oh, really sorry if I dampened the mood of this book for you! :/ Haha, that’s what happened to me. After all the amazing reviews and strong recommendation by other bloggers, I had really high expectations for The Goddess Test but it just… Didn’t live up to it. If I haven’t been so excited for this book, I probably wouldn’t have suffered such heavy disappointment :(

  12. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Summer Next Top Story

  13. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Summer Next Top Story

  14. Pingback: Pawn by Aimee Carter | BOOK REVIEW | Summer Next Top Story

  15. Pingback: Pawn by Aimee Carter | BOOK REVIEW | Noverly Things

  16. Pingback: 2012 End of the Year Book Survey | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

