Sunday Post: August 5

Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly over at Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. Let us know what books you’ve bought, borrowed or received for review!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Black hand prints appearing on doorways? A devil’s supply of human teeth? This sounds eerily mysterious and emotive… The secretive reviews are getting me all jittery!!!

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

After Divergent, my love for dystopian soared to unimaginable heights and Under the Never Sky was what I needed, perfectly! Oh Perry, you badass sweetheart <3

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

I’m still new to the mermaids and I can’t wait to see what comes out from this one, a fish-out-of-water story! A character interview with Galen got me all swoons…

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

There are mixed reviews for this one but you can’t deny how lovely the cover is! I’m liking the concept of reincarnation, we’ll watch how things turn out.

What books are in YOUR Sunday Post? :)

53 thoughts on “Sunday Post: August 5

  1. Incarnate rocked and I enjoyed what lies beneath. I have Smoke and Bone and Under Never Sky on my wishlist. I hope things are better now..i did miss you posting :( Enjoy all your lovely new books and may this week be brighter. Thanks for being a part of The Sunday Post

    • A friend of mine was disappointed with Incarnate and that dampened my interest for it a little… It’s great to hear that you loved it!! Hope you’ll get to read Smoke and Bone & Under the Never Sky, THEY ARE GOOD. No scratch that, more than good! Aww, that was sweet of you, I missed talking to you guys too… I’ll try to be back as soon as I can!

  2. Really great books, Alicia! I’ve read Of Poseidon (didn’t love it, but it was decent enough that I want to read the sequel), and actually own Incarnate, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Both Under the Never Sky and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are on my to-read lists as well. I hope you end up loving all of them!

    • Thank you, Merin! Hmm… Guess I’ll have to proceed on with Of Poseidon with caution :/ Sigh, sometimes it’s just bad that we have the book but not the time to read it, Incarnate looks promising! I’m enjoyed Under the Never Sky thus far, and I’m genuinely excited for the others as well :)

      • I hope you like it more than me. I just had a lot of little issues throughout, which affected my overall enjoyment. But plenty of people have loved it, so I definitely hope you’re one of them! It’s always disappointing to be looking forward to a book and wind up not really liking it.

    • I haven’t heard an audiobook before… But it must be really interesting, you can read it anytime, anywhere :D I’d love to see how Of Poseidon turns out, the summary is certainly unique!

    • Haha, I have a really bad feeling that I’m already falling head over heels for Under the Never Sky!!! Enjoy you week reading too! Your haul looks impressive :O

  3. Great books, I loved Incarnate and Of Poseidon. Thanks for stopping by and following my blog! I’m following back. (=

  4. Awesome haul! I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which I loved it. It turned out to be so different than anything else I’ve read lately. I haven’t read the others but I really want to. I hope you enjoy all of your books!
    Michelle

    • Don’t think I can stop nodding my head at your comment, even the blurb for Daughter of Smoke and Bone is so special! Well, you have a great haul for the week too, enjoy!

    • Same here, that explains why I was literally jumping up and down when I got hold of it!! Certainly wishing that you’ll get to read these titles, they’re all very promising :)

    • OMG READ UNDER THE NEVER SKY!!! I loved it, one of my favourite dystopian <3 (including Divergent, of course) Haha, the other three have so many rave reviews as well, they're getting my hands really itchy…

  5. I’ve heard so many positive things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but I still have to read it! I really need to get my hands on it! It was the same for me too! Ever since I read Divergent my love of Dystopian took off! Under The Never Sky is a great one! Also, Of Poseidon is a great mermaid book! It puts a unique spin on it and you will love Galen!! Incarnate was an OK book for me, but the cover is just stuning! I I’m loving the picture of all the books with their pretty covers!
    Here’s what I got this week!

    • /nods head solemnly/

      OMG YES YOU MUST READ IT!!!! Daughter of Smoke and Bone have some really heart-pounding moments in it, as far as I’ve sneaked a peek ;) You’ve just summarized how I’m feeling for all 3 books, the covers are favorites of mine too!

    • I would suggest that you don’t wait anymore! It certainly looks awesome :D Aww, Under the Never Sky is one of my favourites this year… But I’m sure you’ll come across many great books too!

  6. I loved Under The Never Sky! I’ve just finished Daughter of Smoke & Bone and loved it as well.

    Here’s my review ofDaughter of Smoke & Bone[spoiler free], if you’re interested. :]

    I’m interested to see what you think about Of Poseidon. I’m not that into mermaids, but this one sounds pretty good.

    -Kait @ YA Vixens

    • HIGH FIVE!! I have a big hunch that Daughter of Smoke and Bone will be a blast! Haha, you can be sure that I’ll stop by for your review, I’ll be bombing you with my review for Of Poseidon! /just joking :P

    • Quack quack, ducks love reading too! See, I’m not so lame :) OMG DIVERGENT <3 IT'S THE LOVE OF MY LIFE /swoons/ Your haul gets me really jealous too, enjoy reading!! You've got lots of books ready for the new month ^-^

  7. I am SO happy to hear that everyone is raving about Under the Never Sky! I am definitely going to have to read it asap! Great stack to get through, add some more to my list too ;) Thanks!

    • YES YOU SHOULD!! Read it :D I’m making a 100% satisfaction guarantee chop here to stamp on all the Under the Never Sky in bookstores… Haha, you’ve got a very envy-worthy pile to get through too, happy reading!

    • HIGH FIVE, BUDDY! I’m loving Of Poseidon so far, Galen is just so cute! ^-^ Do tell me what you think Of Poseidon (pun intended >), and we can spazz together!!!

  8. Oh my pie!
    I just got Of Poseidon. Just started reading the first part, loced it when she smacked into Galen!!! I was giggling and nearly started rolling on the floor haha. Are you going to write a review on it? :DD

    • HAHAHAHA SAME HERE!!! The first chapter got me in a laughing fit– Galen and Emma and so hilarious I can’t even xD Yes, you bet I will!! But it might take some time cuz I’ve got other reviews coming along too ;)

Leave a Comment

