Review: Fracture by Megan Miranda

Fracture by Megan Miranda
Publisher/Year: Walker Childrens January 17th, 2012
Genre: YA Thriller and slightly contemporary
Series: YES PLEASE
Other Books From Author: None– her debut!
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @MeganLMiranda |

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she’s reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy’s motives aren’t quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?

Fracture opened with an explosive chapter, and it’s impossible not to be entranced by the mysterious tale. When Delaney Maxwell falls and traps herself under a newly-frozen lake for 11 minutes, she should be dead. She’s alive. Her doctors say she’ll remain in coma. She wakes up. The cat scans of her damaged brain show that she should have memory loss, a speech impediment and so much more. She’s fine.

The catch: Delaney feels a pull towards the dying.

Megan surprised me with her uncanny ability to pull my heartstrings at her mercy! We follow Delaney’s tough recovery, filled with parents who doubt her sanity, boys who twist her brain wires and strangers who die soon after she predicts. I could embrace Delaney’s frustration at not understanding what happened to her, why her and being helpless against death, because Megan put me into Delaney’s shoes right from the moment she slipped under the ice. In fact, I was so invested in the characters that I feel like punching someone just because Delaney does!

Enter Decker Phillips, heart throb #1 of 2012! His relationship with Delaney is pitch-perfect. Being neighbours since young, their chemistry and emotions boils beneath the surface without them saying a word. Seeing their sweet friendship, their little fights and banter, their highs and lows and in-betweens, and the complicated possibility/impossibility of something more, I feel like screaming at Decker: JUST TELL HER YOU LOVE HER!! Seriously, how more obtuse can this pair get? xD

Meanwhile, Troy Varga is out to complicate matters. He is always in shadows, always lurking, always presenting a dark and enigmatic vibe. A typical bad boy? Oh no, Troy frustrated me so much to the point I almost hated him! He feels the same pull as Delaney, but the traumatic ordeals in his life forces him to take death into his own hands… And he wants Delaney to do the same. Should the dying be given death?

Fracture is an addicting, haunting novel that will send your emotions spiralling down the same twisting thrill-ride as Delaney’s. Trust me when I say that Megan is crafty with her mysteries, they’ll make you hungry for answers!

29 thoughts on “Review: Fracture by Megan Miranda

    • HAHAHA, PEOPLE, READ IT >) Must tell me after you guys have read it, then we can go on book spazzing together!! Gah Charmy, I want to go out for books too (THE MUSCIAL IS OVER </3) but… /looks meaningfully at homework/ Sigh.

  1. I absolutely LOVED this book! Glad you did too! =) Your review is spot on with how I felt about it. I was so frustrated that Decker & Delaney could never just come out and say how they felt about each other. Troy frustrated me to the point where I DID hate him, LoL. Great review Alicia! =)

    P.S.
    Have you read the short story Eleven Minute, which is from Decker’s point-of-view?? It’s amazing!

    • HIGH FIVE, BUDDY!! Decker and Delaney should JUST GET TOGETHER ALREADY xD Troy was an odd character but he created quite a lot of mysteries which I hope will be answered in the sequel! Oh no, I haven’t read Eleven Minutes… Pardon me while I scout for it!

    • I didn’t go out with Fracture in mind, but I stumbled upon it and I’m glad I picked it up! Well, the mysteries and secrets will keep you guessing! ;) I love the cover too- it’s abstract, but cleverly displays the idea of the whole story haha ^-^

  2. This sounds awesome! I’ve been on the fence, but this review pushed me over to the I want to read side. Especially that snippet you put it. Great review!

    • Glad to know that I’ve “brainwashed” you into reading Fracture! You won’t regret it ;) That snippet was my favourite part of Fracture, Decker totally bought me over!!

  3. Delaney died, for 11 minutes she was under freezing water. She survived but now she can sense when someone is going to die. This concept is intriguing. It is more so for me, who hadn’t read the blurb in months. I love mysteries, and this one is a fun and deep story. Great review!

    • Yup, the concept of Frature pulled me in right away as well :D Though mysteries aren’t my best cup of tea, a good dose of them keeps me flipping the pages eagerly!!

  4. I LOVED Fracture and it was interesting to see how she died, came back, and then could sense if someone was going to die. I liked Decker as well:) Great review!

    • Thank you Danna! Delaney’s voice caughte me right away because her experiences are so morbidly fascinating I couldn’t read a page of the book without thinking: What’s this odd pull about? Awww Decker <3 Can't wait for the sequel!

  5. Great Review Alicia! I guess now that I’ve read this I have to go get the book ;)
    Anyways, just wanted to let you know that my blog has moved to emilythebookishworm.blogspot.com
    All the best XD

    • Thank you Emily!! So glad that my review piqued your interest, go get this now!! :D Okie, change noted! Now I’ll have to rebookmark your page…. Looking forward to more posts from you ^-^

    • Eeks my wishing list has been multiplying itself over the past month! I should put my foot down and get some serious book shopping done… Do tell me what you think of Fracture!

  6. I really liked Fracture and the romance. Like you, I was exasperated with their romance. The guy didn’t move from your bed when you were hospitalized…. now, if that doesn’t scream love, I dont know what does.
    I just didn’t like the ending. Why the heck would you go back to the ice?
    I borrowed this book from the library and some idiot had ripped off some pages here and there. Well, actually the freaking pages went missing when something paramount was about to happen… I don’t know how I’m still alive :–

Leave a Comment

