Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
Publisher/Year: Harper Teen January 4th 2011
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy + Angels + Best Love Triangle
Series: Yes!! OR ELSE….
Other Books From Author: Hallowed (Book 2)
Source: Borrowed
Rating: ★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @CynthiaHand |

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

While everyone gushes over Hallowed, I’m still hiding in my bedroom hugging Unearthly with a stupid smile that never wears off. It’s been some time since a book has completely floored me, and Unearthly managed to do just that! The more I got into the story, the more attached I felt to the characters and what happened to them. Simply put, Clara is a part-angel about to fulfill her purpose on Earth involving a boy, a fire and overwhelming sadness… But what is it exactly?

Christian Prescott, the (literal) boy of Clara’s dreams– the boy every girl wants but can’t have. The two spark off in an embarrassing first meeting, and Clara is at loss on how to approach him. As Clara struggles with separating love and lust with her duty, we see Christian shuffling to get close to her too! Love how the ending hints more to them >:)

At the same time, Tucker and Clara come off in a love-hate relationship. With the teasing, blushing and covert glances, a genuine friendship warms around the edges of my heart and slowly heats up into something much stronger, it’s really sweet! Yet Clara feels conflicted: Is Tucker distracting her from her Purpose? Are the visions hinting that Christian is who she should be with? Why does she feel the crushing sadness in her visions of Christian?  Trust me that thousands of questions will flood your mind!

That being said, the mystery of Clara’s purpose is written exceptionally well, there’s no way you can guess. After all the visions, you might think that you can be the next fortune-teller for the ending. Boy, never harbour such thoughts! Yes, the pieces are there, but they fit together in the most unpredictable and surprising way that’ll leave you completely stupefied. When her purpose finally comes, Clara battles with good and evil, love and duty and oh the cliffhangers…

To end off, I must say this: The cover is GORGEOUS. The online pictures do it no justice at all, the silver title literally shines against the purple cover!! Even without the amazing story, you’ll want to get a copy just to touch it, stare at it & worship it like I did! The complex angel relationships, the Dark Wings, the budding romance… You’ll soon realize that my review barely covered the tip of the iceberg!

25 thoughts on “Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. First things first, I am not a fan of angel books. This book is really interesting though. My sis started talking by my ear in how awesome this book is, which I think it is. It seems quite confusing though, but it makes me want to find out what is their Purpose :)

      • Hehe x) I shall make your to-read list even longer by saying that I just read Something Strange and Deadly and it was SO AWESOME <3 (I start to feel that I'm extremely unreliable cos my comments for everything is do awesome haha) but anyway yeah the time period is really awesome hehe x) go check it out! AS YOUR BFF I OFFICIALLY COMMAND YOU TO READ IT NEXT! X)

      • Sel read that too and she (too) says its awesome!!!! GAH but where can I get it? :( Not seeing it in the bookstore and most definitely not in the libraries >.< Lol it's ok I'm ALWAYS in a book spazz too, I command you to find it for me :D

      • YOU HAVEN’T READ IT O: I thought you did! Anyway i REALISED the more I read the more I despair about the lack of a prince charming in our little country :o I WANNA GO PARIS >:)))))) -whines-

        <3

      • GAAAH NO I HAVEN’T :(I want a Prince Charming too!!! These guys are all so perfect… and unfortunately fictional! >.< We'll migrate to Paris the moment we can /pumps fist/

      • YEAH YEAH PARIS (the country) IS AWESOME <3 so are all these guys *le swoooooooooon* i feel like all guys i meet are like….insects!!!! WYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!! why am i not born in paris why am i not born in paris why am i not born in paris. why am i stuck here why am i stuck here. this sucks. why can't i go into some novel why cant i go into some novel why cant i go into some novel.

        oh no i feel so whiny.

      • Charmaine, see the whole point of me learning French? >) WE CAN GO IMPRESS PARIS VICTIMS /cackles/ Oh I’m sure you’ll meet someone good enough to star in your books /waves dismissively

    • HAHAHA hope you’ll get to read it soon! The last in this series is coming out next year… You might want to wait for it and finish them in one go so you won’t be suffering the excruciating wait like me :( Thanks for the follow!

  2. Great review Alicia! I remember having that smile that never wears off when I was reading this =) It’s such an amazing book! Not to burst your bubble but let me warn you that Hallowed doesn’t live up to the first =/ at least it didn’t for me.

    • That’s why we’re great buddies!! I couldn’t stop smiling at Clara’s witty lines or Angela’s extraordinary ideas, or the sweet moments between Clara and the boys!! Uh oh… Guess I’ll have to proceed on to Hallowed with care >.<

    • Yup, finally have the time to! AWWWW CHRISTIAN <3 I feel really heartbroken for him, if only Clara could turn around and look at him and give him a hug… I'll feel really happy :)

Leave a Comment

