2012 End of the Year Book Survey

Jamie from the Perpetual Page Turner is running an end of year book survey, and with sucha  fun way to talk the best of 2012, I knew I had to join! Image Credits to Pure Imgination.

BEST IN BOOKS 2012

1. Best Book You Read In 2012?

After 4 minutes of weighing all the wonderlicious books… I’ll go with Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor! It’s dark, it’s dangerous, it’s beautiful ♥

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Due to my inexplicable enthusiasm for books even before I start them, disappointment hits me harder. The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter and Incarnate by Jodi Meadows weren’t quite what I looked for :/

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?

Black City by Elizabeth Richards — OMG I never expected it to be THAT AMAZING!! The twisted romance, the Darklings, and the cruelty lurking in the deepest part of humanity… Everything down to the minute details felt so real, so raw.

 4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

We’ve got a winner here, folks — Delirium by Lauren Oliver is absolutely and unequivocally my favourite, favourite, favourite book, the one that got me book-talking!

5. Best series you discovered in 2012? 

delirium-cover

Delirium again, Lauren Oliver’s cliffhangers must be the deadliest ever. I NEED NEED NEED Requiem!! Me has been hugging meself in a corner, wondering what on earth happened to Alex

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

From 2012 onwards, Laini Taylor, Lauren Oliver, Veronica Roth and John Green are officially on my auto-buy list. I hereby declare that Alicia will spend her eternal life doting on their every need, YOU KNOW THEY’RE MY FAVE

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

A coming-of-age novel of clones and organ donation? One with deceptive simplicity on a heavy topic? Before this year, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro would never be my cup of tea and now, I love it. There’s even a movie adaptation!!

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

I should be sent for mental checkups right away for being so slow but… The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. FINALLY!! :DDD I was perched at the edge of my seat for the entire time /strikes pose

9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:

Probably The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith on stormy days.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

11. Most memorable character in 2012? 

Karou of Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (pardon the obvious bias heh)! I love Karou — her wicked humour, her badassism, and her weaknesses that she tried so hard to keep secret.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern If you’ve read anything as deliciously beautiful, PLEASE, AIRMAIL ME.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012? 

Fracture by Megan Miranda reminded me of all the simplest things in life that I took for granted. It had me complicating all sorts of philosophical questions that will make my teachers proud. heh.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. HONESTLY. My life was a lie.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?

“The trouble is, sometimes words are like arrows. Once you shoot them, there’s no going back.”
     ― Jess Rothenberg, The Catastrophic History of You and Me

“Have you ever asked yourself, do monsters make war, or does war make monsters?”
     ― Laini Taylor, Daughter of Smoke & Bone

ANDANDAND THIS ONE:

“It never occurred to me that our lives, until then so closely interwoven, could unravel and separate over a thing like that. But the fact was, I suppose, there were powerful tides tugging us apart by then, and it only needed something like that to finish the task. If we’d understood that back then-who knows?-maybe we’d have kept a tighter hold of one another.” 
― Kazuo Ishiguro, Never Let Me Go

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?

Shortest: The Super Spud Trilogy, Michael Diack (262 pages)

Longest: Starcrossed, Josephine Angelini (514 pages)

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It?

The endings to Delirium and Pandemonium were like ASDFGHJKL NOT THIS WAY LAUREN OLIVER NO FREAK AHH <inserts me flapping my arms like a chicken>

<deletes image because no one has to see that>

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

I loved Kate and Dee’s friendship in Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, especially the part when Dee blackmailed Daemon to hang out with Kate! /chuckles/

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously

Most books I’ve read in 2012 are debuts, so does reading the sequel count? Hallowed by Cynthia Hand is a smooth transition in the story, looking forward to Boundless!

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

WOW HMM…

Black City — Sel from Bookcase to Heaven ♥

Starcrossed — All my friends who have been spazzing over it (Nat, Hongjin, Jiayi, Cookie…) You guys are topping Awesome Chart 2012!

LOOKING AHEAD…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2012 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2013? 

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Sorry Shiying!! I PROMISE SWEAR CROSS MY HEART I WILL READ IT OKAY? It must be the fault in my stars… :(

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2013?

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2013?

This year has been busy + busy + more busy and I’ve neglected this blog for months at a time so for next year, I aim to post regularly. Bear with me! :)

50 thoughts on “2012 End of the Year Book Survey

  1. I totally agree with you on Delirium okay. It is one of the most amazing dystopian series I ever read.(Not that I read much). And I can’t believe u just realised The Hunger Games was simply a thriller book. Quite romantic but also cruel. U so have to finish the series okay?

    • Delirium was my 2nd dystopian (after Hunger Games) and argh, you already know how much I love it :D I know, I know, Catching Fire has been sitting forlornly on my shelf, time to give it much-deserved love! /hugs book

  2. ALICIAAAA. <3 I've missed your blog posts so freaking much! AND I LOVE THE NEW HOLIDAY DESIGN. It's so adorable. Anyway, I'm so glad you did this post! I still *desperately* need to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone, TfioS, and Delirium. And don't worry, I was really late in the game for Hunger Games as well. Sadly, it wasn't the BEST BOOK ever for me. Black City sounds wonderful! And JUST ONE DAY. OHMYGUUUURD. I'm so excited for that book too, after finishing Where She Went recently.

    Lovely post, Alicia. I hope to see you around more in 2013! :D

    • I missed you guys A LOT A LOT too! Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Delirium are SO GOOD I CAN EAT THEM FOR MY MEALS (Y) Still have The Fault in our Stars on my shelf though, going to slot it into my reading schedule soon! Hungers Games was my first dystopian and it had me hooked so bad. Black City was amazing and YES I’M COUNTING DOWN TO JUST ONE DAY!! Borrowed If I Stay by Gayle Forman to satisfy myself for the time being >:)

  3. Amazing! You’ve had quite a year on the literary end of things! And you’ve given me a few new books to read. I’m going to try to be get busy for 2013, I better get reading…

    • I believe you’ve read as many books this year! Though I won’t deny that the above are all drool-worthy choices ;) HEY ME TOO, I need a A2 size planner stuck on my wall to remind me of all the posts I need to write and books I have to read– or I’m going to be far from my reading goals!

  4. Alicia!! You’re finally back– with a great post as always :) Love your new blog design, it’s so cute and sweet! Is it for Christmas?

    Anyway, from your answers, I have deduced that I must read (a) Daughter Of Smoke and Bone, (b) Delirium and (c) Just One Day! I have The Fault in our Stars unread as well, sad :(

    • Aww thanks Kate! I’m officially back for good! Busy typing out reviews for all the books I’ve read this blog break… Phew /wipes sweat/ Yup! It was initially for Christmas but I’m thinking that I love it so much that I might decide to keep it this way :)

      OMO LET’S READ JUST ONE DAY AND THE FAULT IN OUR STARS TOGETHER! /pumps fist/

      • Good luck with writing all those reviews, I can’t wait to read them :) I’m very tempted to take a break too, it might do me some good to have a rest from the busy blogging!

        YAY You’re keeping this design :D I love it, it’s soooo cute!! And I see that you’ve updated your 2013 Challenges page, we’ll have lots of reading to do in the next year ;)

      • Gaah don’t mention those reviews, I can barely remember the characters of books I’ve read months ago >:( A blog break will be nice, Kate, then you can start anew feeling refreshed! :D

        CHEERS TO OUR 2013 READING LIFE (Y)

      • Aish, that’s what happens too so I’ll try to write reviews, or at least keep point forms, once I finish a book. OH DEAR ME, you don’t know how much I wish to take a break but I think I’ll hold on a while more for the new year before deciding if I can handle things…

      • Thank you! I’m not exactly tired out or frustrated or anything, just being lazy and loving a good break (:

  5. Hi Alicia, thanks for following me on my blog. Your blog is really cool, and you have good taste on books~ ^^ Although, I enjoyed Incarnate thoroughly….did you not like it?
    Anyway, thanks again for the follow! :]

    • Thank you for dropping by and following back! Hmm… I would say I harboured too high expectations for Incarnate, and maybe because I rush-read it in a day, the story wasn’t as good as I hoped :( We’ll discuss more when I arrange my thoughts into a review!

  6. I’m looking forward to that Gayle Forman book too – I so need to get to it! I also loved Daughter of Smoke & Bone, one of my favorite reads of the year. Here’s to another fun year of blogging :)

    • Shoutout to Gayle Forman: We’ll all be waiting eagerly for your books!! :D Hunger Games kindof changed my entire perspective of YA fiction so yes, I adore it too, so do many many many others!

  7. I don’t really get the difference between some of the questions here but whatever xD OMG my favourite series this year is THG! And YES I’m absolutely looking forward to Requiem too!(; hope it won’t be a disappointment like some books this year! :/

    • Yeah some of the questions are very close– explains my repeated and repeated bias over certain books ;) AWW MAN THG IS LIKE AWESOMESAUCE OF THE AWESOMEFOOD ON THE AWESOMEPLATE HAHA :D Requiem!! With Lauren Oliver’s writing, doubt it would be a disappointment though… Which books disappointed you? O_O

  8. You have made me SO excited for Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I promise you I’ll be reading it next year. I do, I will, OK? Oh, TSPoLaFs cover is amazing, I love it. It achieved the story with minimal colours– perfect!

    Consistency and balance would be a great thing to accomplish in 2013 and I’d definitely like to get into a good routine yet at the same time make sure it remains FUN. The main thing for me though is enjoying it! I haven’t felt as enthusiastic towards blogging and reading recently and I just want to get that spark back like I had when I first started out.

    • TRACY!! You’ve just summarized my entire survey perfectly :D I fell in love with the TSPoLaFS cover the moment I saw it, and I say the picture does the hardcover book no justice!!

      I’d LOVE to have consistency and balance, and am trying to achieve that, but a busy school life will be inevitable so I’ll try my best and find my pace :) Thank you for dropping by and yes, that spark /does lame twinkies/ heh

    • WHAT CHARMYYYY. I thought we agreed Vincent was mine!! You and Cookie 两个花心大罗卜can fight over Valek for all I care >:( MEANWHILE… Why not wait patiently for my next post that will prove my undying loyalty to Vincent /evil laughter/

      • Well le me is 花心大萝卜 so I get both hurhur >) I miss your blog!!! AND I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOUR BLOG POST ON VINCENT AHHHH < it's like killing me ahhhhhh.

  9. Totally second everything you said about Delirium! I just read the first book two days ago and why have I not read it before? It totally went way over my expectations and just blew me out of the water.

    • Exactly how I felt when I finished Delirium. You could say I turned vegetable that day, all I could do was stare dazedly at the book, too dumbstruck to speak! I had no expectations at all so yeah, it kindof was a magnitude 10 earthquake for me ;)

    • I loved doing this survey (albeit frustrating when I feel like answering every single book I’ve read into a question) and it helped me reflect on my – first – blogging year with books! :) Leave me the links when you complete the survey!

  10. Stumbled across your link via Pure Imagination’s link-up — great answers! I share your love for the Delirium series and I cannot WAIT for Requiem! I just picked up Days of Blood & Starlight from the library … SO excited to read the second installment in the series!

    • YAY!! /claps hands/ Another Delirium-lover! :D I’ve been waiting all year for Requiem, there’s just this nagging feeling in me telling me to JUST ACCIO THE BOOK HERE ALREADY. I’ve been snooping around bookstores and libraries for Days of Blood and Starlight but… Hopefully better luck next time :P

  11. Pingback: Sunday Post: December 30 | Book a World

  12. Hey ho :D I spy with my little eye… MY NAME IN A POST!! WAHAHA~ ^^ I missed spamming every post with riddikulus comments, you should post more so I can comment more x) I see you’ve listened to my (awesome) advice and changed the tag line back (well done you) xD Look forward to having more posts to comment >) Have a great New Year (or as great as can be without me around to entertain you :P)

    • GOSH YOU ARE. INCORRIGIBLE. xD Nuh uh, just changed it to something else again ha :P I’m trying my best to cook up reviews and memes and random stuff but that just earned me a scolding for sitting in front of the com for too long (oops!) I’M GONNA HAVE AN AWESOME NEW YEAR (without you) and maybe miss you in the new year…

  13. EEEEEEEEK JUST ONE DAYYYYYY :D I want that book so bad because it has my favourite Shakespeare play inside! Plus, the previous Gayle Forman books were said to be achingly sad and I didn’t dare to read it. JOD sounds like it might have HEA, so I’m getting my paws on it the moment it comes out ;)

    P.S. I like how my name looks up there >:)

    • OMO I KNOW RIGHT.

      Excuse me.

      I think I’ve just melted into a puddle of goo.

      We can make a mad dash for JOD together! Hmm… Your favourite Shakespeare Play? Seliet & Hotguymeo? xD Aww I still have to thank you for recommending Black City, IT WAS AWESOME <3

  14. Glad you have your priorities straight >) And I’m super looking forward to Boundless too SQUEE!!! <3 Since Unearthly I've fallen in love with Christian, and Hallowed just gets better! Argh seeing all the cool books in 2012 here makes my hands itch for another one, and so the highly esteemed moi is going to enter your giveaway xD I WANNA GET DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT. REALLY WANT TO :DDDDDDDDDDD

    • In case you haven’t realize, I ALWAYS have my priorities straight ;) OMG WE SHOULD HAVE A MAJOR UNEARHTLY PARTY /cues Choco Latte/ and be the hyper minority who love Christian!!

      … Highly esteemed you don’t look esteem AT ALL, just saying. Haha, thanks for joining and um, good luck?

  15. Pingback: Sunday Post: December 30 | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

