Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
Publisher/Year: HarperCollins January 3rd 2012
Genre: YA Dystopian and a little sci-fi
Series: YES, and a totally hot one at that
Other Books From Author: No
Source: Borrowed
Rating★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads | @V_Rossibooks |

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

She looked up. “A world of nevers under a never sky.”

Aria is a Dweller who lives in the Reverie, where everyone lives in safe, virtual realms.

Perry is a Savage, who lives on the Outside, where people fall back into the most primitive way of living.

After being thrown out of Reverie for a crime she didn’t commit, Aria finds herself in The Death Shop on the Outside without any trace of her Mother. Meanwhile, Perry leaves his tribe in search for his nephew, who was kidnapped by the Dwellers. They need each other’s help in order to save a person they love, but will two people that cannot be more different, put aside their differences?

YES, PLEASE!

From holding each other at knife-point to fighting cannibals alongside, Under the Never Sky has one of the best love stories I’ve had the joy of discovering. Because she’s a Dweller, Perry hated her; Because he’s a Savage, Aria feared him; But you know, that’s always how love blossoms. It was the kind of sweet, awkward and conflicting that began with prejudice and fear and animosity, which morphs into a beautiful creation of mutual respect, trust, and strength. The entire time felt like a magician’s cloth– slowly, slowly lifted as you wait with bated breaths, till the final jerk unveiled the treasure beneath. Swoon.

And Roar, oh Roar. He should be crowned King of Stand-out Characters or something. Roar noticed the initial tension between his best friend, Perry, and Aria, so being the charming flirt that he is, Roar set out making things right with his own suave ways.  There were moments which reminded me vividly of the well-planned-jealousy-payback in TV drama haha!

Admittedly, the first pages were tough. Rossi plunges us right into Aria’s world with few explanations. We have Realms, Smarteyes, Outsiders, Aether, Dwellers, Scire, and… wait what?! But once you get the hang of things, there’s no way you can resist the pure brilliance of Under The Never Sky. You’ll realize that I mentioned nothing of the adventures because really, it’s for you to find out.

30 thoughts on “Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

    • Hope that gave you a little push in the right direction! As much as I loved the budding romance in Under The Never Sky, there really is MUCH MORE to it– a corrupted government, a lost mother and child, the wild and pssssst -sortof spoiler- the Savages have awesome abilities :D SO READ IT SOON I know you’ll love it!

  1. This book is magical. Two people from vastly different environments are brought together in a one-in-a-million chance and end up somewhat like starcrossed lovers. It wrenched my heart, twisted it around, only when I finished reading that I was able to get it back together. Thanks for the review!

    • Love how you put it! Aria and Perry are so different from each other it anguishes me to see all the drama between them. Not that I’m complaining ;) I like how that ending felt concluded but still drew me towards the sequel, thank you for dropping by.

  2. LOVELY REVIEW, ALICIA!! Aria and Perry are the cutest couple out in the wild (which isn’t exactly the cutest place but whatever) but the ship names are terrible! Oh and, I like Roar.

    WHO AM I KIDDING.

    I LOVE HIM TO PIECES. Hope he’ll find Liv! I’m actually pawing for the Roar and Liv novella right now (;

    • THANK YOU KATE, you’ve been more then awesome ;) Aria and Perry’s relationship is something very special to me, especially in this convoluted space of YA romance! Roar is officially a favourite character of mine. And uhh…

      WAIT WHAT?! THERE’S A NOVELLA ON ROAR AND LIV?! THAT’S IT.

  3. I’m always trying to step out of my comfort zone and this was one of the books I was planning to read. I love books that manage to surprise me – books that totally blow me away. Great review Alicia and I’ll be checking this one out soon!

    • So I assume dystopian is not your usual? To be honest, I started Under The Never Sky feeling quite lost and frustrated because of all the unexplained futuristic terms but the plotline and characters are so well-crafted I’m sure you’ll love it :)

  4. I’ve been hearing nothing but good things about this but every time I see it at the store I never buy it! Glad you liked it, your review definitely makes me more curious! I’ll have to read it sometime soon. Awesome review and thanks for stopping by my blog! :)

    • That happens to me quite a lot– walking in a bookstore with a long list of books in hand yet I walk out empty-handed!! I’m glad that my review justified your need to read it, because really, you should.

    • With all the reviews that sing high praises for Under The Never Sky, there’s no way you can not read it! Hope you’ll read it soon and enjoy every moment of the rich story :)

    • I didn’t love the dropping me in the deep end at first, since I had to always refer back to clarify certain terms BUT! I started to enjoy the discover process and having your own interpretations are… fabulous /inserts fireworks/

  5. I’ve been putting this book on hold. I know right. WHAT HAVE I DONE? Your review makes every single detail delicious and I can’t wait to meet the legendary Roar. I like that it’s a friendship between him and Aria, because I’m kinda tired of love triangles for now. Great review!

    • OH YES. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE. When I got my eager paws on UTNS, I read it immediately for good measure! I cross my heart and promise you’ll love Roar (really, who doesn’t?) and no worries of love triangle at all ;)

    • ME TOO. And adore would be like an understatement ;) He’s unlike the usual male leads, and still able to capture my attention. Eee I need TTEN NOWWWW!! Oh Carina, how you torture me!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Summer Next Top Story

  7. Pingback: Under the Never Sky – a Review | J. Keller Ford ~ Author

  8. Oh wow, I’ve read the book but never saw the book trailer. It’s amazing! I loved this book so much!!! I think I gave it 5/5 stars because I really couldn’t find anything I didn’t like about it. Happy reading :) Thanks for stopping by my STS.

    • Trailers are the best part of my book digging/prowling/scouting haha, I think this trailer captured some of the very essence of the story! I wanted to give it 5/5 but uhh the initial parts were tough to pull through. Anyways, STILL LOVED IT <3 Thanks for dropping by, Megan!

  9. Pingback: Top Ten…ERR SIX Best Sequels Ever | Summer Next Top Story

  10. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

