Bout of Books Read-a-Thon 6.0

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.
Since the read-a-thon starts tomorrow, I figured it’ll be great to make a goal post for updates (think: New Year Resolution “Stay Organized!”)

Books to Read

Saving June (125 pages)
What’s Left of Me  (343 pages)

Updates

Monday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 125 (Just finished Saving June and I LUUURVE IT)
Total number of pages I’ve read: 125
Mini challenge: Thank you The Book Barbies!

You have made a scientific discovery (who knew you were so good at science?!) on how to bring fictional characters to life. The problem? The method still isn’t *perfect,* so you can only bring two people to life, and they must return to the land of fiction in 30 days. Who will you choose as your bestie and your love interest for that one splendid month? (Feel free to add pictures if you like, but they are not required.)

Best Friend: Emma from Of Poseidon by Anna Banks. She’s absolutely hilarious and really, what’s not to like about a mermaid princess? She can swim across the Pacific and back in a couple of hours (imagine all the pretty souvenirs!!), or we can always go swimming with dolphins! Splash splash. And hey, Emma is missing a human friend!

Boyfriend: Oh gosh, this is murderous! At this moment, maybe Jake from Saving June by Hannah Harrington. I’m INFATUATED with this guy. 3 reasons. One, he’s a rattling music guru with a mind of his own. Two, he’s awfully sweet in his silent ways, like a Secret Overboard Tipper. Three, (probably invalid) he’s so cute when being a total jerk!! :D

Tuesday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 20
Total number of pages I’ve read: 145
EEP!! That’s terrible progress. And incriminating evidence of me being a world-class procrastinator :( I’m awfully sorry for not being to complete any challenges– they look so pretty and coverly and fun!

Wednesday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 59
Total number of pages I’ve read: 204
Mini challenge: Hugs to Booking In Heels!

Turn to page 48 of your current book, or 48% if you’re using an e-reader. Take the first complete sentence on that page and copy it. Now you’re going to continue the story! Ignoring the real plot or anything else you know about that book, add four new sentences of your very own. You can morph the plot completely, kill everybody off or go off on a huge tangent – anything goes!

First line of What’s Left Of Me page 48: <You don’t understand, Addie> I said.

And… Not sure what overtook me when I typed this but here goes:

<You don’t understand, Addie> I said. <I’d rather end myself than admit.>
Addie stared at me, really stared at me, as though I am an insect-looking-human-eating freak. Or worse, a murderer.
Quietly, she took my hand and whispered,”Me, Eva, can I be a reason for you to live?”

Thursday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 86
Total number of pages I’ve read: 204

Friday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 73
Total number of pages I’ve read: 277

Saturday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 104
Total number of pages I’ve read: 381

Sunday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 87
Total number of pages I’ve read: 468

Final Words

YAY!! For the first time, I’ve completed my goals for a read-a-thon! I don’t care how puny that little goal is, that’s worth celebration :D Saving June and What’s Left Of Me were 2 very different books and they each have a very special place in my Heart of Books.

Areas For Improvement: In the first few days, I considered myself an active participant, what with all the stalking of #boutofbook tweets and participating in most challenges. But as the days go, you can tell (obviously) that I did not update as often and there was barely any time for challenges. THEREFORE, if I were to join in Bout of Books 7.0, and I hopefully will, I’ll focus on reading more books, interacting more actively with the participants and yes! Join in the challenges!

With that, I’ll conclude Bout of Books read-a-thon 6.0 with a big big bow and big big smile/bows with a flourish/

27 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-a-Thon 6.0

    • Mmhm, I told myself to stand on realism’s side this time since I’ll have school and all going on >.< These are very high on my TBR too and I hope to finish them! Thank you for dropping by :)

  1. Pingback: #BoutofBooks 6.0 Goals and Updates « Reading 'En Vogue'

  2. Pingback: Review: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks | Book a World

  3. Oooh, nice picks for your literary friend/love muffin! I still haven’t read ‘Of Poseidon’ but it’s way up there on my wishlist and now I want to read it even MORE. Nice going… ;)

    I’ve been pretty low on the page count the past couple of days as well, mostly because I’ve spent more of the day blog hopping and tweeting ABOUT Bout of Books than I have with my nose IN a book. Ooooops.

    Anyway, happy reading for day 3!
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl

    • Oh hohoho love muffins! Of Poseidon was AMAZING, hope you are able to read it very very soon :) Since I joined this read-a-thon, I’ve been pushing myself to read during short breaks, like on the bus, before dinner and right now… I should start interacting on Twitter more, at least if time zones let me xD Happy reading to you too, Ellie!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Summer Next Top Story

  5. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Noverly Things

  6. Pingback: Review: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

