Review: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks
Publisher/Year: Macmillan May 22nd 2012
Genre: YA Fantasy with a dash of Mythology!
Series: First book.
Other Books From Author: Of Triton (Book 2), Degrees of Wrong
Source: Borrowed
Rating
Amazon | Goodreads | @ByAnnaBanks |

Galen is the prince of the Syrena, sent to land to find a girl he’s heard can communicate with fish. Emma is on vacation at the beach. When she runs into Galen — literally, ouch! — both teens sense a connection. But it will take several encounters, including a deadly one with a shark, for Galen to be convinced of Emma’s gifts. Now, if he can only convince Emma that she holds the key to his kingdom . . .

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks is the pure perfection of mermaid… err, syrena books, and I LOVED IT! I loved every single page and knew it would be amazing from the very start. In fact, I should be snuggling with it to sleep. Only that may not be the most comfortable.

So let’s meet Emma with a bang. A literal one, because Emma knocks headfirst into the chest of one impossibly fine specimen, Galen the Syrenian Prince. They have the most hilarious chemistry you can ever find and I had this stupid grin on the whole time. Yay to Cheshire Cat Me!

After Emma experiences a frightening shark attack at the beach, she finds out that she can breathe underwater and communicate with the sea creatures– looks like Galen and her are much more alike than we imagine. Galen moves to attend her high school for “research”, more like to convince her that she’s not just human but she refuses to believe. Where did she get her Syrena descent from? Why hasn’t anyone noticed? Why does she not even like fish?! Emma’s true identity clothes in mystery and the twists sustain for the book’s entirety. While it’s clear she’s not human, there’s still SO MUCH MORE for us to learn.

Emma; She’s my BFF in Bout-of-Books challenge. Emma’s not-so-sweet temper makes me sigh when she’s shy about her best qualities and laugh my head off when she throws Galen’s sister through hurricane-proof glass. Her voice is clear, natural and witty, and very infectious. Then there’s Galen. Galen, Galen, Galen. I LOVE HIM! He has this aura of strength and loyalty that I fall for. Galen and Emma’s relationship is just OMG, I want them together! Emma is feisty, stubborn, and straight-forward and Galen is the same way… which equals a lot of (interesting) disagreements >:D

Pick this up, you’ll witness epic awesomeness coming in kilotons.

30 thoughts on “Review: Of Poseidon by Anna Banks

  1. At first, I thought that Of Poseidon was purely a Percy Jackson type of book. But it is totally NOT. It has a touch of romance in it. Quite nice to read, with the humour between the two which is unbelievably funny.

    • Yikes! I haven’t read Percy Jackson /hides face/

      /pops out again/

      You know, I loved Galen and Emma, can’t wait to uncover more secrets in Of Triton and yes! The humour and hotness :D

    • OF POSEIDON is my first mermaid book and it’s obvious that it won’t be my last ;) Galen and Emma are the EPITOME of sweet and cute and hot, it’s going to be just the book for you, Mel!

  2. Goodness. Here’s me running off with Anna Banks! And Emma. And Galen. And Rayna. And Toraf. And JUST ABOUT ALL THE CHARACTERS WHOOP! I didn’t love LOVE this one but your review had me sold. I should consider the possibility of rereading this very seriously *poses serious face*

    • Haha, you WISH. Running off with Galen is capital crime. Because he’s mine >:D YAY!! Kate, you sure know how to make my day, go reread OF POSEIDON, how could you have not liked it?! I bet you skipped 99% of it that’s why. /laughs at serious face/ :D

      • Nonsense! I have long declared Galen as Kate Property so back off! *ROAR* It’s not that I don’t like it, just don’t feel that strong connection or major love spazz coming out from me. But I love Galen! If that isn’t already obvious enough… And my serious face isn’t funny!! *punches*

      • Not scary /derp/

        Haha, I know that feeling, I get it sometimes too. It’s not that the book isn’t good, we just have a problem with loving every book in the world :) ANYWAY, GALEN IS DISAPPOINT. BYE.

  3. OMG! Loved this book! <3 Emma & Galen are definitely one of my favorite couples and talk about a swoon-worthy guy. Oh, and I'm still freaking out about that ending! Mindblowing! Great review Alicia!

    • 100% agree plus guarantee chop! Galen and Emma share the kind of chemistry that keeps me gripped to the pages… Eee, I need need need to find out more about Emma’s heritage!!

      • No amount of aww-ing is enough to explain my feelings for Emma and Galen, sometimes I just have that childish urge to squish their cheeks together /smooch!/

        Yes, I saw the cover. And I kindof fainted. SO HOT.

  4. SQUEE. I still really need to pick this book up, I’ve been wanting to for ages! SO WHY HAVEN’T I. UGH. I love mermaid stories, and Emma and Galen just sound like a match made in heaven! I can’t wait to meet Galen. <33 Lovely review, Alicia!!

    • Jen! How could you!! /brandishes OF POSEIDON/ This is like, gold! I read this super hot character interview with Galen, and that’s when I know I HAVE to meet this guy ;)

  5. OMG, this review made me laugh so hard. Emma’s character must be totally fun considering she throws her love interest’s sister out hurricane proof windows. I’m adding this to my TBR :)

    • I was laughing myself when recalling these scenes to write the review! xD Emma’s character is absolutely entertaining, so are all the other characters, you can’t miss it! Not ever!!!

    • Mermaid books are new to me, recommend some, Janita! I’m having a terrible headache with settling my TBR pile and can’t decide which book to start either :/ BUUUT!! You won’t regret Of Poseidon. Really.

      • Ok that’s awesome! I’ve heard some great reviews for Monstrous Beauty (haven’t read it, but plan on it). I liked Ingo, by Helen Dunmore. It’s a series. I didn’t get through it (on my TBR Pile) but the first book is beautiful. Other than that, I haven’t read that many! There needs to be more! I think my love of them stem from The Little Mermaid (I *love* Disney so much).

      • There have been many glowing reviews for Monstrous Beauty and Ingo’s cover is so beautiful!! So yup, added them to my TBR list :) I loved watching Disney when I was younger too, and I still run off to the theaters for their new releases!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Summer Next Top Story

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post: January 13 | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

