top ten books i had to buy but i still sitting on my shelf unread

tttTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by the awesome people over at The Broke and the Bookish.

INSURGENT BY VERONICA ROTH

If you know me, then you know how much I loved Divergent but argh!! I can’t explain the fear of starting sequels to a series I loved– What if it doesn’t live up to the first? *bites nails*

 

THE GIRL IN THE STEEL CORSET BY KADY CROSS

 Just last year when The Girl in the Clockwork Collar came out, I begged and begged Mom to get the series for my birthday and till today, it’s plastic wrap is unopened!!

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS BY JOHN GREEN

I probably deserve a bludgeon to the head because yes, my shiny hardcover copy of The Fault in Our Stars with the yellow #1 New York Times Bestseller sticker remains unread.

SHIVER BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER

Great things I’ve heard about Maggie Stiefvater prompted me to buy Shiver, without knowing the story!! I was really excited to get it at that moment, but now I’m not so sure…

EVERNEATH BY BRODI ASHTON

I have friends who cried after reading this, who would fangirl at the sight of the red and black wispy smokes. And now, I NEED TO GET READING. LIKE. THIS NANOSECOND.

CINDER BY MARISSA MEYER

I really wanted to read this last year but life got busy and gaah look at that terrifying reading pile. Scarlet’s out so whoop, I’ll be waiting eagerly to begin this… Fairytale retelling?

DREAMLESS BY JOSEPHINE ANGELINI

HELEN. LUCAS. AHH. SWOON. WHY IS THIS EVEN ON THE LIST. IT SHOULD BE THE TOP BOOKS IN ALICIA’S LIFETIME OR SOMETHING. -begins deranged blabber-

ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS BY STEPHAINE PERKINS

Anna and St. Clair and PleaseLetMeGoPARIS!! So many people are telling me to read this, I’m ready for the drama and OMGs and and all that jazz.

THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

“What if Cinderella was an assassin and went to the ball not to dance with the prince, but to kill him?” Now there’s NO EXCUSE to why I haven’t read this!

THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER BY MICHELLE HODKINS

Okay sorry. I cheat. I’ve read part of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer before I dropped it so it’s still… Unread right? :D AYE, THE MYSTERY. IT’S KILLING ME. (no pun intended)

So tell me, which book on the list have you read/ not read but really want to? Which books should I READ RIGHT NOW?

48 thoughts on “top ten books i had to buy but i still sitting on my shelf unread

  1. What a great list of books. I have a lot that I HAD to have that I still haven’t had time to read yet either. Shiver was just alright to me and I adored Cinder. I haven’t heard of Throne of Glass, but it sounds fantastic – going to look that up. Jaclyn @ JC’s Book Haven

  2. HAHAHAHA yes OMG feel the guilt piercing you! —> \(*o*)/ haha I have some I haven’t read too oops :p but Hmpf I still haven’t gotten my throne of glass :( well Jiayou in reading them all!(;

  3. Cinder is on my list, as well! I’m so excited to read it and yet I can’t bring myself to pick it up! Insurgent was amazing in my opinion, but I totally understand that fear of not reading it! I’m having the same problem with the sequel to Everneath!

  4. I loved EVERNEATH & CINDER, so definitely start those soon! INSURGENT was on my list too, and I’m definitely looking forward to reading THRONE OF GLASS. I also liked THE FAULT IN OUR STARS, since it made me cry, though I admit it was a bit predictable.

    Great choices :D
    ~ Rachael-Madison @ Moosubi Reviews!

  5. Well, I have a rather large pile of books sitting in my to-read pile as it was my birthday not long ago, and I love my books, so I got quite a few, I’m currently reading The Diary Of A Young Girl by Anne Frank, it’s amazing! You should definitely read it! But, currently sitting in my to-read pile are, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, Pitch Perfect by Mickey Rampkin, Beautiful Creatures by someone, Matched by Ellie Condle, Saving Alaska and The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, the first Vampire Diaries novel by someone, L.A Candy (entire series boxset) by Lauren Conrad and I think that’s it! But definitely read the diary of a young girl, there’s another book i loved, forgotten, i forget who the author is but that’s fabulous. have you read the maze runner? I’d like to read it, but haven’t been able to find it anywhere.

  6. I’ve already read Cinder and Everneath, both of them are okay… :)
    I have not bought any physical books for about a couple of years just so I won’t see a pile of unread books lying around. For some reason, seeing the books physically gives me an anxiety attack!

  7. I have The Girl in the Steel Corset and Throne of Glass collect dust on my Kindle shelf. I hope you can get through them all! And thanks for stopping by my blog :)

  8. I loved Cinder and The Fault In Our Stars! Both are amazing books. Everneath was pretty good, but I didn’t care much for Throne Of Glass – the heroine was just a little too perfect. I haven’t read Insurgent yet, either . . . sadly. :(

  9. There are some amazing books there! I loved Cinder and Anna and the French Kiss. I bought Insurgent a couple months ago and still haven’t gotten around to it; I definitely need to reread Divergent before trying to read it.

  10. You should read Cinder RIGHT NOW! Ditto for the Fault in Our Stars and the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer :)
    The rest of your books are on my to-read list/to-buy list (I don’t have them, but I want to!)

  11. I bought Cinder not to long ago, so couldn’t put on my list just yet. My TBR pile is too big to justify it being ‘unread’ just yet. I do vow to read it as soon as physically possible though.

  12. I have an enormous to-read pile and like you there’s some fab books there waiting for me, Shiver is one of them, I would also love to read Divergent, but I haven’t bought it yet as I have so many books waiting!! Great post!!

  13. I’ve read Insurgent, Cinder and Throne of Glass. I enjoyed them all, but I’d recommend Cinder. I loved Cinder, and have read the sequel Scarlet which I loved even more (if that’s physically possible). Definitely a favourite series for me.
    I have Everneath and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer to read on my shelf as well. Mind you, I have a lot of unread books. :(

    My Top Ten post

    Sabina @ Delirious About Books

  14. Ohhh Maggie Stiefvater! I read The Raven Boys and absolutely adored it. I haven’t read any other books by her, but I hope you enjoy the Shiver Trilogy! And I do hope you enjoy TFioS! Great list Alicia!

  15. Shiver and Anna and the French Kiss were OK reads for me, and I liked Everneath and the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer well enough, but Cinder is one of my favorite books! I highly recommend reading that one! I didn’t know if I would like all the sci-fi elements but everything just worked together really well!

  16. You are not completely alone. I have not read Everneath, and I just read Shiver and Cinder a few months ago. I seriously think you really should read The Fault in Our Stars and Anna and the French Kiss.
    Thanks for stopping by!
    Deidra @ Simply Books.

  17. Everneath is on my list, too. I can’t believe I haven’t read that one yet. Cinder is amazing! And Anna and the French Kiss! So good. I would read them as soon as possible. :)

  18. THIS IS THE BEST LIST. Because SO MANY of these are books that I completely and absolutely adore (Insurgent, The Fault in Our Stars, Everneath, Cinder, Anna, Throne of Glass, Mara Dyer). Looks like you have lots and lots of good reading time ahead of you!! I’m with you on Dreamless… I really, really enjoyed Starcrossed so I need to get on the rest of the series! And aaah, The Girl in the Steel Corset was really not for me but I know that so many people love the series so hopefully you will too :) Happy reading and thanks for sharing, Alicia!

  19. I thought Insurgent was a pretty good second book, though I spent a lot of it confused because apparently I forgot a lot of the characters and some of what happened at the end of Divergent. At the very least, I like the twist in the end that I hope is setting up a great third book.

  20. TFIOS, Anna and the French Kiss, and The Unbecoming of MD are SUPER GOOD books, you will like them :) I need to read Cinder too, I hear so many good things about it.

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  21. Alicia! You are SO not alone in a lot of those books! I don’t own Insurgent, but I sure haven’t read it either. We definitely need to, soon! I own TFioS as well, but haven’t read it. People can go ahead and slap us… ;) AND OMG. You NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED to read Anna and the French Kiss.

    That is all.

    LAWWWLZ, just kidding, but you seriously need to! Great list, I hope you get to all of those lovelies soon soon SOON! <3

  22. Glad someone else has Cinder and The Fault in Our Stars on their list! Makes me feel less bad. I’m so surprised that there is someone left who hasn’t read Insurgent yet! I understand the feeling though, of being worried that the sequel won’t live up to the first book… and honestly, it doesn’t. BUT I still really liked it anyways!! You will LOVE Anna because it’s pretty dang hard not to. And I can also recommend Throne of Glass and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog earlier!

  23. I’ve read so many of these! (Not bragging, promise :D)
    But most of all you should definitely read Cinder and Mara Dyer! I loved Divergent, too, but the fear of sequels is spreading faster than the plague did, apparently. And you should definitely read Anna and the French Kiss. It’s so good! And The Fault in Our Stars is amazing!
    Hope you get to read these soon!

  24. What a list! Get reading!!! :) Hahaha, I’ll tell you now. I didn’t think Insurgent was as good as Divergent. Still a good read, but not better than the first. I loved Girl in the Steel Corset, Throne of Glass, and Everneath! I also need to read Anna and the French Kiss. I have it sitting on my bookshelf from the library so I should read it soon, lol.

    Your blog is so cute. Am now following you via Twitter

    My TTT

    Jessica@Lovin’ Los Libros

  25. I wish you could see me bouncing in my seat right now chanting “read the fault in our stars! read the fault in our stars!” dooo it!

  26. I’ve read many of these, and I think the best would be Insurgent :) I didn’t like The Fault in Our Stars much, despite all that hype (no throwing rotten eggs at me please!). I have always a problem of not reading my top books, and I find that keeping a review schedule helps! I just started blogging too :D I’m a new follower!

  27. Read Insurgent!! :D I’ve read many of these, but I think Insurgent is the best :) I personally didn’t really enjoy The Fault in Our Stars, despite all the hype (please don’t pelt eggs at me!). I’m a new blogger, and I have the same problem too! So I keep a review schedule to monitor my progress haha :D
    I’m a new follower! And I’m from Singapore too :)

    • BRING IT ON.

      :D

      HAVE YOU FINISHED JUST ONE DAY YET?! I’M DYING JUST THINKING ABOUT IT YO OMG when you reach the super duper climaxy-anticlimax, TELL MEEEEE!! *DIES* *FAINTS* *IWANTWILLEM*

Leave a Comment

