april in rewind 2013

april

April has been a month of so many things– Spring (for some), Birthdays (for some), EXAMS (for some) and April Fools’ Day for all! Here’s a monthly recap of what happened on this blog and in my nerd life for April 2013.

APRIL IN ONE PICTURE

Best Play of My Life ♥

APRIL IN ONE WORD

CRAZY

5 THINGS THAT HAPPENED IN APRIL

1. Theatre SYF Arts Presentation this month and BIG HUGS to all the effort on this long journey– from cast to crew to coaches to seniors, thank you for making Ada’s 14 minute story come to life <3

2. BLOCK TESTS. 4 weeks of test is no joke. AHH!!

3. I’ve started listening to audiobooks! It’s something really new and… having conflicted feelings.

4. I read Just One Day. I read Just One Day. I FREAKING READ JUST ONE DAY!!! *FAINTS*

5. Changed the blog over from Book a World to Summer Next Top Story! I wanted to start the blog afresh and it took me a great deal of self-strangling before finally hitting that “Change Blog Address” button. Here’s Ashley talking about her experience of changing blog name. Sounds scary but it actually doesn’t feel that bad!

POPULAR ON MY EARPHONES

Love Is Like Snowflake by Kim Junsu

三寸天堂 by 严艺丹

Honestly, putting these songs on repeat when I’m trying to sort out crazy stuff is the best remedy ever. Wish I could include english subs for all so you’ll know how beautiful they are but uhh… *coughs* terrible translation skills *coughs*

TOP BOOKS READ IN APRIL

Just One Day by Gayle Forman *SQUEE*

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa *DOUBLE SQUEE*

FAVOURITE QUOTE FROM APRIL

But he doesn’t stop there. “I think you’re the sort of person who finds money on the ground and waves it in the air and asks if anyone has lost it. I think you cry in movies that aren’t even sad because you have a soft heart, though you don’t let it show. I think you do things that scare you, and that makes you braver than those adrenaline junkies who bungee-jump off bridges.”

— Gayle Forman, Just One Day

WHAT I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO IN MAY

1. Reviving the blog! I have so many awesome books to share and so many thing to ramble on about, so excited!

2. School Holidays, best if they get upgraded to life-long packages.

3. Binge reading Catching Fire and Mockingjay… I have absolutely NO IDEA why I haven’t read them but the teaser trailer. ALL THE FEELS.

Do you like the new blog name? What crazy things purged your life in April? New songs? Best books? Most looking forward to…? Tell me!

30 thoughts on “april in rewind 2013

  1. WY!!! EHHEHEHEH see lah now I must change your blog url >(( HEHEH anyway your name is super cool HAHA :D IMMA LOOKING FORWARD TO GODDESS TOO!!!

    The Elite is out btw!!!!! :DDDDD okay won’t spoil it for you but I’ll just say it was rather annoying cos America gradually got more and more annoying and stupid as the book progressed :D but still it’s super entertaining HAHA

    • EHEHEH COOL IS MY MIDDLE NAME *laughs diabolically* I haven’t read Dreamless and I already can’t wait for Goddess– I think I have a problem.

      OH MY!! YOU READ THE ELITE?!?! *SQUEEEEE* I’M USING CAPLOCK BECAUSE OMG I WANT MORE MAXON!! I didn’t love America since Day 1 but arghh hope she won’t spoil the story.

  2. Congrats on the name change! It threw me for a minute. :) I think you need to update your personal information, though, because your name still points to the old address. Just fyi!

    And I enjoyed The Immortal Rules, but LOVED The Eternity Cure. Definitely read the sequel as soon as you can!

    • Thank you!! Just changed it haha there are so many things to update around the Internet I’m getting a bit lost >.< WHOOP Going to buy The Eternity Cure soon, can't wait to continue Allison's story!!

    • I wasn’t expecting much at first since The Hunger Games movie was… Okay… BUT OMG CATCHING FIRE!!! I haven’t read the book but just the teaser alone is giving me the chills. I’m going to have to set a daily reminder to start binging the series!

      • I do think that Catching Fire looks like it’s going to be a lot better than the first movie (even though I liked it alright). Yay for a new director, I suppose!

  3. ALICIA. Welcome back. *FANGIRLS* I LOOOOVE the new name, the new design, the new everything. Seriously, it’s so clean and prettiful and just GAAAH. <3 <3 But it looks like you had a fabulous month of April! JUST ONE DAY. I'm reading it soon, I AM! I'm so excited to see your review for it. :) I'm SO SO EXCITED for Golden, Parallel, and The 5th Wave! GORGEOUS post, I can't wait to see more of YOU and your posts, Alicia! :)

    • AWWW JEN!! THANK YOU

      I feel terrible abandoning this blog for so many times, this will hopefully be the last! *determined face* Just One Day was awesome for me, maybe because I was going through a rough time, so… Hopefully you’ll love it too :D I’ve read GLOWING reviews for Golden, especially going to set my grabby hands on that!

      Thanks for dropping by, Jen! *HUGS*

  4. Yay, you’re back Alicia! The new name is so amazing and the design too! In April I read Looking for Alaska, The Fault In Our Stars and am currently reading Beautiful Malice, all three are amazing and I reccomend all three!

    • Thank you, Breanne! I have The Fault in Our Stars with me but oh no… I chucked it aside after a few chapters so I could focus on exams. The first few chapters have me quite lost so… Still having my fingers crossed because SO MANY people loved it. Will be looking out for Looking for Alaska and Beautiful Malice :)

      If you do decide to start a blog, tell me!! I’ll be your first fan haha

      • I was a bit lost at the start too, but the more you read the much better it gets! I didn’t like it as much as Looking For Alaska though! But Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James I can’t even explain it, it’s so amazing and all the twists and turns and ah!

        I’ll definitely let you know, thankyou!

      • I’ll keep reading on then! Just got Looking for Alaska, hope to start it sometime this month :) BEAUTIFUL MALICE SOUNDS SO FREAKING COOL, can’t wait to know what happens to Alice and Katherine!!

  5. I love your new blog design! Its so pretty <3. I can't wait to read the 5th Wave; a dystopian with aliens has to be good. The Catching Fire trailer is unbelievably awesome!! I read Cinder, Clockwork Princess and Feedback and they were all really good.

    • Thank you! I thought it was a better reflection of my blog than the fishy one since uhh I’m not blogging about aquariums. Excited for 5th Wave!! So many raving reviews, it’d better good.

      You know, I watched the Catching Fire trailer at midnight AND I COULDN’T SLEEP THE WHOLE NIGHT. ARGHH WHY IS OUT IN NOVEMBER. WHYYYYYY. Whoop! Many of my friends loved Cinder and Clockwork Princess too, got to go look for Feedback :)

  6. I didn’t see the last design, but I definitely like this one. :) I hope you get to read more in May than you did in April. I hope you like Catching Fire and Mockingjay, I loved both of those. Oh, and thanks for commenting on my blog!

    I Heart Reading

  7. I love your new blog name! :D
    I changed my blog name, but it was done when I was moving from Blogger to WordPress, so luckily, no real hassle there. Phew!
    And yes, The Immortal Rules! I can’t wait to start The Eternity Cure, I’m excited for more blood, gore, and action! (:

    • Thank you, Kelly! Your blog looks really professional and pretty at the same time– the power of self-hosting WordPress haha! I wanted to switch to self-hosting but it’s hard finding a good web host and I’m such an inconsistent blogger lol. I have so many books lined up for May, BUTBUTBUT THE ETERNITY CURE </3 *sobs* Will push it to June then… :'(

  8. Love the new blog Alicia! :D Oooh, and I’m totally hyped for Of Triton too, need to find out what happened after that killer-cliff-hanger! Love that header design, did you do it by yourself? :D
    <3

    • Hi Emily! Haven’t you been seeing you around blogging, hope exams are going well for you. ARGHH I KNOW RIGHT I need more Galen and Emma!!! 22 MORE DAYS.

      Thank you! I fixed that header up myself and *hugs* I think cats are so adorable :D

      • Thanks Alicia xD Haha, failed my Chinese :p but oh well…
        CATS ARE ADORABLE :) And wow talk about talented ;)

    • Me too! Keep seeing all the raving reviews for The 5th Wave and all that hype is making me fangirl over the book before reading it!! xD The Immortal Rules is the best vampire book EVER, hope you’ll get to read Just One Day soon :)

  9. This is the first time I visited your blog and you know why? ‘Cause of your blog’s name. Love it. Also, your reaction to Just One Day makes me want to read it right now but I must not because of thesis. Ugh. So April was a drag for me but I’m excited for May ’cause it’s basically the last month of college.

    Also, Catching Fire is my favorite book in the series! Love it and the last scene, man so did not see that coming. Read it! =D

    Great blog!

    • Thank you!! Lol I was revising for chemistry exam while reading Just One Day, and it actually made all that revising MUCH MORE bearable ;) Mehh April was a crazy mess, hoping May will be a much better month for the blog, and reading!!

      I loved Hunger Games and it boggles me WHY I have not finished the series, will be getting to it soon!

  10. oh, you’ll love Looking For Alaska! Oh my gosh it is! It’s so amazing! Sorry it wouldn’t let me reply to your post so i’m just writing it as a new post haha

    • I always thought John Green’s books have unique names… And they hint to something much more important. Haha, you’ve made me convinced to read Beautiful Malice!!

      • Oh yay, I’m almost finished it now, it’s so amazing. I just know you’ll love it.

Leave a Comment

