Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan | BOOK REVIEW

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Publisher/Year: Harlequin October 26th 2010
Genre: YA Contemporary/Realistic Fiction and… Christmas!
Series: Nope
Other Books from AuthorsNick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist

I’ve received this for review by the publisher via Netgalley but that in no way swayed my opinions, promise!

Amazon | Goodreads | @rachelcohn | @loversdiction |

“I’ve left some clues for you.If you want them, turn the page.

If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Why have I not read this already?? Just December last year, I was reading all the raving reviews, while secretly imagining that I left a red moleskin notebook in a bookstore and some cute guy picked it up… EEEEE!!!

*Serious Alicia whacks Fangirl Alicia*

Ok so. I really enjoyed Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares! It was cute and swoony and such an addicting read that I finished in a single day. It was fantastic in weaving together this story of family, heartbreak, and then a wild chase of love between the 2 least possible people ever. The moment I finished this, I knew I had to do something to my List of Favourite Contemporaries, and I’m dying to read other book from Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist!

The story starts with Dash finding a red moleskin notebook hidden on the shelves of a renowned NY bookshop, The Strand. On its pages are instructions for a dare by a mysterious girl. Dash, an incredibly bookish, Christmas-hating and snarly 16 years old, accepts the dare and starts a series of events, one more hilarious than the other, which will bring the two teens to chase each other around New York City in a witty comedy. The plot is absolutely incredible and creative, you’ll be flabbergasted by what dares Dash and Lily come up with. Yes I mean it, your flabber will be gasted. I was eating while reading the part about Santa and I ended up laughing with spaghetti dangling off my mouth. MOST. UNSIGHTLY. EVER.

I have to be honest though– Dash’s “snarly” behaviour annoyed the hell out me. He likes to parade about with bombastic adjectives, and behaves more old school than my discipline mistress. Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading the story from his perspective, and I warmed up to him and his snarky voice in the end. We also have Lily, a bizarre misfit who loves everything about Christmas. She’s witty and quirky and flawed in the right ways, which made her very relatable. I loved Dash and Lily’s exchanges on the red notebook, especially when they unknowingly pen down their loneliness, insecurity, family problems… and opening up their life story to a stranger who will understand. It seems like they know each other without knowing each other at all.

David Levithan and Rachel Cohn are some big authors out there, and this book definitely grabbed my attention as authors whose works I’ll keep buying. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares have complex characters with authentic voices, really fun and witty writing, romance that doesn’t overshadow other really great moments in this story and a journey that has me grinning for days after. Also, a shout-out to the secondary cast in this story, loved how they were each unique and play some significant parts in the story! *waggles eyebrows*

Keep this in your summer reading bag! Christmas works for summer, who knew? ;)

Have you read this one? LOVE IT? Hate it? Tell me!

18 thoughts on “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan | BOOK REVIEW

    • YESYESYES!!! I remember how I daydreamed about a cute guy in a bookstore and he just found his way to me… ;) Point is, you have to read this, that flabbergasting part urghh don’t even mention it, I’ll get ringworms in my stomach .___.

  1. I’ve only recently gotten into contemporary romance, so I never really paid attention to this title before… but it sounds so cute! I love the idea of sharing a notebook and trading dares. And Lily sounds like a great character. Definitely going to check this one out now :) Great review, Alicia!

    • Well then, welcome to contemporary! I’m not a MAJOR contemporary fan but I love the insight and self-discovery is has over other YA genres :) The notebook is the best part of this book, I highly recommend this!!

  2. I really want to read it now!
    I’ve seen so many people mention it and everything but it’s never been a book that been at the top of my TBR list.
    Your review changed my mind.
    Especially the Emma Watson GIF.
    Lol, thanks!
    :)
    Basma @ My Bookish Thoughts

    • I wasn’t THAT convinced at first because there are some negative reviews about the characters but I got used to them easily and *SQUEE* their interactions are SO FREAKING CUTE and real, you’ll have to read this one, looking forward to your thoughts!

      Haha I love Emma Watson too!! :D

  3. I loved this one! It is one of my favorite books though I can understand when someone doesn’t like one of the characters. It’s such a cute read! >______< And if you read it during Christmas it's just perfect to curl up on a sofa with a nice cup of coffee or tea or hot chocolate. ^^

  4. SUCH AN AWESOME REVIEW! I just read this a few months ago and surprised myself by how much I loved it, because I’d tried it before and hadn’t liked it at all! I loved Dash, myself, and found his character really interesting- I really enjoyed how polar opposite he was to Lily, whom I also loved, and the dares they wrote in the journal are so fantastic! Again, excellent review! (:

    • Yessss!! Some books aren’t that shining and amazing on the first read, and they turn out to be a gem when you read it again! I had some preconceived judgements of Dash before I started reading (thanks to all the reviews before me heh), but he’s a different kind of attractive, especially together with Lily!! Those two make the weirdest, sweetest couple and I’ll have to snuggle up with them again for Christmas :)

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013 | Summer Next Top Story

  6. Just finished reading this book and I have such mixed feelings about it! On one hand I feel like it was a bit pretentious (especially with some of the things Dash says he seems much older than 16 and makes me feel a bit inadequate) and some of the plot points I was just like ‘what on earth did I just read?!’ Like when Lily catches the child and gets arrested for trying to steal the baby! Eh? What on earth? but that’s kind of what I loved about it! It was so ridiculous that I couldn’t help but fall in love with it and if I ever meet anyone like Dash… *swoons* He is just perfect (but not at the same time which makes him more perfect… if that makes sense?). Your review made me smile, it summed up everything I was feeling too :)

Leave a Comment

