top ten books i’ve read so far in 2013

tttTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and Bookish!

1. Just One Day by Gayle Forman: WHOOPS sorry guys if you get tired of seeing this book on my blog but whenever there’s a “2013 Favourites” list, you know Just One Day will be on it! I really loved the themes of love and loss and picking yourself up in this book, and it made me think about MY life, and how eerily similar Allyson and I are. Except the part about meeting a hot guy in Paris of course. *sniffs*

2. Saving June by Hannah Harrington: This is one of those slow burn books but URGHH. IT BURRRNS. It reduced me into a crying pile of mess in the end. I loved the talk about music during Harper’s roadtrip to California, in fact, this was my first road-trip book!

3. Speechless by Hannah Harrington: Haha some obvious bias here? >:) I read Speechless right after Saving June and Hannah Harrington never disappoints! The whole vow of silence thing is really cool and this one actually glued my shattered heart back after Saving June. [my review of Speechless]

4. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan: I’m still feeling the warm and fuzzy feeling from reading Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares. It’s the cutest love story set in Christmas, between the 2 least likely people ever. PLUS POINT: Dash loves dictionaries! [my review of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares]

5. Boundless by Cynthia Hand: Honestly, this must be the only last book I’ve read that feels like a MAJOR CLIFFHANGER. No, there were lots of angel action, lots of mystery and figuring out of purposes, the ends were tied up, the girl gets her boy BUT. SAMJEEZA. MEG. MICHAEL. OMG SOMEONE NEEDS TO WRITE A SEQUEL ABOUT THEM!!!!

6. Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris: I’ve seen reviews giving this 8 out of 5 stars and I used to scoff at them for over-exaggerating. I thought it would hover in the “it was good/pretty entertaining but that’s it” category. This book honestly just had it all and I was INCREDIBLY surprised at how much I LOVED it to pieces, including all the parts about quantum physics. xD

7. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: Excuse me? No explanation needed for this one!! The Grisha world is so well-constructed with a heavy atmosphere and THE DARKLING. DAMN. I’ll be eating up anything Leigh Bardugo writes. Goodreads had an interview with her and she’s such a joy to talk to :)

8. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa: I’m a newbie to the paranormal books and I haven’t had much luck so far, because most paranormal creatures felt the same to me and I almost gave up on this genre altogether. You will not believe how STOKED I was by Julie Kagawa’s vampires and I certainly won’t mind her faeries ;) This one is realistically dangerous and lethal book that reads handle at your own risk.

9. What’s Left Of Me by Kat Zhang: I debated putting this on here since I didn’t LOVE What’s Left Of Me like I did for other books on this list, but Kat Zhang have me sold on the hybrids and I’m now gobbling up this new dystopian/science fiction idea!

10: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi: OH. THIS ONE. THAT ENDING. HOLD UP GUYS, WHILE I PLOT THE ROBBERY OF VERONICA ROSSI’S IN THE STILL BLUE DRAFT. Through the Ever Night is much much much more exciting than Under the Never Sky, we got to know the characters a lot better, there were lots of action and ahh Aria and Perry’s relationship tortured meee!!

Have any of these books made it into your Top Ten list? Loved them? Hated them? Which books from your list would you recommend to me? Share it in the comments below!

33 thoughts on “top ten books i’ve read so far in 2013

  1. I loooooved The Immortal Rules & Shadow and Bone. What’s Left Of Me was also pretty good. So were Unraveling and Speechless. So many good books everywhere, lol. Happy reading and thank you very much for stopping by my TTT!

  2. I totally love all of those contemporary titles! I wouldn’t mind another book from Cynthia Hand either :) Can’t wait to read Just One Year.

  3. DUDEEEEEEE you can’t NOT read about Ash. I mean, it’s ASH.

    Sawoon.

    And I’m sorry, but I only agree with #1 x) You are missing out on TOO many hot guys man.

  4. So many books I’ve read and want to read are on your list! haha
    The favorites are Shadow and Bone and Through the Ever Night, though.
    And I love your graphics, especially the one about contemporary <3

  5. Dash and Lily was adorable. I so want to buy it for my niece, but I’m not sure she can appreciate the goofy sweetness that is Lily. I picked up Just One Day at the library last week. I’m looking forward to reading that. I’ll definitely be looking into the others you’ve listed here.

  6. And here’s the part where I hang my head in shame because I’ve only read one book on your list. ONE! But. I have all the others on my TBR and I even have Boundless and Through the Ever Night on my Nook already! So, that counts yes? :D What’s Left Of Me, Unraveling, and Shadow and Bone are at the top of my TBR the next time I get ‘free’ reads! Great list chica!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

  7. Just One Day looks really good. I’ve been wanting to read it since it came out, but have yet to get to it! I love the cover of Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.That’s another one I need to read!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Great TTT! :)

  8. I’ve read all the books on your contemporary list and loved them all minus Dash and Lily. That was just okay in my opinion.

    If you haven’t read it yet there are three books I highly recommend from my list: The Program. Pivot Point and Parallel. I’m saying those three under the assumption that you’ve read Jellicoe Road and Anna and the French Kiss. :-)

    Great list.

    My TTT List

  9. Great list! I have the Immortal Rules on mine. Loved that book. I also love Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. I would have listed it but I read that last year. Shadow and Bone is also a really good book.

  10. You’re the first person that talks about Speechless. I’ve been wanting to read that book for a while now and I’m currently reading Under the Never Sky. I loved Boundless! I recently bought unraveling. I going to get to it soon. Glad to know someone loved it! I haven’t heard people talk about it.

  11. I love Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares. Such a fun humorous Christmas read. I also really liked Just One Day. I am looking forward to the sequel.

  12. I love your list! Most of the books you like are ones I’ve read or am looking forward to. Speechless and Just One Day are ones I’m really looking forward to. I love your layout! It’s so simple and pretty. Just gorgeous! Keep being awesome Summer Sister!

    -Dulcy, My Summer Girl Books

  13. THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT was fantastic! You have a few books I’m going to have to add to my TBR shelf on Goodreads. :-) I REALLY want to read SPEECHLESS, so hopefully I can get my hands on a copy soon! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  14. Yay! Unraveling made it on my list too! It was so incredible, I totally loved it! Now I’m about to start on Unbreakable…hopefully Ben & Janelle get their HAE :D
    Thanks for stopping by My Top Ten

  15. I reaaaaaaaaally have to read Just One Day, Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, and Shadow and Bone. Great list!

  16. Ahh so many amazing books are on your list! I LOVE Saving June and Just One Day and Through The Ever Night is incredible as well! Awesome picks! Thanks for stopping by!

  17. Thank you for reminding me to get a move on on Speechless, Shadow and Bone and What’s Left of Me. I’ve been meaning to read them for aaagggggeeeeessssss but for some reason, it always slips from my mind when I’m in a bookstore or a library.

    If I had read Dash and Lily this year, it would definitely be on my list too! I love the idea of the red notebook and Christmas in NYC? Perfect.

  18. I have a few of these on my TBR and hope I get to them soon, because I’m super excited to read them. I recently read, however, Dash and Lily and LOVED it. Such a great story!

Leave a Comment

