August 2013 Craves and Faves!

HELLO!

I feel like I’ve been gone for a very long time and… OKAY, yes I have…

Because August was The Month of ENDLESS BOOK RELATED TRAILER RELEASES!! Mortal Instruments, Divergent, Percy Jackson, Catching Fire… I was shamelessly drooling over the trailers, replaying them 384323094 times and jumping around the place like a caffeinated kangaroo. :]

AUGUST IN ONE PICTURE

AUGUST IN ONE WORD

PSYCHED.

For just about everything that’s happening!!

5 THINGS THAT HAPPENED IN AUGUST

1. Happy 48th Birthday Singapore! ♥ My class did Car Wash for the annual Fundfair (part of National Day celebration) and that’s us posing with Shiny Red Car post-Car Wash.

2. Cross-Country Run. I’m never an athletic/running type of person so YEAH! Was really proud of myself after finishing the course of Cross-Country despite probably looking like a dead horse HAHAHA

3. TRAILERS. TRAILERS. TRAILERS. asdfghjkl!!!!! *peeks up from YouTube* Did anything else even happen? o_o

4. Piano Grade 8 (aka THE LAST) exam. URGHH. GROSS. I’m bad at this! *not gonna touch that thing ever again* YAY ME.

5. Had a childhood-best-friends gathering! We’ve never been in contact for almost 8 years, and the meeting was mostly pizza and awkwardness but it was nice to see all them again :)

AUGUST FAVOURITES

1. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

I’m still undecided if I should frame this book up for worship or dump it into an incinerator and watch it BURRRRRN. EEKS!!

2. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Official Theatrical Trailer (2013) HD

So much more promising than Hunger Games– we actually get to SEE THINGS HAPPENING. WOW.

3. Ice cream Mooncakes<3 Happy Mid-Autumn Festival everyone!

  

 FAVOURITE QUOTE FROM A BOOK I READ IN AUGUST

“One of the Silent Brothers is here to see you. Hodge sent me to wake you up. Actually he offered to wake you himself, but since it’s 5 a.m., I figured you’d be less cranky if you had something nice to look at.”

“Meaning you?”

“What else?”

― Cassandra ClareCity of Bones

JACE YOU ARROGRANT BRAT.

TOP 3 MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO IN SEPTEMBER

September is always my favourite month of the year. You’ll know why ;)

1. Singaporean book bloggers meet-up!! The lovely Emily from .FlutterealFlight.Sel from Bookcase to Heaven and I are going out to read books, sip coffee, and watch The Mortal Instruments. SOUNDS PERFECT TO ME!

2. *DUN DUN DUN* MY BIRTHDAY ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ My mom was asking me that day what kind of birthday cake I want, and I’m just all “MOONCAKES OMNOMNOM”. Maybe one day my birthday will fall on Mid-Autumn Festival!

So tell me, how did August do for you? New August craves and faves? Psyched about all the new book-turned-movies too? I do feel slightly apprehensive, and afraid they’ll tear my favourite books apart but ahh wells!! STILL EXCITED. Your thoughts? Share them in the comments below!

23 thoughts on “August 2013 Craves and Faves!

    • Haha when we got the order from Mr Shone everyone freaked out like “OMG. IT’S MARK SHONE’S CAR. VINTAGE CAR. EEEE!!!” Very scared that we’ll scratch his windows or something but it turned out really fun and NOW IT LOOKS ALL NEW AND SHINY WHOO. I’m hearing gazillions praises for Rainbow Rowell… And I love her book covers– simple, sweet and straight to the point <3

  1. YES ALICIA YOU ARE BACKKKK!!!! Where have you been girl?!
    And you participated in the Cross Country Race? Cool story bro! Guess what, my sister was the winner! (So now you can guess my surname, huh?) ;)
    And yes! Our blogger meet-up! Why you no tell me which books you want? >:(
    Nah. Joking.
    And look at all those pretty ARCs you got! :O
    And that car looks so swaggy!
    Mooncakes, my dad will never buy ice-cream mooncakes for us! We only eat the traditional ones, but they’re okay too :)
    Yay! Glad to see you back! And hopefully we’ll get some of those fantastic, spazzy reviews again! :D
    LUBS.

    • HELLO EMILY!

      Graah August was just crazy and busy and so exciting for me that I had to pull myself out of blogging… But I was definitely still *coughs* stalking blogs *coughs*. Nahh I didn’t go for THE cross-country, it was just a 3.5km run at MacRitche but still an achievement for me =) SERIOUSLY. I’M COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS TO THE 12TH SO EXCITED TO BE MEETING YOU GUYS!!! AKUGFIWEBVJEJHFOFEF HAVE AN AWESOME SEPTEMBER EMILY, and keep up that fabulous work with your blog, I love the butterfly theme!

  2. I missed your posts and I’m glad to hear from you again, Alicia!

    It sounds like August was a great month for you. Meeting up with old friends is always fun, if a bit awkward and nostalgic, and congratulations on your musical and athletic achievements! Your Septemeber should be just as fantastic, what with the awesome-sounding blogger meetup and all the book releases. This Song Will Save Your Life is wonderful, by the way.

    Have a lovely September!

    • It’s nice to be back! Yeah… Meeting up with childhood friends is awkward especially since we haven’t been talking for 8 years and now WHAM! The guys are 10 heads taller than me, and we don’t share much common topics anymore =( It was pretty heart-warming though, to see them all grown up, face-to-face!

      I’ve heard the best things about This Song Will Save Your Life, very eager for it’s release, and hoep you’ll have an awesome September too!

  3. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Yes the Catching Fire trailer was like 0_o. Can’t wait for it to actually come out!
    And Cross Country…hmmm I will reconsider abt the compliment. (I was a competitior).
    At least you’re back now! Hope to see more of your reviews!

    • LOL YOUR FACE.

      THAT’S IT MAN. WE HAVE TO WATCH IT TOGETHER. NOVEMBER 22!!!! EVERYTHING ABOUT THE TRAILER SCREAMS OF AMAZINGNESS AND WOW IT COMPLETELY THREW ME OFF I WASN’T EXPECTING THAT *launches into an incoherent fangirl rant*

      Haha about the compliment… *shrugs* Great to be back for more nerdy discussions! =)

    • Thank you, Elizabeth! I had so many photos from August to share but that… That will remain an all-time favourite class photo. Can’t wait to hear more from you and your blog!

    • I KNOW. I KNOW. The first time I played the trailer my heart FROZE and all I could do was :O

      Yeah and the same thing happens for each subsequent replay so there’s that. I wasn’t particularly impressed with THG, with all the shaky camera and blur mess, didn’t get to SEE anything.

      NOW I DO.

      Really looking forward to the movie and hope it’ll be even better than the first! Happy September to you too =)

  4. OMG your month looks so fantabulous and I’m so happy you had such an amazing time. I am not the biggest fan of moon cakes so i can’t say so. But…HAPPY BIRTHDAY SO MUCH YOU DESERVE THE BEST WISHES AND SO HAPPY TO SEE YOUR POSTS AGAIN. ^^ Haha but you read some amazing books and so many trailers. * ^ * The Book Thief into movie adaption.
    TT ^ TT It’s killing me that Hollywood keeps using books as ideas for them to make money. I seriously can not approve. (≖︿≖✿) Ahh school is killing my life. I am constantly tired all day everyday unless it’s when I’m sleeping. ;D XD But I am very happy to see you had an amazing August and much to September cause I am betting it will be just as awesome.
    ✧・゚:*✧・゚:* \(◕ω◕✿)/ *:・゚✧*:・゚✧

    • AWWW MOONCAKES! WHY NOT! ;)

      Thank you Delaney! That was really sweet of you, and I love your new blog design, it’s really pretty <3 Just ran off to watch The Book Thief trailer after reading your comment and IENDISHMF SOMEONE GIVE IT TO ME NOWWW. I'm objective towards Hollywood films, but they haven't been living up to expectations… Hopefully this autumn will bring more surprises! KEEP HANGING ON THERE, AFTER EOYS LET'S ALL GO ON A BOOK SHOPPING SPREE WHEE HAPPY SEPTEMBER!!

  5. How cool to have a childhood best friends meet-up! Such a neat idea. :) And, so, what are ice cream mooncakes? Because those look like things that need to be in my life. Now. ANDD, The Dream Thieves is the only book among the ones you’re looking forward to that I’ve read, but it’s absolutely fantastic. Like, even better than the first.

    And finally, your blog is adorable! :)

  6. Okay, your August kicks mine in the ass! Not kidding. Ha ha. It sounds totally psyched and yes, all the trailers! Hands down, the best trailer is of Catching Fire. It gives me so many goosebumps! Gah, cannot wait for November. =D

    I love running and that cross-country run sounds like it must have been a lot of fun and thrilling.

    And haha, that quote from City of Bones is hilarious which reminds me that I’ve to start book three soon.

    Also, so waiting for Fangirl though I’ve yet to read Eleanor and Park. And This Song Will Save Your Life, of course.

  7. Happy early birthday! (You’re actually like the third person I’ve seen today mention they have a birthday this month, wow!) And super cool for the book blogger meet up! I’ve always wanted to participate in one. Hopefully someday.

    And seriously, ice cream mooncakes? What are those? Someone needs to fill me in. I don’t like cake, but I feel like if ice cream is involved I may love it.

Leave a Comment

