The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | BOOK REVIEW

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Publisher/Year: Scholastic Press September 18th 2012
Genre: Fantasy
Series: YES OMG YES!!!
Other Books From Author: Shiver series, The Scorpio Races, Books of Faerie series

Amazon | Goodreads | @mstiefvater |

Blue has spent the majority of her sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. When Blue meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road she knows there is only one reason why – either he is her true love or she has killed him.

Determined to find out the truth, Blue becomes involved with the Raven Boys, four boys from the local private school (lead by Gansey) who are on a quest to discover Glendower – a lost ancient Welsh King who is buried somewhere along the Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour.

Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey her true love? She can’t imagine a time she would feel like that, and she is adamant not to be the reason for his death. Where will fate lead them?

OKAY. OKAY. I was so happily surprised by this book!

Originally, I was hesitant to pick this up because I don’t really enjoy Maggie’s writing style. I read the story and then I feel myself falling out of it and just reading the words. You know when that happens? Your mind just kind of wonders because they’re describing things for so long? It wasn’t till maybe 50 pages in that I adjusted to the writing style. You have to adjust to it. Once you do, you’re fine and then YOU’RE FALLING INTO THE STORY THIS WHOLE SUPERNATURAL THING JUST SNEAKS UP ON YA.

This is told from multiple POVs but our main leads are Blue and Gansey. Blue is a psychic’s daughter, and Gansey is a weathy kid on his quest with 3 best friends to find Glendower, this dead king who was supposedly buried but still alive because he’s buried on an energy line called ley line. Blue gets involved and…

I LOVE the characters. I can’t repeat that enough. They are fleshed out and there for a reason. I hate it when authors dump “filler” characters who don’t add any value to the story (e.g. the bitchy cheerleader, the gay best friend). In The Raven Boys, there is life to each of them. They have complexities and desires that aren’t all explained, which makes them very mysterious and interesting to read. You know there’s this giant web of backstories that Maggie’s hiding from you… AND YOU WANT TO KNOW IT!!

From the beginning, we are told that if Blue kisses her true love, he would die. We know Gansey is the expected love interest but right now Blue’s kind-of with someone else… BUT IT’S DEFINITELY A THING IN THE FUTURE. IT’S LOOMING. THERE WILL BE BLUE AND GANSEY <3 On their first meeting, they had this whole misunderstanding and argument about prostitution, because Gansey doesn’t understand Blue’s thought process yet. As the book goes on, he tries harder and harder because he doesn’t want to be that condescending rich kid who speaks like he’s better than everyone. I loved the flash-forward scenes of him and Blue, and I think they’ll be really fun together. They share things with each other so easily and THE STORY ABOUT THE WASP. MAN. That was really really scary.

The whole story is set magically, and it could easily get out of hand but Maggie does an excellent job of grounding everything such that I absolutely believed it. That’s my problem with fantasy books– nothing is grounded and it just goes higher and higher without any transition. Here, I surprisingly felt comfortable in this weird crazy world, like I could step out of the house and hear trees speak Latin. Geez, I don’t know what’s real anymore.

I can’t believe how FAST I fell into this after thinking, “I just don’t really enjoy Maggie Stiefvater’s writing style”… then before I know it I’m on page 266 and I’m like “I NEED TO FINISH!!!” If you’re looking for something different, I recommend picking it up and give it a shot.

I’M EXCITED.

That’s all for my review before I launch into a fangirling garble. If this sounds interesting to you AT ALL, read the book and then come back and discuss with us! If you have read this book— Your Thoughts? SOME CRACKPOT THEORIES? Leave them in the comments below!

14 thoughts on “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | BOOK REVIEW

  1. Oh! Love your blog! Of course, it had to be wordpress. Wish I had time to do a makeover with mine :-)
    I was digging this book so much; I really liked Blue, and the psychic thing was very funny. I lost interest when they got to the cemetery. I don’t know why… I what the heck was this line thing he was looking for? I didn’t understand which I guess could have been the point of the book to make you stick with it to find out, but it didn’t hold my interest. Maybe if they make it a movie and I watch it I’d go all crazy for it like I am now with The Mortal Instruments…. after I DNF book #1. After watching the movie I bought book 2 and loved it!

  2. Love your review! I actually love Maggie Stiefvater and had picked this book up last year and tried to read it and got a little lost in the characters and the writing and ended up not finishing it. I didn’t actually have a good amount of time to dedicate and it seems like one of those books where you need to be able to concentrate and that can be hard when you have a newborn! I really want to pick this back up! In fact I recently got it from the library and I have the second book from Netgalley, so I’m going to start soon! Woo! :) Great review and I’m glad you loved it! You’ve encouraged me to try again soon!

    Liza @ Book Crook Liza

  3. ALICIA OMG I LOVE THIS REVIEW. So I tried out the audiobook for this one a couple weeks ago and just could NOT get into it (I was like 10% in), but your review has me CONVINCED that I should re-pick it up! I thought the number of characters and plot was confusing, but hopefully it will get addicting. I love that the side characters actually have a purpose. I’m so happy you loved this! (AND LOL your rating “this book and I are eloping”.) FABULOUS review, dear!

  4. I freaking loved Noah and Ronan. That is all. Oh and I got mindblown with the ending that I had to sought the help of fellow bloggers to help me arrange the pieces for my broken brain to absorb. I can’t freaking wait to read the next book because ahhhhhhh Ronan! I hope Blue and Gansey could have something together too. I kinda have nothing for Adam although I neither like nor dislike him at the moment… :S

  5. Hehe, I am a huge fan of Maggie’s writing style, but I can see how it’d be off-putting for some and take some getting used to. She does have a tendency of describing things around the boys, like the lightning sky and whatnot to get the mood going… but I also feel like that’s what contributes to you slipping into the supernatural :).

    The characters do have their own backstories; probably my favorite part about this novel and this series is that they’re drawn so well, from the way Gansey rubs his thumb against his lip to the way Blue scowls. To the quiet voice that Persephone uses. Have you listened to the audiobook? The narrator does an especially good job of enhancing the characterization that Maggie already establishes.

    AHHHH BLUE & GANSEY. You know that it’s leading to tragedy and yet, you still are rooting for them to get together! I don’t know how she manages to do this, but *is in awe.* And omg, the wasp story. Literally that is why I am afraid of wasps and bees and hornets and ugh. *Shudder* Also yes, I think it’s due to the writing that the world is… so seamlessly intertwined. You really don’t question the fact that the trees speak Latin. You’re like, oh, all right, cool. Like the character quirks. You embrace the weirdness as surely as she does o.O. So cool.

    YES, her music is SO awesome. I’ve downloaded all the mp3 tracks that she’s posted to her website. She makes me insanely jealous; how talented is she, to draw such vivid portraits with oils and words and to compose such haunting music again with words and instruments. I wish. Oh I wish.

  6. OMGOSH. I was just reading your review and it was just playing out in my head what I assume how it’s going to be like and I see it’s awesome. Seriously, I felt like I was reading a manga…but better!

    And YOUR RATING! <33333 ✧・゚:*✧・゚:* \(◕△◕✿)/ *:・゚✧*:・゚✧ So PWETTYFUL!!!! With the little teacups and the little caption. ;D Oh yes, I want to go and elope with so many books already.

  7. Pingback: The Raven Boys | cooking with the book club

  8. Pingback: BABBLE & BOOKS | The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater | Summer Next Top Story

  9. Pingback: her raven boys ❂ the dream thieves by maggie stiefvater | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

