top ten books i was ‘forced’ to read

tttHELLO! HI. WELCOME BACK. I’m Alicia, and EXAMSAREOFFICIALLYOVERASDFGHJKL. This meme is hosted by the lovelies at Broke and Brookish.

1. The BFG by Roald Dahl I’ve probably had been assigned school reads before The BFG but this is the very first one I can remember being ‘forced’ into reading (at gunpoint!! haha kidding) and absolutely loving. I went on to get Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, The Witches, Matilda.. Yep, you name it!

2. Charlotte’s Web by E.B.White You read this and try convincing yourself that you don’t like Charlotte and Wilbur. I DON’T CARE THEY ARE SPIDER AND PIG. IT’S CHARLOTTE AND WILBUR.

3. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis My friends challenged me to read this over the holidays and I finished it in one sitting!! Action-packed and mindblowing and all the plot twists.

4. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens Parents, being parents, forced me into reading this book when I was 9? 10? I vividly remember how Dickens described the fireplace for 2 whole pages. OKAY BUDDY, WE GET THE POINT. TIME TO MOVE ON YO. I got so bored by 30 pages in so… It’s good, it’s still good, I’ll just need time for this.

5. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle A Wrinkle in Time is my first sci-fi book and it made so much sense to me. I almost believed in the 5D tesseract and the IT and the Mrs. Whatsit creatures, that THIS is how space is.

6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling My mom borrowed Chamber of Secrets from the library and had to coerce me into reading the Harry Potter series. I read it. I LOVED IT. I was so appalled by the fact that kids around the world are living this Wizarding World and I had to be dragged by the ear into it. *awkward*

7. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee When you’re in school, you have this idea that school books are for school, and it’s even harder to read the book. I’d think like “UGH. HATE IT. It’s for school. It’s homework, I can’t read this!” I wasn’t open to reading To Kill A Mockingbird at first, literally counting down the pages till I can finish, but it just got to me. Like suddenly, at the trial scenes with Atticus, I could FEEL for the characters. They aren’t that bad after all?

8. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins I can’t watch the movie before I read the real thing. I really can’t, it’s like an OCD or something, plus reading The Hunger Games was the 2011 thing to do. Before The Hunger Games movie was released, I hadn’t even heard of this book HAHAHA FIRST HARRY POTTER NOW HUNGER GAMES. THIS IS A BIG JOKE!!

9. Animal Farm by George Orwell LOVE THIS COVER. So deceptive ;)

10. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins If you haven’t read this book, HIGHLY RECOMMEND. HIGHLY HIGHLY HI… Just go do it.

Have you read these books? Been in the same situation as I have? What books were you ‘forced’ to read and ABSOLUTELY LOVED? Share them in the comments below!

22 thoughts on “top ten books i was ‘forced’ to read

  1. I had to read To Kill a Mockingbird when I was in school as well, but it has been so long that I don’t really remember the story. My Mom recommended the Harry Potter series as well.

    I loved The Hunger Games and Lola as well. You DEFINITELY need to read Anna and the French Kiss. I think it is even better than Lola.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!!!

  2. I really wish I had read A Wrinkle in Time when I was younger — I feel like I’ve missed out on something great. Maybe I should try to read it now?

  3. Great list!Lola and the Boy Next Door is awesome!Now I’ll just have to read Anna and the French Kiss.So many people have told me to read it and I think it’s time to listen to them!:DThanks for stopping by my TTT.

    Elena @ Book Lady’s Reviews

  4. I was just “forced” to read “Great Expectations” by English lecturers being English lecturers. And I can totally empathize with your feelings – I’m actually quite impressed that you read it aged 10. At that age my father “forced” me to read Astrid Lindgren and that was already a bit of a struggle…

    Cheers, Katarina :)

  5. The Hunger Games was on my list as well, but it was because a friend “forced” me to read it. I’m the same way, I like to read the book before I see the movie, which is why I really need to read The Ender’s Game soon.

    That’s so funny that your mom recommended Harry Potter! And I agree, love Lola, it’s such a great book. Great list!

Leave a Comment

