Just One Day by Gayle Forman | BOOK REVIEW

Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Publisher/Year: Dutton Juvenile Janurary 8th 2013
Genre: Contemporary
Series: OH DEARIE YES
Other Books From Author: If I Stay, Where She Went, Sisters in Sanity

Amazon| Goodreads | @gayleforman |

When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

I’m not going to be coy. I, adored this book.

I don’t think I’ve ever related more to a main character. People like to ask the question “What character do you feel like you relate to the most?”, and Allyson is me. Allyson is High School Freshman Me. The story follows the narrator Allyson, who’s always been this goody-goody, and she’s now on a overly-organized Summer trip in Europe that her parents got for her. Allyson had originally planned to watch Hamlet by the Royal Shakespeare Company, but she chances upon this “Road Shakespeare Production” thing of Twelfth Night. So she and her friend Melanie end up not watching Shakespeare on stage, but following the actors along the streets of London. IT IS REALLY REALLY COOL.

But what if Shakespeare– and Hamlet– were asking the wrong question? What if the real question is not whether to be, but how to be?

Then something happens to Allyson, something very out-of-the-ordinary, and she’s forced out of her dull routine life, into a whole new concept of herself. Just One Day is Allyson’s journey to live out of the cautious girl in her who’d never dare to cross the line set by plans and schedules. There is this transitional stage when she would feel uncomfortable in her own skin, unnerved by her unexpected behaviour, and at the same time, a RUSH OF ADRENALINE to be that YOLO girl who’d live with accidents. It was foreign, it was scary, and it was so relatable for me. Aww Allyson!! *HUGS*

“We are born in one day. We die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.”

Just One Day is a life-changer. When I finished the book, I was in this haze and daze, a blur between fantasy and reality. But this isn’t fantasy. We are all Allysons– existing but not truly living, one huge empty life with a lot of decisions made on the basis of others’ expectations rather than our own wishes. I wish I had the power to force every person in the world to read this. It made me laugh, it made me cry ♥ My best friend, Sel, read this sitting in Kinokuniya Bookstore from 5-9pm without stop and cried so badly. YEAH. IT’S THAT KIND OF BOOK.

Oh how I love all the characters. I feel like I know each and every one of them, and I know so many in my life that’s like each and every one of them, so I was just replacing this book with my life. Even the minor characters are fab — Dee, Giant etc., they have the ability to make my emotions so vivid and alive. As for the love story, the Paris, the Willem… that’s something you’ll want to experience first-hand by yourself! All I can say is that the guy in question is adorable, hot, mysterious, wearing-a-mask-kind of love interest DONE RIGHT. The writing, the Shakespeare, the cultures, the French (!!!), everything, built Just One Day into a solid, introspective pile of goodness.

One word: Perfection!! Just One Day was my highly anticipated read of 2013, it surpassed all the expectations and more. I would highly recommend you go read it. You will want this. At least you won’t suffer the tortuous wait for the next book AHH CLIFFHANGER UEHFQ JUE AHLSFIW UEB POBAHWR NOOOOOOO

Have you read this? Did you have ALL THE FEELS like I did? :D

18 thoughts on “Just One Day by Gayle Forman | BOOK REVIEW

  1. I AGREE 1000000%. This book is pure goodness, I loved all the Shakespeare references inside– this book made Shakespeare relevant to my teenage mid-life crisis :D

    Love your review!

    • KINO DATE!!!!

      I’m afraid I won’t ever be able to forget this book and all the feels it inspired in me <3 I'm not sure about Shakespeare being relevant to teenage mid-life crisis but he and I are getting along! Slow progress but hey, there's progress =P CAN'T WAIT FOR YOUR REVIEW SEL, I'M GOING TO GET TISSUES *SNIFFLES*

  2. Whoot! Here comes another Gayle Forman fan! :D
    I do love books about self-discovery, and raving reviews for this one are just jumping up and down everywhere, and Just One Day seems to be screaming “Come At Mae!” Now I’ll just have to go and find a copy of my own…
    This definitely sounds like a wonderful, emotional read.
    Fantastic review, Alicia! And happy eloping with this one! xD

    • OH HEY HIGH FIVE BUDDY =D

      I can’t repeat this enough: Just One Day is the perfection of a YA self-discovery and I don’t think any other book I’ve read can hold a candle to it. Get all the tissues ready *shoves book into your hands* You’ll love this, I can feel it in the air!!!

    • *slot it into my pile of TBRs*?!?!

      GEEZ WHAT WORD CHOICE. I can swear by this book yo, it should be given VIP priority;) Haha kdiding, it is pretty hard to find a copy in bookstores… I want to read City of Ashes!! BUT BUT BUT JACE AND CLARY ARE THEY UMM WILL THEY WHAT WHY CASSANDRA CLARE D=

  3. Great review for a really good book. I think Forman really got her character down cold here. Allyson was very believable and the upheaval that one day caused in her worldview was handled very realistically. I’m looking forward to reading Willem’s side of the their time apart.

    • Thank you! Allyson’s character spoke to me very strongly, especially so because I read this at a time when I had to make a big decision in my life and I’m really glad that Allyson taught me to live with accidents that define who I am. Looking forward very much to Just One Year too!

  4. I’ve been dying to read this book ever since I saw the cover. But every time I go to the bookstore it is always out of stock. I don’t want to read it on my phone because I have a weird feeling that this book is special and I WANT it on my little book shelf haha. Hoping to have this book on my shelf this Christmas. haha

    Take care. xo

  5. Pingback: Just One Year by Gayle Forman | BOOK REVIEW | Summer Next Top Story

  6. Pingback: Just One Year by Gayle Forman | BOOK REVIEW | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

