Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier | BOOK REVIEW

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
Publisher/Year: Henry Holt May 10th 2011
Genre: Science Fiction/ TIME TRAVEL!!!
Series: Book 1 in the Precious Stone Trilogy
Other Books From Author: Sapphire Blue (Book 2), Emerald Green (Book 3), Mütter-Mafia series, Silber series

Amazon | Goodreads | Kerstin Gier’s website|

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

LOOK HOW BEAUTIFUL THIS COVER IS. It’s gorgeous. The 2D image here does the cover no justice. Dude, I loved this book, I enjoyed it so much! I flew through this thing and it was SO SHORT! It felt like taking one of those super huge rollercoaster that you queued half a day for, and then it’s over in 5 SECONDS. I’m going to give this a 4.5 stars, and that 0.5 stars because it was too short!! I NEED MORE.

Ruby Red takes place in London with our main character Gwyneth. It’s about this family line that has “time travelling gene”, but only 12 people get the gene. The thing is: you can’t tell if you have the gene until you’re 16/17, when you make your initiation journey and randomly fly through time. Everyone thinks it’s Gwyneth’s cousin, Charlotte, who has the gene and then what-do-you-know! Gwyneth ends up having the gene. But Charlotte was trained to be a time traveller since she’s born. She knows London’s history by heart, how to curtsy/dance/do all the things girls do in their appropriate time periods, and can speak a bazillion different languages. Gwyneth, on the other hand, is pretty much unprepared =P

There is this whole load of mythology about time traveling, and we are as clueless as Gwyneth about them. Almost everyone else could rattle off the cryptic rhymes that prophesied fates of the Circle of Twelve. IT IS SO INTERESTING!! Time is such an enigmatic, unknown thing and we get so many enigmatic, unknown characters, the whole book is a chocolate pudding to satisfy my hunger for theorizing-ism. The past, present and future are quite flexible here, it seems as though time goes in a circle? Or something…? I DON’T KNOW!! We’re given loose ends on so many secrets, and when they clicked together in the last chapters I was like:

“OH… MY… GOD…*mind blank* *speechless* *HUGE MAJOR SPOILER* OH NO NO NO NO NO NO BACK TO THE FIRST PAGE!!!”

We have so many great characters! Lesley is Gwyneth’s best friend and I love their relationship. Both Lesley and Gwyneth are fun and snarky. They reminded me a lot of my relationship with my best friends. I just love how they’d tell each other about everything, and Lesley believes all the magical time travelling crap that Gwyneth tells her, without batting an eyelash. Lesley is very into helping Gwyneth uncover the time travelling mythology and she keeps this giant file of research done on Google. LESLEY IS SO COOL. I have a feeling that if we ever met, I’d want her for a best friend =D

There are many other characters that I’d LOVE to discuss– Gideon De Villers!! and Count Evil-Brain-Controlling-Guy, entire Guardians gang– but I want to keep this review non-spoilery so you’ve got to read that yourself. Ruby Red‘s got adventure, it’s got a little smidge of romance, it’s got a lot of mystery, I had so much fun reading it <3 The story was much more intricate than I thought it would be. AND I CAN’T WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THE NEXT ONE.

Have you read this one? Heard of it? If you’ve read it what do you think??? Not gonna lie I’M SO EXCITED. I want more explanations. More Gwyneth-Gideon. MORE TIME TRAVELLING ACTION EEE!!!

12 thoughts on “Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier | BOOK REVIEW

  1. Pingback: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier | BOOK REVIEW | Todd DeanTodd Dean

    • Sci-fi is always a plus! I sometimes find dystopian worlds that project themselves so far into the future that they kindof become sci-fi (e.g. Under the Never Sky). I LOVE all the characters in this book, as characters, not as a person, I feel their presence coming off the pages very easily, highly recommend this one! =)

  2. I’ve heard SO MUCH about this series but for some reason, I just haven’t picked it up. It seems to be one of those trilogies that only gets stronger with each installment though, from what I’ve heard, so I’ll be looking out for your thoughts on the sequels. I have to read this myself soon, so I’m thrilled to see you enjoyed it so much. GREAT review! :)

    • A PLUS FOR THE SEQUELS!! I’ve read Sapphire Blue and it, in no way, pales in comparison to Ruby Red. In fact, I feel that Ruby Red was setting the grounds and Sapphire Blue just hit the ground running. READ IT =D

  3. That cover is really pretty, but a have to say that the ones where they are wearing the beautiful dresses are amazing! A time traveling romance sounds interesting too. Was the time traveling ever really confusing? I also like that all the books in the series have been released! Thanks for the review. I’ll have to add this to my tbr shelf =)

    • I’ll personally refer this cover to the dresses one since 1. Dresses are overdone in YA book covers and 2. There are some subtle touches to the swirly borders which will make you scream in delight after you’ve read the book! The time travelling was CONFUSING at first, then it got… confusing… if that made any sense to you =P But you’ve got to trust Kerstin Gier, don’t think too much about it and let the story take you to where you are to go. Hope you’ll enjoy it!

  4. This book has actually been written by a German author. This series was published a few years ago here in Germany. Happy that it has been published in other countries as well and that it has become so successful. Here in Germany there’s even a movie out.

    • I heard there was a movie for this book and I was all “YES!!!”. Then I realized that it’s a German movie and I don’t speak an ounce of German so… what a pity! *MOTIVATED TO PICK UP A NEW LANGUAGE* I think Anthea Bell did an awesome job in the translation, I feel that all German YA lovers should feel proud of this series =D

  5. Isn’t this book so fun???? I’m only just reading this series as well and finished the second book last week (!!!!). I’m just dying to read Emerald Green! I think we should get an English movie version. :)

  6. I really enjoyed reading this book too! I think I gobbled up all three books in the span of two days. The series definitely has a spot on my favorites list for this year. There were a minor issue I had with the novel’s concept of time travel but overall, it was such a fun enjoyable read I couldn’t help but love it nonetheless.

    I agree with your assessment that Anthea Bell did an awesome job translating the novel.

    I notice you’re still currently reading Emerald Green. Let me know what you think of it once you’re done!

Leave a Comment

