catching fire movie discussion

DUN DUN DUN.

Catching Fire came out last last Friday, November the 22nd, and OHHHH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. You know how it’s really hard to talk about books that you LOVE, not just love, but LOVE WITH BURNING PASSION AND CRUMBLING FEELS? I don’t think I’ll ever write proper reviews for Harry Potter or Twilight or The Hunger Games. No one ever needs convincing to read these books.

WARNING: If you have not read the book/watched the movie, this is going to be spoilery.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*

THE ASDFGHJKL

SO HOW DO I EVEN BEGIN TO TALK ABOUT THE CATCHING FIRE MOVIE?

It was the most accurate, the most fantastic book-to-movie adaption that I’ve ever seen in my entire life. The movie seemed to come right out my brain. Whatever was going through my head as I read the book, got translated into this beautiful motion picture on the screen right before me.

After the 74th Hunger Games, the characters are mentally tortured. It’s one thing to read about it, and it’s another thing to see it. At the opening scene, Katniss’ PSTD was frightening. I screamed when she screamed. That scene when Katniss woke up Haymitch, IT’S STRAIGHT OFF THE BOOK!! The Haymitch, the water, the knife and then Peeta coming in with his bread,”Ask me what?”

FEEL ALL THE FEELS AGAIN.

I like that we got a bit more of Gale and Prim in this movie compared to the book. It actually made me appreciate them a bit more…? =P

THE VICTORY TOUR

The translation was PERFECT. The movie made me laugh/tear up/grab my sister’s arm/furiously eating popcorns. Elizabeth Banks as Effie was just ahhhh!!! FANTASTIC. My love for her just shot through the roof. AND HER OUTFITS. Up on a whole new level in this movie.

At District 11, Peeta went off the cards, and he just said what he wanted to say to the people. Oh poor, distraught Effie, “Why can’t they just stick to the cards?!”  

This guy? When he got dragged by the Peacekeepers and got shot in the head… I just… I couldn’t not tear up. It was so emotional. Every time this 3 finger thing happens, I was like D’:

The Victory Tour stop at the Capitol was as extravagant as described. They included the part when Katniss’ prep team offered Peeta a drink so he could eat and throw up and continue eating, Plutarch asking Katniss for a dance… Just like everything else, I LOVED how closely they kept to the book, it made me very very happy.

THE QUARTER-QUELL

The announcement of the reaping. THAT was such a great scene. Katniss runs out into the woods, Peeta’s expression, Haymitch’s reaction… It was so well done. Hollywood does things like cut out scenes from a book that upset us, because what? They think the audience is not mature enough to take it? Your audience does not need sugar-coating. We want the movie to be AS STRONG as the book, and I think the Catching Fire movie did an excellent job in slimming down 400 pages.

KATNISS’ COSTUMES.

THE ELEVATOR HAHAHAHAHA. OH GOD I THINK I’M IN LOVE WITH JOHANNA. THAT SASSY WOMAN. I was laughing hysterically for that entire scene.

*Tumblr comment: Katniss’ face in the elevator scene is like 1% Katniss and 99% Jennifer Lawrence*

I’m so happy with Finnick. Him and his sugar cube, flashing his gold braclet in the arena, “Good thing we’re allies.” Sam Claflin is the perfect Finnick. Honestly, they nailed the casting. NAILED IT. I had my doubts on certain actors/actresses, but after this movie, there’s no way you can convince me of a different cast. These people don’t just act the part, they are their characters.

The arena was exactly how I pictured it– the fog, the monkey, the jabberjays, the spinning Cornucopia…The fear I felt in the movie arena was TENFOLD of that in the book. It literally kept me at the edge of my seat. Mag’s death… :'( AHHH. I NEED TO WATCH THIS AGAIN.

The last part, when Katniss and Peeta are about to separate, was so heartbreaking. We know, we know he’s not going to be there when she comes back with the wire whymusttheydothistousicantmytearsijustnosjhfiugqugqe D’:

I LOVE THIS WHOLE THING. I don’t think I can pick a favourite scene. Umm. If I had to pick a favourite favourite favourite favourite… I can’t honestly, this movie is powerful and everything I could’ve hoped for. I’m having a lot of faith in the Mockingjay movies right now. There are so many things going on in the last book, so many emotional moments, and I say they have a good amount of time to explore things.

What do you think? If you have watched the movie, let me know in the comments below, your thoughts on the movie, your favourite scene, favourite character…?

21 thoughts on “catching fire movie discussion

  1. LOVE this review! I completely agree with everything. I was sitting there watching Finnick and it was driving me crazy because I could not place him! And to think he said that he thought he WAS NOT hot enough for that role… craziness. Ohhh Peeta… so sad! And I had the same reaction when the man did the fingers and whistle… OHHH!!!! My hubby hasn’t read the books and wasn’t interested in the movie and he loved it as well! :D

    • FINNICK IS AMAZING. I doubted him (his derp appearance in the trailers honestly did him no justice), but now I can’t imagine Finnick played by anyone else. The castings are so perfect! I actually hadn’t realized that “normal Peeta” thing in the cinemas because I hadn’t read Mockingjay but now I’m a wreck everytime I think about that parting :'(

      *WHISTLES RUE’S TUNE* So happy that you’ve enjoyed it too!

  2. Catching Fire! Oh my anticipation is exploding!!! :O I soooo need to watch this! I love Katniss’ costume; it’s super epic and awesome, and oh, I’ve heard so much about the Finnick cum sugar cube scene!! OMGoodness! Peeta looks much better (hotter pfft) than I remembered from The Hunger Games. AWESOMEEEE.
    But I’m really glad you enjoyed watching this one, Alicia! <33

    • EMILY YOU NEED TO WATCH IT!!! Everyone I’ve talked to is all craze and confetti for this movie =) Maybe I’m just overly-biased to this series, but everything in this movie is perfect. Feel like going up to all the directors to show them THIS. IS HOW YOU DO A BOOK-TO-MOVIE ADAPTATION. <3 Haha the more I look at Josh Hutcherson, the more Peeta he feels ;) ENJOY!!

      • So I watched this with my Mom and I’m all like
        ASDJFBAKSJDHBALFGJHALDKSGJH WTH?! FINNICK?! PEETA?! OMG THIS FEELS. LIKE OMG. Yep this was me practically during the movie, and though I didn’t read the books (smacks head), this was COMPLETELY AWESOME. I have to admit, to me, this was much better than The Hunger Games :D So yes, thanks to all you pretty fangirls, I got myself into a Malaysian cinema and had a hell of a time watching this ;) (Apparently my mom told me I was way too intense while watching it, LOL!)

  3. Oh, I loved it so much too! I think they did a fantastic job with it! I can’t wait for the Mockingjay movies. I literally did not want this movie to end, and I really want to see it again!!

  4. I saw the the movie opening weekend and it was AMAZING!! I reviewed it here.

    I LOVE YOUR REVIEW!!! The district eleven scene made me tear up – especially when they mention Rue :'( The characterization was brilliant and I liked the side of Effie that we see in the movie. I agree with you that it was nice seeing Gale and Prim get some screen time. Finnick was brilliant, he played the part really well. For the part of the movie that took place in the arena I was literally on the edge of my seat. The movie was AMAZING and I NEED to see it again!!!

    • THANK YOU =D I wasn’t prepared at all for the emotional impact at District 11. Jen Law did a fantastic job. Her impromptu speech for Rue made me… I don’t know… I can’t not cry. RUE D’: Catching Fire already had a very powerful idea driving its plot, and the movie brought in a perfect cast and substantiated the characterization, and the whole thing was MIND BLOWING. AMAZING. FANTASTIC. BEST PRESENT OF 2013. =)

  5. I saw Catching Fire last week and hell yeah, it was utterly, absolutely, magnificently amazing!!!!! Everything is perfect. I loved that we saw the other side of Effie. It really was heart breaking. I also loved that they showed Plutarch and President Snow talking (I didn’t know Plutarch is pronounced PLUTARK, woah mind-blowing). Jena Malone is just ASDFGHKLF I think I’m in love with her. And Mags, oh Mags, I cried because of her. I think I cried a thousand buckets of tears because of this movie.

    I can’t wait for Mockingjay!!!!

    • EFFIE!!! Her extra touch of emotions made me possibly empathize with the Captiol people in the slightest of slightest ways =’) HAHAHA ME TOO!! I’ve been saying Plu-tar-ch, like rhyming with starch, in my head for the whole book… =P If we ever met I think I could on spazzing over every character with you, all of them made me a emotional wreck ahhh looking forward to the amazing things they can do with Mockingjay!!

  6. I saw Catching Fire last week and hell yeah, it was utterly, absolutely, magnificently amazing!!!!! Everything is perfect. I loved that we saw the other side of Effie. It really was heart breaking. I also loved that they showed Plutarch and President Snow talking (I didn’t know Plutarch is pronounced PLUTARK, woah mind-blowing). Jena Malone is just ASDFGHKLF I think I’m in love with her. And Mags, oh Mags, I cried because of her. I think I cried a thousand buckets of tears because of this movie.

    I can’t wait for Mockingjay!!!!

    • Not saying that the first movie is bad, but I thought Catching Fire did a much better job in fleshing out the characters, and we get to see the action sequences!! Shaky cameras must be the greatest grudge I held against the first movie but it was a great start, and they can’t be any more accurate with the casting =D

  7. THIS REVIEW IS AMAZING AND I AGREE WITH EVERYTHING YOU SAID. THEY FOLLOWED THE BOOK REALLLLLLLY WELL AND I WATCHED IT TWICE AND I WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN AND FINNICK IS SOOOOOOO HOT AND AMAZING ANG MAGS WAS PERFECT AND EVERY SCENE WITH CINNA, EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT! BUT PEETA!! MY FEELS FOR WHAT WE KNOW IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN TO HIM IN THE CAPITOL ARE ALL OVER THE PLACE MY EMOTIONS ARE EVERYWHERE RIGHT NOW BYE.

  8. I haven’t seen Catching Fire yet but I’ve read the books over a year ago and saw the first movie.
    Did u reread Catching Fire before seeing the movie or did you try to go in with a somewhat empty slate?
    Please let me know because I want an experience similar to yours when I finally watch Catching Fire!

      • Thank you!
        I reread hunger games prior to watching the movie and felt as if certain plot details weren’t explained fully. But my sister didn’t read the books and she was able to pick up on subtleties that explained a lot more. Maybe I just spaz myself out!

  9. I agree with everything you wrote in your review. This has to be the best adaptation from book to film I’ve ever watched. Everything was as how I pictured it in my mind and the cast, oh my god, Finnick and Johanna are perfect!!!!! As are Nuts & Volts and literally everyone else.

    The only scene I missed – and it’s so tiny it’s inconsequential – is when Plutarch dances with Katniss and flashes her his watch and mention “it starts at Midnight.” But the movie – so good!

    I’m surprisingly looking forward to Mockingjay even though I didn’t really like the final book. I feel as though the films are going to do a much better job and make it more energetic so yeah, I’m so glad a relatively unknown Lionsgate landed this project cause they’ve done a bloody fantastic job!!! lol, even now I can’t stop gushing about it!

  10. Pingback: that ’20 things’ about me tag | Noverly Things

Leave a Comment

