Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier | BOOK REVIEW

Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier
Publisher/Year: Henry Holt and Co. October 30th 2012
Genre: AWESOMESAUCE (time travel)
Series: Book 2 in the Precious Stone Trilogy
Other Books From Author: Ruby Red (Book 1), Emerald Green (Book 3), Mütter-Mafia series, Silber series

Amazon | Goodreads | Kerstin Gier’s website |

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.
At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.

While I was reading this, I had a lot fun and thought it qualitatively great. Then halfway through the epilogue, something tripped in my brain, “Wait… what did happen here?” I was reading at such a high speed, desperate to have more more more that it almost didn’t occur to me that this book suffers from a massive case of middle book syndrome.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not the usual filler-book-with-no-substance-you-can-just-skip-this-one kind of middle book syndrome (NO, PLEASE DO NOT SKIP SAPPHIRE BLUE YOU’LL BE MISSING OUT BIG TIME). But more frustratingly, it was a case of too many unanswered questions + even more questions. In Ruby Red, we get a crapload of awesomesauce mysteries and prophecies, and I was expecting some kind of explanation in this book. In fact, the only few answers we did get were actually so obvious it would have been weird if you hadn’t worked it out for yourself yet.

But so what did happen in this book? There is a much heavier focus on the romance. And you know what? For once, I didn’t mind it one bit. I love Gideon and Gwyneth. I don’t even know why. Because for all intents and purposes, elements of their romance would annoy me in other couples: Gideon’s cold-hot attitude, Gwyneth’s tendency to think about him just a bit too much, a quick jump to saying I love you… But I didn’t mind any of it! Maybe it was more well developed than other cases, maybe their chemistry wipes clean any problems I would have with it, maybe I just enjoyed how their love story coincided brilliantly with the rest of the story.

Have to say it though: Gideon has been bi-polar for THE WHOLE BOOK. I’m trying to understand him, but he’s making it really difficult. I thought he had some spell on him, because the prophecies said he’ll be “fuzzy” in the day and can “see clearly again at night”??? WHY did he have to go running off with the Green Dress Widow? WHY did Count Evil say that about Gideon? WHAT is future-Gideon up to? I don’t know, what do I even think of you anymore, Gideon?

I LOVE THIS LESLEY-RAPHAEL thing going on here, and the scenes of Gwyneth and her grandfather were so sweet ♥ All the characters remain as awesome as ever, the prophecies get more urgent, the adventures to the 18th century get a lot more action, it’s hard not to get addicted to this series! I can’t imagine how we’re going to get all the answers in the last book, unless it’s a bazillion pages long.

REALLY ENJOYED this but I have so many questions!! What do you think? I feel like not enough people know about this series, and it’d be so fun if we could crack this time-travelling mystery together!

6 thoughts on “Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier | BOOK REVIEW

    • Thank you =) The middle book syndrome didn’t affect me that much while I was reading. It just hit me right on the head when I finished the book and realized I didn’t get much answers! Still enjoyable, just wished that more things could’ve been in the second book than packed into the last one.

Leave a Comment

