her raven boys ❂ the dream thieves by maggie stiefvater

dreamthieves-maggiestiefvaterPublished: September 1st 2013 by Scholastic Press
Genre & Keywords: Fantasy, Magic, Ghosts…?
Other Books From Author: The Wolves of Mercy Falls series, Books of Faerie seriesThe Scorpio Races, The Raven Boys (BOOK 1)

Amazon | Goodreads | @mstiefvater |

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

borderscribble

Since this is the second book, I’m not going to go into detail on the CONCEPT of this series. If you’re interested in The Raven Boys, I did a review on it where I tried my best to explain what’s going on here. If you’ve read The Raven Boys and you’re thinking of reading The Dream Thieves… It’s going to be a lot about RONAN. Glendower used to be the driving force in the first book, and plotwise, we’re taking a breather to understand how magical energy works in Henrietta.

I like The Raven Boys a lot better than The Dream Thieves. Maggie’s writing style was hard for me to get into in The Raven Boys, and if you had the same problem, don’t count on immunity. I still struggled with getting through the first 150+ pages of this book, mainly because Maggie tended to go off on a tangent from the current issue, which took me out of the story and then I found my eye glazing over her words without registering what she was talking about. The only reason I pushed through was because I was heavily rewarded with AWESOMENESS for pushing through The Raven Boys and this book… I mean, I’m happy that I got through it. It was still interesting, but mentally exhausting.

Ronan Lynch is a mysterious, very hard to read character. And this book is based heavily on him. I feel bad when I automatically skimp through a Ronan chapter. Not that he’s uninteresting. HE’S NOT. He is dangerous, damaged, aloof… but he doesn’t like to express himself besides through violence. Okay, it’s his personality! I accept that. But when he’s the MAIN FOCUS, it’s hard to relate to him. I wanted more Gansey-Blue in this book! I feel that they are the most rounded characters, and their chemistry is RIGHT THERE! SO THICK I COULD CUT A SLICE OF IT. We had that scene when they almost kissed and acknowledged they had feelings for each other, but I wished Blue would tell Gansey about her break-up with Adam too. Like “break-up”. I don’t think Blue and Adam were actually dating…? The way I see it, she was dating Adam as much as she was dating any of the other raven boys. Even so, that only Gansey-Blue scene was really sweet, and I wished there was just a liiittle bit more in the book.

Besides some really fun moments (when Gansey’s family went out of their way to give Adam “crap”), the tone of The Dream Thieves was heavy and unforgiving. There weren’t high and low points, just punches one after another that drained me of feelings until each punch didn’t matter any more. It’s like The Raven Boys was a puzzle that I was trying hard to put together. All the pieces I got were really interesting and I was like “WOW LOOK AT THIS LOOK AT THIS!!”, so in this book I was expecting some explanation on how these pieces link to each other and instead I got a whole new box of puzzles dumped at my head.

So what did you think? Similar or different from me? I would LOVE to hear regardless! If you haven’t read it, is it something on your radar or that you think you will read?

bloglovin'facebooktwittergoodreads.com
10 thoughts on “her raven boys ❂ the dream thieves by maggie stiefvater

    • I had that hunch when Kavinsky taunted Ronan about him and Gansey, though something about the way this story develops makes me think it’s more likely Ronan and Adam? There was the rent incident, and now we have some connection between the two…

  1. Your reaction upon finishing the book made me cackle. I am imagining I’ll feel //hotness// when I got through this book. This series sounds strange when I read your review of the first book. And the MC is named Blue…….my favorite color = MC :OOO Anyway, I am so excited to meet the Raven Boys!!

    • The main concept of The Raven Boys isn’t all that unique– a bunch of kids searching of a dead magical king. What stood out to me was the way Maggie Stiefvater packaged her story. It’s dark, gloomy, mysterious and you realize that the more you know, the more you don’t know!! Made me so hungry for the sequel and it was okay =P Blue’s my favourite colour too haha it’s not THAT weird once you get used to it!

  2. I adored this one! I really love Maggie’s writing and I loved finding out more about Ronan and his father and finally getting some explanations about why Ronan is his violent self. In Raven Boys I really didn’t like him, but now after Dream Thieves, I understand him better and have a new appreciation for him. He’s still not my fave character but I’m beginning to like him better than Adam, that seems to be stuck in a self-loathing and everyone-loathing spiral…
    I hope that you’ll end up loving Blue Lily, Lily Blue more, since by the title only I sense more Blue-centric book (which I’m really hoping for!!).

    • The part about Ronan’s mom and the will and all that was WOW. I started paying attention to insignificant things like the green pills– are they real or did Kavinsky steal those from his dreams? I don’t know, just a random question!

      OH MY GOD THE NEXT BOOK HAS A TITLE?!!!!!!! SQUEEE OH MY GOD LOVE YOU *HUGS*

      *HUNTS DOWN GOODREADS*

  3. I’m with you. I loved The Raven Boys more than The Dream Thieves. I don’t care about Ronan enough to have been happy with a whole book about him. I really wanted more Gansey! But I still really enjoyed reading it.

    Anyways, the cover for the next book is GORGEOUS and I’m excited just to hold it in my hands, let alone read it!

    • YES YES YES!!! The covers for the first 2 books are meh (and the new covers are even worse oh dear), but Blue Lily, Lily Blue is <33333 LOVE the blue colour scheme with a green tinge, feels perfect for Blue <3

  4. I totally wanted more Gansey and Blue in this book, too! I was dying in between chapters just to get to the parts where they could make me swoon! LOL
    Overall, i’m glad you enjoyed this one :)
    I don’t remmeber ifi liked the raven boys or the dream thieves more…
    Lily

    • I’ll admit, I’m a hopeless romantic and I NEED THAT KISS!! Maggie has been dangling the carrot before us since the First Chapter of the First Book. Hints of something going on between Gansey and Blue were even more scarce in The Dream Thieves, which I shouldn’t complain since Maggie prioritized the plot over romance. Yet… I’m not feeling much of plot progression in this book!

      I’m not asking for much, just a liiiiiitle swoon please? ;-;

      Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Comment

