will you please tell me you love me ♥ anna and the french kiss by stephanie perkins

anna-perkinsPublished: August 4th 2011 by Speak
Genre & Keywords: Contemporary, PARIS
Other Books From Author: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Book 2)

Amazon | Goodreads | @naturallysteph | graphics source |

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

borderscribble

All right, so here’s the conclusion. If you’re in the mood for:

1. HAPPY
2. Cutesy romance
3. Funny dialogue

YOU WANT STEPHANIE PERKINS.

I was in an all-time YA low a few weeks ago, and if you ever find yourself in a similar situation, I present The Cure. Reading Anna and the French Kiss is like living in Disneyland, complete with fireworks and cakes and ice cream and soft lights and cute boys and sparkly confetti!! TRUST ME, YOU’LL NEVER WANT TO LEAVE. I was in love with Anna’s voice before the story even began. She’s funny and sarcastic, and her banters with St. Clair are gold. THOSE THANKSGIVING BREAK EMAILS? I SMILED A LOT.

Besides all that romantic fluff, Anna’s still trying to navigate through her school year while dealing with some pretty messed up problems back home with family, friends, and boys. Her problems solve way too easily, but Anna’s growth and the relationships she forge on the way are endearing and sweet so I’m not complaining.

I don’t know how to feel about Étienne St. Clair?! He’s a big reason why I loved this book at first. Him and Anna are close friends with an easy friendship and a will-they-won’t-they tension even though they are totally into each other. Plus, he’s a charming English-American-French flirt, and totally deserves to be IN ALL CAPS. He was the perfect boyfriend, up until that fight outside the pub when Anna first got drunk. Just. NO.

Have you read this? Did you like it? Wanderlust? How did you feel about Étienne? If you haven’t read any books by Stephanie Perkins yet, would you? I’d love to hear what you think (*^_^*)

bloglovin'facebooktwittergoodreads.com
20 thoughts on “will you please tell me you love me ♥ anna and the french kiss by stephanie perkins

  1. Haha! I just reviewed Lola and the Boy Next Door today as a guest blogger on another site – funny coincidence! I really liked Anna and I think I liked Lola even better. And I can’t wait for Isla next week! :D

    • HAHA I’m going to say that great minds think alike! I’m trying to get through my Stephanie Perkins reviews, so I’ll be all set to welcome Isla with open arms :)

    • I can’t even begin to describe how happy I was reading Anna, and how grateful I am to Stephanie Perkins for rekindling my excitement for reading YA again <3 I'd love to sleepover at Disneyland, so much happiness even if it’s only for a day :D

  2. Awwww <3 It sounds so cute, fluffy and perfect!!! Can you believe that I've never read any book by Stephanie Perkins?

    I'm in a horrible book slump currently and I just went to Kino yesterday (25% discount!!) and bought a bunch of books– hopefully they get me out of this all-time low. Urgh. It sucks.

    • ASDFGHJKL SEL

      I HONESTLY SCREAMED WHEN I READ YOUR COMMENT.

      AND CONVINCED MY MOM THAT I NEEDED TO GET TO KINO ASAP.

      SO HAPPY RN.

      *CRIES TEARS OF JOY*

      P.S. I saw Jasmine!!

    • Haha okay so now that I’m slightly more sane, let me reply your comment!!

      Anna is super super cute and adorbs. It’s not the same fluffy and fun like Sophie Kinsella, but it’s got that something-something-more to it that I couldn’t tear away from. PLEASE READ IT SOON <3 Reading slumps feel absolutely terrible omg I was distressed for almost a week! Really really hope you can get out of your slump soon!!! If you find a new awesome read, be sure to recommend to me :D

  3. This is exactly why I’m waiting to read Anna, for when I need one that’ll pull me out of a slump, like Jennifer E Smith’s do for me, I’ve been having a good reading streak lately, but I do already have Anna waiting for when I don’t (though I need to get Lola and then Isla) though, I think I’ll have a love/hate relationship with Etienne, PLEASE TELL ME IT ENDS HAPPY WITH THEM THOUGH? Haven’t read that many set in Paris either, only a few ones I was disappointed with, but kept me reading because of the setting. Glad you loved it! :)

    • The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight!!!!

      I absolutely ADORED that book when I read that 2 years ago, and it still remains one of my favourite contemporaries. My personal opinion is that Stephanie Perkin’s books work better as book hangover cures because they are so funny, fluffy and adorable it’s like being on a happiness high and not having to worry a thing! Anna is a super relatable character, and I have no words good enough to describe how amazing this book made Paris out for me.

      It’s a happy ending, don’t worry :) Hope you’ll enjoy!

  4. AAAHH, I MUST read this book soon ! I’m literally one of the only people who hasn’t xD Lovely review!

  5. I hadn’t even realized that Isla was mentioned in Anna, so I kind of flipped out when I read her name xD I ship it so hard! Just two more weeks… SO CLOSE. The Ellie/Etienne thing bothered me more the second time around, and I guess it could be rationalized but… eh. Kind of a sour note in the whole perfection that is Anna.

    SO glad this could pull you out of your slump!

    • Haha I got a shock too, wasn’t expecting that! I’ll be thinking– “Isla, the shy girl who doodles tatoos” before I even start reading the book LOL. But Isla behaves so much like me, I think I like that girl :) Yeah ugh I’m not pleased (AT ALL) with the near-jerk way Étienne dealt with his Ellie situation, but I’ll just take it as even fictional characters have their flaws *shrugs* Thank you, Kayla!

  6. I’m one of the rare few who hasn’t read anything by Stephanie Perkins… gah. It has been on my summer tbr list for many years now. I haven’t heard anything about St. Clair except SWOON and OMG and all that, so it really shocked me when I read in your review that there’s a side to him that perhaps isn’t too pleasant!

    • I was still in the haven’t-read-Stephanie-Perkins club not long ago, and I’m so glad to have gotten out of it. PLEASE PLEASE read soon and join us on the dark side, we’ve got cute boys ;) Well, people have different opinions of St. Clair, I just happen to be less accepting of his actions, no matter how he explained it. Hope you enjoy nonetheless :)

  7. YEAH!! OMG you describe the feeling of reading a Stephanie Perkins book so perfectly!! Aww, I miss it, it’s been so long since I’ve read one of hers! But not too long now until Isla and then we’ll get all the happiness and great dialogue that we need!

  8. I have yet to get around to reading this book, but in have heard lots about it and I could always deal with a little bit of YA fluff. And I absolutely love Paris as a place, it is sooo beautiful! You definitely need to visit the first chance you get, I want to go back as soon as I can, which should be soon because my friend lives there! Still, fab review and I am excited to pick this one up now!

    • This book made me wish I could teleport into France right that second, like I felt a sudden urge to run out and book a flight to Paris and pick up French and be all French for the rest of my life!! I’ll always recommend fluffy contemporaries AHEM AHEM if you’re in the mood for something quick and light :)) Best cure for book hangovers I’ve found!

      • Definitely feel like I might need that at the moment, since I have found myself in a little bit of a book slump.

Leave a Comment

