bout of books 11

bbb

August 18th – August 24th 2014

This marks my 3rd time joining Bout of Books!!!! CAN YOU ALREADY TELL HOW EXCITED I AM!!!!!! I haven’t been that great at accomplishing my goals, but that’s fine, third time’s the charm :) For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

READING GOALS

Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week.

Great! The usual number of books I read a week is… 1? :) (THE TRUTH) I don’t have a clear picture of what exactly to read, and there’s really no point in restricting myself. Depending on my mood, the books I read might change but here’s the idea as of now:

Isla TAB The Jewel Where the stars still shine

OTHER GOALS

1. Participate in a twitter chat! I’ve missed almost all the them because of time zone issues/ I’m stuck in school so I’m really determined to make my schedule work this time.

2. Visit and comment on 10 new blogs daily.

PROGRESS
Monday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 267
Total number of books I’ve read: 0
Books: Isla and the Happily Ever After (reading)

Missed the twitter chat because time zones are saddening. Sigh. Got some reading done for Isla… I WISH I LIKED IT AS MUCH AS I WISHED I DID.

Tuesday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 72 pages which means I’m done with Isla + 56 pages into The Assassin’s Blade = 128 TOTAL
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (reading)

Things slowed down a bit today because, um, school, and Isla wasn’t the OMG SO CUTE!!!! book I had anticipated so I felt quite meh today. Thank goodness for assassins. Also, #SHAKEITOFF

Wednesday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 132 pages of TAB + 39 pages of novellas = 171 TOTAL
Total number of books I’ve read: 1 book & 3 novellas
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (reading)
NovellasHarry Potter: The Prequel (finished!), Dumbledore’s Army Reunites at Quidditch World Cup Final (finished!), Bridge of Snow (finished!)

TODAY IS THE DAY OF NOVELLAS.

Thursday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 247
Total number of books I’ve read: 2 books & 3 novellas
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (finished!)
NovellasHarry Potter: The Prequel (finished!), Dumbledore’s Army Reunites at Quidditch World Cup Final (finished!), Bridge of Snow (finished!)

SO I JUST FINISHED THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE AND OMG SAM?!?!?!

((((;゜Д゜)))

ლ(́◉◞౪◟◉‵ლ)

。:゚(。ノω\。)゚・。

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Look what came in the mail!!!!!!!! Change of reading plans.

Friday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 43 pages of The Jewel
Total number of books I’ve read: 2 books & 3 novellas
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (finished!), The Jewel (reading)
NovellasHarry Potter: The Prequel (finished!), Dumbledore’s Army Reunites at Quidditch World Cup Final (finished!), Bridge of Snow (finished!)

I decided against reading The Great Gatsby for now because that’s a book very special to me, and I’m not ready to invest in it just yet. Picked up The Jewel instead and it’s giving me the same vibes as Pawn by Aimee Carter?

Saturday (aka the day I took a little break)
Number of pages I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 2 books & 3 novellas
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (finished!), The Jewel (reading)
NovellasHarry Potter: The Prequel (finished!), Dumbledore’s Army Reunites at Quidditch World Cup Final (finished!), Bridge of Snow (finished!)

Have to defend myself!!! I was running around an old folk’s home for the day, and attended a friend’s incredible dance concert tonight so in the end, I regret nothing :) Feels nice to look up from the pages and make real friends sometimes, though of course I still love you, my books.

Sunday
Number of pages I’ve read today: 39
Total number of books I’ve read: 2 books & 3 novellas
BooksIsla and the Happily Ever After (finished!), The Assassin’s Blade (finished!), The Jewel (reading)
NovellasHarry Potter: The Prequel (finished!), Dumbledore’s Army Reunites at Quidditch World Cup Final (finished!), Bridge of Snow (finished!)

SO HERE’S THE END
865 pages, 2 books & 3 novellas in one week!!

You know I wasn’t even expecting myself to finish one book so this is a HUGE HUGE HUGE achievement. So proud of everyone, all are winners :)

Thank you everyone for your support and encouraging words. I hope you had fun, I certainly did! Till the next time!

bloglovin'facebooktwittergoodreads.com
27 thoughts on “bout of books 11

  1. I am so tempted, but I have a very busy week. Looks like lots of fun and The Jewel looks to be a really great book! Have fun and good luck.

  2. Pingback: The Challenge: A Bout of Books 11.0 Read-a-Thon! | KD DID IT Takes on Books

  3. Yay! I’m excited too :D
    The Assassin’s Blade is amazing (and also heartbreaking). And I’ve heard fantastic things about the other 3 (especially Isla!).
    I always tend to miss the twitter chats because of time zones as well! And they’re so awesome to take part in!
    Good luck with your goals! Have fun :D

  4. I tore right through ISLA- that’s a perfect read-a-thon book. And The Assassin’s Blade sounds wonderful too! Looks like you are in for some great reading this week :)

  5. I’m sorry you didn’t love Isla! I’m cracking up at you Shakeitoff. Going to have it in my head now. Happy reading today!

  6. Aw. Don’t you just hate when your “I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK” books fall flat on your expectations? Well, for every “meh” book there is a “YES!” book. And for every “quotations happy” commenter out there (myself) there is someone genuinely sane. It all balances out in the end.

    I would actually really like to read “The Jewel”. I fancy royal-intrigue type books. If you get to that one this read-a-thon please tell us how it is!

    Keep reading! *pom poms*

  7. Isla wasn’t that good? There is so much anticipation for that book everywhere. Sorry you didn’t like it. No matter. You can just go on a new adventure now with your next read (:

  8. Hi. :) You’ve chosen very interesting books. I really enjoyed the summary of “The Jewel” – can´t wait for it to come out.

    Good luck and good readings. :)

  9. I can’t wait to read Isla..but it wasn’t that fluffy? Oh well, never mind! I’m sure I’ll enjoy it anyway.
    Also, you mentioned that you couldn’t participate in the twitter chat due to time zones? Yeah, me too. :( School also gets in the way of my reading arghghhgh. :( (relating to you so much! haha) In any case, happy reading!

    -Kat @ Perusing Bookshelves

  10. I can’t wait to get to The Assassins Blade and know more about this Sam guy…. though I already have a feeling there are going to be lots of feels. I see you just got The Great Gatsby, I just read that this month since I had the movie and refused to watch it till I read the book. I personally preferred the movie to the book… the movie follows the book pretty well I think… I guess I just didn’t like the writing style but the story itself was good. Hope you enjoy it!

  11. Looks like you’re making great progress on your reading goals!! I’m curious to learn what you think of The Great Gatsby… I read it a long time ago for a lit class and didn’t enjoy it much. Maybe because it was a book I had to read for a class. Who knows?!

  12. I have to read the last two novellas in The Assassin’s Blade. I read two of them before Throne of Glass was out. Then I stopped due to other book duties. (; And now I have already read the sequel and everything. i need to pick up the novellas again.
    As for the other books… Isla was fun. Jewel I’m so excited about. And have to check out WTSSS….
    Good Luck…

  13. I pre-ordered The Assassin’s Blade in print because that’s how I want to read it and I want it on my shelves with the rest of the series. I have to wait until then to read it. I’ve heard fabulous things about Isla and will be reading that soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  14. Honestly, I am SO impressed by everyone participating in this challenge! I didn’t hear about it early enough to sign up, but I’ll definitely do so next time! :D It’s awesome that you have such great goals and that you’ve had time to really accomplish those goals. Thanks for sharing – and, as always, BRILLIANT post! Good luck with the rest of the challenge!

  15. I understand your need to take a break:) I took one myself, I hung out with some of my friends, it was really needed after so much reading, I guess.
    It feels refreshing to start reading after a break.
    Happy Reading, Alicia!

Leave a Comment

