only if the other person is cricket ★ lola and the boy next door by stephanie perkins

lola-perkinsPublished: September 29th 2011 by Dutton
Genre & Keywords: FUZZY CUTENESS
Other Books From AuthorAnna and the French Kiss (Book 1), Isla and the Happily Ever After (Book 3)

Amazon | Goodreads | @naturallysteph | graphics source |

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighbourhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

borderscribble

Picture this: You are walking down the school corridor right next to your crush. Remember those crushes? The boy you were obsessed with but never confessed your love to? Imagine yourself walking beside that special someone, trying to act natural when really your heart is beating TOO LOUD TOO FAST. And then just by coincidence, his hand brushes softly against yours.

Now bottle that feeling, and put it into a book. There. That’s Lola and the Boy Next Door.

Ladies and gentlemen, here before your eyes is fluffy YA contemporary at its best. Am I even worthy to talk about Lola like we are equals?! Seriously if Lola were a person and we ever met, this is how it would go:

Lola and the Boy Next Door: *smiles gorgeously*

Me: OMG ASDFGHJKL; TOO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After finishing the Stephanie Perkins series, I can safely say that Lola will always remain my irrevocable favourite. Among all 3, my love for the characters in this book crushes everything in its path– quirky, independent Lola, adorable dads who open a bakery (DROOOLS), a real BFF, and Cricket Graham Bell.

“So do you believe in second chances?” I bite my lip.
“Second, third, fourth. Whatever it takes. However long it takes. If the person is right,” he adds.
“If the person is… Lola?”
This time, he holds my gaze. “Only if the other person is Cricket.”

Now I know I have Stephanie Perkins to blame for my impossibly high standards for boys. Guys, I LOVE CRICKET BELL. He is awkward, geeky, and—this word has never been more appropriate—completely adorkable. It’s painfully obvious he’s desperately in love with Lola, but he respects she has a boyfriend. He’s sunshine. He’s simple. He’s good. He’s sweet and funny, and kind. He’s as quirky in his own ways as Lola is in hers.

Swooning aside, I think the coolest thing about Lola and Cricket is that they aren’t perfect. In fact, Lola’s quite often a mess. She makes mistakes, and she hurts the people around her. She lies—often—but she’s not malicious. She’s sweet, bubbly, caring, and she’s completely herself. So when both her and St. Clair find themselves in the position of “cheating”, I could sympathize with Lola more.

There are some people in life that you can’t get over.

What do you think? Are your feels similar or different from mine? If you were so-so about Anna and considering *maybe* reading this, you have my thumbs up. I’d love to hear your thoughts (*^▽^*)

bloglovin'facebooktwittergoodreads.com
16 thoughts on “only if the other person is cricket ★ lola and the boy next door by stephanie perkins

  1. I haven’t finished this book yet but Lola’s quirkiness is epically funny. And Cricket Bell! (Though his name sounds weird) A thousand fuffly unicorns!!!

    • I used to find Cricket a weird name until I started pronouncing it as SQUEEOMGSWOON ♥ HAHA YES TO FLUFFY UNICORNS. Hope you’ll get to the end of Lola, it just gets better and better!!

  2. I am dying to read this book, especially after your review:)
    I love strong heroines who aren’t afraid to be themselves and boys who are geeky, awkward and sweet.So combined together…..well, I guess I am going to love this book.
    I wasn’t that happy with Anna-maybe I am the only one who thinks that way-so I decided that this series is not for me.But guess what? Now I really regret that decision.
    I love the example you selected for your feelings! Aww, the bittersweet feel of having a crush, it’s really amazing.
    Great review, Alicia!
    I am becoming a huge fan of your blog, thanks for BoB.

    • Thank you Mishma!! <3 I'm on Project Make Everything Read Lola so YES PLEASE READ IT YOU WILL LOVE THIS CUPCAKE. I was trying really hard to describe how Lola made me feel and no words felt RIGHT, so decided to go with a cheesy analogy, glad someone resonated with me! :))

  3. Don’t hate me for this…but I haven’t read anything by Perkins yet. *hides in shame* I’ve always been intrigued by the amount of hype and glowing reviews her work has received, but for some reason whenever I do check them out from the library, I always end up getting intimidated for whatever reason and ultimitely send them back unread. However, this review has really made me genuinely want to read her books! They sound so light and funny and cute, and I can’t wait to experience them for myself! Thanks for sharing Alicia, and, as always, BRILLIANT review! <3

    • ZOOOOOEEEEE how could you?! One does not simply return a Stephanie Perkins book unread xD If the hype is scaring you, I’d recommend setting them aside for a while until you’re in need of a light fluffy read to get out of a book slump! It worked WONDERS for me, all the fuzzy feels, trust. Thank you for visiting and commenting :)

  4. CAN I JUST. I’m so sad. I’m terribly sad because I’ve not read this one yet! NOOOOOO. But the GIF is adorable and I can almost imagine you doing that, Alicia ;) When I saw the GIF I was like ooooohhhhh (and shamefully to say, that the boy is pretty cute heh.) Cricket Bell sounds ABSOLUTELY SWOONABLE. DOOD. Now I hate you for making me want to get this in my hands SO SO BAD D: And Kinokuniya has the version I want out of stock D: And I have to shamelessly email them again to ask for them to bring it in xD HAHA.
    But you know I loved your review Alicia <3 Thanks for sharing!! :D (Butbut Ice Cream!)

    • HEHEH

      when a girl meets a cute boy…

      :)

      HI EMILY I demand this to top your Must-Read-After-EYAs list. You’e been going for too long without getting to know this awesomeness + cuteness + adorkableness also known as Cricket Graham Bell, unacceptable!! Which version do you prefer? I actually like this new paperback series covers than the old ones with a girl and guy sitting on the window. Like. WHUUT. That looks superficial and brainless and not what the book is about at all! At least there’s a STAR on this one. And it looks so much more sophisticated than the old covers. You will understand its significance after finishing the book ;) GOOD LUCK AND ALL THE BEST!

  5. AWW YES TOO CUTE :D So much love for Stephanie Perkins’ series! For me, Anna was the best of the whole series but I definitely see the appeal of Lola. Might be going for a reread after your review, it incited all those warm fuzzy feels again… and that analogy! LOL! Them crushes.

    • Haha same to you too! I liked Lola more, not that Anna is BAD, it’s just St. Clair. Him and Ellie. Still can’t come up with any justification for what he did man. YES TO FUZZY FEELS. I swear Stephanie Perkins books are the perfect cute contemporaries for book hangovers, and they only get better after each reread :)

Leave a Comment

