top ten books on my winter tbr 2014

ttt-christmas

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the lovelies at Broke and Bookish.

RING RING RING ONE MONTH TILL CHRISTMAS!!! Winter in Singapore is basically Summer With Lots of Rain, which means it’ll be perfect to turn on my favourite 8tracks playlist, get a warm cup of green tea, and get reading!

“In the winter she curls up around a good book and dreams away the cold.”

Well said, Mr. Aaronovitch.

2014 releases I WILL FORGO CAKE FOR to read before the year ends:

My True Love Gave To Me // Blue Lily, Lily Blue // Heir of Fire // I’ll Give You The Sun // This Shattered World

Sophisticate Me Time?

The Bell Jar // The History of Love // The Snow Child // The Goldfinch // Things We Know By Heart

I always feel like Summer is time for the beach reads that go easy on my brain. They are the fluffy, cutesy, utterly adorable “feel good” books that you read on a sunny day with good hair boiz (fictional or otherwise). And then Winter is when things get dark and solemn i.e. time for the “sophisticated” books! Obviously this a completely arbitrary category dictated by yours truly, I suppose these books will make me wiser/ more worldly/ feel the winter chill just by holding them near me. We have Slyvia Plath, Pulitzer Prize nominee, Pulitzer Prize winner… and a Jessi Kirby book about heart transplant on the same list =)

What books are topping your TBR list this winter? Do our lists look the same, or vastly different? Books that you’ve regret not reading this year? Am I the only one with the Winter = sophisticated time idea?? Yes? Okay… okay.

Anyhow, I’d love to hear your winter plans, reading or otherwise! Have a great great time ☃❄☃

bloglovin'facebooktwittergoodreads.com
18 thoughts on “top ten books on my winter tbr 2014

  1. I really liked reading The History of Love, though I don’t remember it much (it was summer reading), but I have to agree that it does seem like a winter read. And same with the Snow Child!

  2. I totally agree with you – winter is always my “classics” season, while summer calls for light, fluffy reads {I hope to read more Austen this year myself}. For the holiday season, however, I am currently reading My True Love Gave to Me, and it is absolutely adorable. I’m sure you’ll love it! :)

  3. I just added My True Love Gave to Me to my TBR! Thanks for introducing me to it. It seems like a great book to curl up with during the holiday season. Your list is great! I haven’t read any of these, but most are on my TBR (Throne of Glass series, I’ll Give You The Sun, The Dream Thieves & Blue Lily, The History of Love, The Bell Jar). I love your blog theme, by the way!

  4. I really want to read Things We Know By Heart too! And I must get around to picking up The Bell Jar. It’s been on my shelves for forever.

    Great list and I hope that you get to read all of them soon. :)

  5. Good luck with your Winter reading goals, Alicia! That 8tracks playlists is one of my favourites, too. :) I really need to read My True Love Gave to Me, Blue Lily, I’ll Give You the Sun, This Shattered World, The Bell Jar, The Goldfinch and Things We Know by Heart. :D Hope you enjoy all of these.

  6. First things first – I absolutely adore your Christmas-themed redesign! ;)

    I am so excited to see what you think of all these, especially considering these are some of my highly anticipated titles as well. :D I read This Shattered World and I’ll Give You the Sun and absolutely adored both of them, so I hope you feel the same way. And My True Love Gave to Me looks absolutely fabulous – the holiday theme and combination of different, accomplished YA authors makes it seem like the perfect winter read.

    Thanks for sharing, and great choices! <3

  7. These are all on my List as well! Especially The Bell Jar! Except for the Heir, cause I’ve already read it and LOVED it (I am sure you will as well, you’ll love Rowan [you’ll know what I am talking about if you’ve read the book haha])
    I hope you’ll get to read them all!

  8. Winter in Michigan means feet and feet of snow!

    Raven Boys, Throne of Glass and This Shattered World are on my want to read list too, but I haven’t started them yet.

    I like your fluffy vs sophisticated reading plan. I pretty much read the same books all year round. Happy fantasys. :)

    I’m still trying to read 100 books in a year. I’m up to 91…

  9. Heir of Fire is absolutely AMAZING and I really liked This Shattered World, so hopefully you will, too :D Heir of Fire may be my favourite Throne of Glass book so far (besides The Assassin’s Blade, but I’m not 100% certain that one counts). And whilst This Shattered World wasn’t QUITE as good as These Broken Stars, it was still pretty fabulous.

    I really want to read I’ll Give You The Sun, too! And My True Love Gave To Me. I think they both look uber awesome :D I love reading Christmas stories at Christmastime, and I have heard nothing but praise for I’ll Give You The Sun!

  10. Winter is definitely a sophisticated time – but I also think of it as a warm and cozy time. So I like to stick some of those books in there too :-)

    Sylvia Plath intimidates me (me, the child who grew up on Les Miserables and other chunker classics!). I don’t know why. I suppose I will read her eventually.

Leave a Comment

